It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Psychology (Wayne College): PowerPoint Presentation: Home
The University of Akron Wayne College Library
Critical Reading: An Essential Step
Critical Reading: A Great Way to Start a Research Project
Rather than hitting the databases and collecting a bunch of articles that may or not be related, start your search by finding a single, very relevant article. Practice critical reading habits and then follow the steps below to collect information you will use in your annotated bibliography for the PowerPoint Project.
Connect what you're reading with what you already know or what you are learning in this class.
Read to reflect.
Ask yourself throughout: "How will I use this information to build on the information?"
Recognize your place in the scholarly conversation: What is the relationship between you and the scholars who produced what you are reading?
While reading, ask the following:
What is this about and why was it written?
Who wrote it? (Evaluate authority)
How did they conduct their research?
So what? Why do I care?
How does this information connect with other literature I have encountered? How does it connect to me, my life, my future professional life?
Use the databases listed in the box to perform an online keyword search strategy considering your approved topic. (*Review the Information Literacy Modules if needed)
Perform your search and spend time carefully reviewing your results. After considering the titles and reading the abstracts, select ONE article that you feel is the best result from the list. (Or change your search strategy until you find a single article that seems like a good match).
Skim the full text of the article to confirm that it is a good starting point for your topic.
Print out the full text of the article. (The whole thing, including the references)
Read the entire article once, asking yourself the questions above.
Read the article again, and annotate it. Use a highlighter or colored pens if you like. Write down or highlight things like the following:
Questions that come up in your mind as you read
Keywords and subject headings that are addressed in the article
Vocabulary: look up unfamiliar terms and write their definitions in the margins
Gaps in the research: What's missing that you would find helpful to your understanding of the topic?
Problems you see with the research as presented
Ideas for follow-up
Practical ideas you like
Craft a new online keyword search strategy incorporating what you learned from this article.
Review the references to locate related articles that might help fill gaps, answer questions, further develop the topic for you.
Finally, perform a new search strategy to find related articles or relevant cited articles to include in your annotated bibliography.
Repeat these steps with your remaining retrieved articles.
Write you annotations for your annotated bibliography:
Wait until you have read each of the articles critically and made your annotations and notes.
Think about how each of your articles relate to each other.
Write each annotation with all required details which may include: authority, intended audience, comparison to other articles in your bibliography, and how the article illuminated the topic.
2) Select any of the Ebsco databases you would like to search simultaneously. Then click on "OK"
3) Confirm your selected databases by selecting the "Show all" link above the search box:
4) Review the databases listed and make any changes by selecting the "Choose Databases" link again:
Create an Ebsco Account to Manage Your Research
Create an account in EBSCOhost to access your personalized account, which is accessible across your favorite Ebsco databases, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, PsycInfo, Social Work Abstracts, and many more!
Organize your research with folders
Share your folders with others
View others' folders
Save and retrieve your search history
Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds
Gain access to your saved research remotely
Start out by accessing an EBSCO database. In this example we are using Academic Search Complete. Select the "Sign In" option to begin creating your account:
Either sign in with your established EBSCOhost credentials, or "Create a New Account"
Complete the registration form and "Save Changes:"
This handout will explain why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offer multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation." From The Writing Center, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
This site includes examples of different kinds of annotations including informative, indicative, and evaluative. UW-Madison's "Writer's Handbook" has lots of helpful advice for the entire writing process.
Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you! Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).