Skip to main content

Information Literacy Modules (Wayne College): For Faculty

Faculty Information

Welcome back, Faculty!

Thank you for participating in the Library’s information literacy program by requiring your students to complete the Information Literacy Modules.  This guide aims to give background on the program’s mission and your role in meeting Wayne College’s information literacy initiatives.

Background:

Information literacy is the set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning. (ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education, 2/2/15)

Information literacy is achieved through a College-wide concerted effort.  The Wayne College Library, Learning Support Services, Faculty, and Staff all share responsibility for developing, supporting, promoting, teaching, and assessing information literacy skills.  When students leave Wayne College they will have the basic foundation on which to build and enhance their information literacy skills as preparation for their continued lifelong learning.

Course instructors who require students to complete any of the library information literacy modules should have a clear understanding of the library and faculty responsibilities for making the workshops a successful experience for everyone involved.

Quizzes:

The quizzes now include all multiple-choice questions.  Some quizzes only have a few questions, while other quizzes have as many as ten questions.  Students will be allowed unlimited quiz attempts.  The grade summary page will show the best score for each module.

All quiz questions directly address specific information literacy learning outcomes.  We recommend that students achieve a 100% score on their quizzes to demonstrate they have completed the module.

Missed Deadlines and Unsuccessful Outcomes:

The library staff will not be enforcing any deadlines, other than having the quizzes expire the last week of the semester.  Monitoring student progress and completion of the workshops is now completely in the hands of faculty.

Responsibilities for Information Literacy Instruction and Assessment

Library Responsibilities:

  • Maintain a separate online classroom in Brightspace for the information literacy modules.
  • Manage enrollment for the online classroom to include all Wayne College students and faculty enrolled as students.
  • Maintain the Information Literacy Modules LibGuide with detailed instructions and advice for students and faculty.
  • Provide additional hands-on activities to reinforce skills covered in information literacy modules, by request.
  • Assess student achievement of basic information literacy skills with online quizzes.

Faculty Responsibilities:

  • Read the full Information Literacy Modules LibGuide and understand what is required of students completing the workshops.
  • Provide links to the library's LibGuide and Brightspace classroom in your course classroom.
  • Complete the modules that you are requiring your students to complete.  Become familiar with the content so that you can reinforce information literacy applications to course content and assignments.
  • Assign modules with consideration of course assignments and explain the connection to students.
  • Enforce deadlines for each of the quizzes early in the semester to ensure students are progressing through the modules at times appropriate to course assignments.
  • Include all quiz deadlines and points awarded for successful completion on your course syllabus.  Include an explanation of how the student’s overall course grade will be affected if the library modules are not completed successfully.
  • Demonstrate the online library classroom and LibGuide the first week of class (or request a library staff member to come to class and demonstrate the classroom).
  • Enforce each quiz deadline as it approaches and collect scores as each deadline passes, rather than collect scores at the end of the semester.
  • Schedule any additional library workshops, research instruction sessions, tours, or hands-on work sessions during the first two weeks of the semester.  Requests after this time may not be able to be accommodated.

Information Literacy Modules

The library staff have created a menu of online information literacy modules that highlight the research skills needed to be successful during the first two years of college.  These workshops may be required by individual course instructors.   Students should check their syllabi at the start of the semester to determine which modules are required in each course.

Currently the following modules are available:

Module 1: Using Databases for Research: This module lays the foundation for performing academic library research by defining what databases are, explaining why we use databases over other search tools, and providing examples of databases we use every day and those we might use for academic research. There are no prerequisite modules to complete prior to this one.

Module 2: The Research Plan: Developing Research Questions: This module will discuss the earliest stages of a research plan: developing research questions using brainstorming and mind mapping techniques.  (Prerequisite: Module 1)

Module 3: The Research Plan: Developing Online Search Strategies: This module focuses on basic approaches to developing effective online search strategies including searching with Boolean operators and truncation. Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2

Module 4: The Research Plan: Distinguishing among Formats: This module distinguishes among a variety of potential resource formats (books, periodicals, media, and websites) in order to aid in the research plan decision making process.  There are no prerequisite modules to complete prior to this one.

Module 5: The Research Plan: Popular and Scholarly Sources: This module distinguishes among popular, professional, and scholarly sources in order to aid in the research plan decision making process.  There are no prerequisite modules to complete prior to this one.

Module 6: The Research Plan: Choosing Appropriate Databases: This module focuses on choosing appropriate databases for specific research needs among the hundreds of databases available through The University of Akron Libraries. Choosing between databases based on coverage (general or subject-specific, dates covered, etc.) and formats available will aid in the research plan decision making process.  Prerequisite: Module 1.

Module 7: Searching Library Catalogs (Basic): This module is an introduction to library catalogs and demonstrates basic library catalog search strategies (author, title, and subject searching). Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6.

Module 8: Searching Library Catalogs (Advanced): Building on the skills discussed in Module 7, this module focuses on more advanced searching of library catalogs, including keyword searching, limiting and sorting results, retrieving and requesting items.  Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6, Module 7.

Module 9: Searching Periodical Databases (Basic): This module will lay the foundation for searching using periodical databases: performing basic keyword searches and examining database records for the citation, abstract, subject headings, and availability.  Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6.

Module 10: Searching Periodical Databases (Advanced): Building on the skills discussed in Module 9, this module focuses on more advanced searching of periodical databases, including using field-specific searches and limiters to locate focused information.  Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6, Module 9.

Module 11: Internet for Academic Research: This module explores web domains, page depth, how search engines work compared to research databases, and which materials exist in the "Invisible Web" in order to lay the foundation for effective web searching for academic sources. Prerequisite: Module 1.

Module 12: Internet: Advanced Search Strategies: 

Building on the skills discussed in Module 11, this module focuses on advanced Internet searching, highlighting Google strategies, shortcuts, and special features to aid in locating appropriate academic materials.  Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 11.

Module 13: Information Interrogation (Evaluation):

Using the six key interrogatives (who, what, where, when, why, how) evaluate the information you consume.  Apply the interrogation skills throughout your research process to ensure that the sources you consider and eventually incorporate into your projects meet the standards required of academic research.

The modules are available as online tutorials in the library's Brightspace classroom.  You must be a currently enrolled student at Wayne College to access the library's online classroom.  Contact Maureen if you do not have access to the current semester's library classroom. 

Information Literacy Modules Quiz Points Breakdown

The Fall 2018 Information Literacy Modules Quizzes each have the following point values:

Module 1: 5                                                                                                      
Module 2: 7
Module 3: 14
Module 4: 5
Module 5: 4
Module 6: 10
Module 7: 5
Module 8: 5
Module 9: 11
Module 10: 4
Module 11: 14
Module 12: 10
Module 13: 15
Total: 109

Maureen Lerch, Wayne College Library Director

Maureen Lerch's picture
Maureen Lerch
Contact:
Wayne College Library
1901 Smucker Rd.
Orrville, OH 44667
330-684-8951

Chat with Us!

Chat service is available during normal hours of operation.

chat loading...

Get the Chat App:

Download the Ask a Librarian Mobile App on your mobile devices. Search for "UA Wayne College Library" to chat with us.

Were we unavailable when you needed us?

Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you!  Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).

Contact the Wayne College Library

Phone: 330.684.8789

Fax: 330.683.1381

E-mail:  waynelibrary@uakron.edu

SMS Text: 330.551.5275

Instant message / Chat

Staff Contacts

Information Literacy Links