Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work Research (Wayne College): Home

The University of Akron Wayne College Library

Brainstorming Key Terms and Variations

Brainstorming 

Take some time to think about your key terms and how they may appear in a database's search results.

Brainstorm your key terms and consider:

  • Synonyms or terms that mean the same thing.  Think of all of the ways the concept may be written about in the literature.
  • Word endings and word variations.  Databases may need you to enter terms using truncation or wildcard characters in order to retrieve these variations.

Examples:

  • Veterans: veteran, veterans, military, soldiers, servicemen

  • PTSD: PTSD, post traumatic stress disorder

  • Youth: children, young adults, teens, teenagers, adolescents

Search Strategies

Develop an online search strategy using appropriate Boolean operators, proximity operators, and truncation / wildcard characters.  

  • (Veteran* or military or servicemen) and (PTSD or post traumatic stress disorder)
  • (youth or child* or adolescen*) and foster N2 (transition* or aged out)

Expanders

Many Ebsco databases include the expander "Apply Equivalent Subjects" that are automatically selected by default when performing unqualified keyword searches.  This may be helpful with relevancy of results and discovery of terms in the established subject headings in the controlled vocabulary.

Refining Your Search with Limiters

Limiters

Each database will include limiters that are specific to the discipline. 

Note: If you are in the habit of searching multiple databases simultaneously, you may be missing out on limiters that are specific to individual databases.

PsycInfo

For example, in the PsycInfo database, here are recommended limiter helpful to this specific assignment:

  • References available
  • Academic journals
  • Publication date 
  • Methodology (meta analysis, quantitative study, qualitative study)

Additional PsycInfo limiters that may apply to your particular search include:

  • Language
  • Gender
  • Age
  • Population

Medline

  • Publication type (meta analysis)
  • Material type (academic journals)
  • Geography (United States)

CINAHL

  • Material type (academic journals)
  • Publication type (meta analysis, systematic review)

Databases

Just Ask

Just Ask

Chat with Us!

Chat service is available during normal hours of operation.

chat loading...

Get the Chat App:

Download the Ask a Librarian Mobile App on your mobile devices. Search for "UA Wayne College Library" to chat with us.

Were we unavailable when you needed us?

Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you!  Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).

Maureen Lerch, Wayne College Library Director

Maureen Lerch's picture
Maureen Lerch
Contact:
Wayne College Library
1901 Smucker Rd.
Orrville, OH 44667
330-684-8951

Citing Your Sources

Helpful guides to citation styles:

The Info Squad @ UA Wayne College Library

Just ask the Info Squad at the University of Akron Wayne College Library

Start your search at UA Wayne College Library and Chat with us live!

Phone: 330.684.8789 

SMS Text: 330.551.5275

E-mail: waynelibrary@uakron.edu 

WebEx (by appointment): https://uakron.webex.com/join/waynelibrary

Wayne College Library Staff Contacts