Skip to main content

Introduction to Social Welfare (Wayne): Social Welfare Journal Article Critique: Home

The University of Akron Wayne College Library

Accessing Social Work Abstracts

Go to the Wayne College Library website and select "Databases by Title:"

Enter the title of the database, Social Work Abstracts, then "Submit:"

Select the title of the database to begin searching.  If accessing Social Work Abstracts from home you will need to provide your UAnet ID and Password for access:

 

Searching the Journal: Social Work

To find articles from the journal, Social Work, you should start your search in a database that includes this journal.  We recommend starting in the Social Work Abstracts database (see instructions above).

Toward the top of the page, select "Indexes" to browse specific journal titles:

Select "Publication Name" from the Index menu and type in the name of the Journal you want to search, "Social Work."

Select the box next to the journal title, Social Work, then select "Search"

Use the publication date limiter to ensure you are considering articles within your assignment's guidelines and add a keyword search strategy to locate focused results:

Full text for this specific journal is unavailable for articles published in the past 12 months.  You will need to request any of these articles by completing an Interlibrary Loan request.

Research Paper

Access the database, Social Work Abstracts.  (See instructions at the top of this guide).

Perform a search using carefully chosen keywords and phrases, joined with appropriate operators.  Remember to truncate your terms appropriately.  Use the "publication date" limiter to ensure you will retrieve articles from the appropriate range of dates.

 

Just Ask

Just Ask

Shortcut: Social Work Abstracts

Other databases to consider:

Collaborative Writing

There are many approaches to collaborating on a group project. Your group might consider using an online collaborative tool like an online document sharing program like Google Drive. Because all University of Akron students automatically have a Gmail account, you can use this same account to use Google Docs.
Check out this sample document created by the library staff:
Sample Document in Google Docs

Chat with Us!

Chat service is available during normal hours of operation.

chat loading...

Get the Chat App:

Download the Ask a Librarian Mobile App on your mobile devices. Search for "UA Wayne College Library" to chat with us.

Were we unavailable when you needed us?

Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you!  Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).

The Info Squad @ UA Wayne College Library

Just ask the Info Squad at the University of Akron Wayne College Library

Start your search at UA Wayne College Library and Chat with us live!

Phone: 330.684.8789 

SMS Text: 330.551.5275

E-mail: waynelibrary@uakron.edu 

WebEx (by appointment): https://uakron.webex.com/join/waynelibrary

Wayne College Library Staff Contacts