Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Sociology (Wayne): Home

The University of Akron Wayne College Library

Brainstorming Key Terms and Variations

Brainstorming 

Take some time to think about your key terms and how they may appear in a database's search results.

*Learn more about Brainstorming on our Tools for Brainstorming LibGuide.

Brainstorm your key terms and consider:

  • Synonyms or terms that mean the same thing.  Think of all of the ways the concept may be written about in the literature.
  • Word endings and word variations.  Databases may need you to enter terms using truncation or wildcard characters in order to retrieve these variations.

Examples:

  • Eating disorders: anorexia, bulimia, body dysmorphia

  • Youth: children, young adults, teens, teenagers, adolescents

Search Strategies

Develop an online search strategy using appropriate Boolean operators, proximity operators, and truncation / wildcard characters.  

  • (social media or Twitter or Instagram or Snapchat or TikTok) and (teen* or adolescen* or youth) and (bully* or cyberbully* or harass*)
  • (race or racial) and segregat* and (city or cities or urban* or neighborhood*)

Expanders

Many Ebsco databases include the expander "Apply Equivalent Subjects" that are automatically selected by default when performing unqualified keyword searches.  This may be helpful with relevancy of results and discovery of terms in the established subject headings in the controlled vocabulary.

Databases

UA Libraries Catalog:

If you want to locate books or ebooks, search the UA Libraries Catalog.  

Research Databases:

To locate articles from newspapers, articles, and journals, search any of the following research databases:

Films

Don't forget about documentaries and films!  You might consider performing an advanced search in the UA Libraries Catalog and limiting the material type to video, or consider searching these streaming services:

Searching Multiple Ebsco Databases

1) Start out in one of our subscription databases provided by the vendor, Ebsco. 

For example, start out in Academic Search Complete.  Above the search box, located the link for "Choose Databases."

Screenshot from Academic Search Complete pointing to the "choose databases" link

 

2) Select any of the Ebsco databases you would like to search simultaneously.  Then click on "OK"

List of ebsco databases with Academic Search complete and Medline selected from the list.

 

3) Confirm your selected databases by selecting the "Show all" link above the search box:

Screen shot of Academic Search Complete pointing to link for "Show All" to list all databases being searched.

 

4) Review the databases listed and make any changes by selecting the "Choose Databases" link again:

Ebsco search box with four databases listed above: academic search complete, medline, psycinfo, and the psychological and behavioral sciences collection listed

 

Just Ask

Just Ask

Chat with Us!

Chat service is available during normal hours of operation.

chat loading...

Get the Chat App:

Download the Ask a Librarian Mobile App on your mobile devices. Search for "UA Wayne College Library" to chat with us.

Were we unavailable when you needed us?

Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you!  Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).

Maureen Lerch, Wayne College Library Director

Maureen Lerch's picture
Maureen Lerch
Contact:
Wayne College Library
1901 Smucker Rd.
Orrville, OH 44667
330-684-8951

Citing Your Sources

Helpful guides to citation styles:

The Info Squad @ UA Wayne College Library

Just ask the Info Squad at the University of Akron Wayne College Library

Start your search at UA Wayne College Library and Chat with us live!

Phone: 330.684.8789 

SMS Text: 330.551.5275

E-mail: waynelibrary@uakron.edu 

WebEx (by appointment): https://uakron.webex.com/join/waynelibrary

Wayne College Library Staff Contacts