Last Updated: Jan 20, 2015
Start your research on Ohio's laws using these resources.
- Ohio Capitol Connection
Includes primary source documents, news reports, and legislative analysis for the Ohio General Assembly. Use this resource to find the status and text of bills, hearing testimony, scheduled meetings, committees, information about legislators, and political news from the State of Ohio.
- Legislative Service Commission
LSC is a non-partisan state agency that provides resources and support for Ohio's General Assembly. The website includes publications and documents related to recent legislative action.
- America's News
Updated daily, a comprehensive resource of millions of current and archived articles, including complete online editions of many newspapers. Includes numerous Ohio newspapers, such as the Akron Beacon Journal.
Most Ohio government information is now published online. If you are using an Internet search engine, be sure to check that you're looking at a legitimate resource.
Here are a few places to get started.
- State of Ohio
Start at the official web portal for the State of Ohio to find current information from the state government.
- Ohio Memory
This digital repository includes archived publications from the State of Ohio.
- State Library of Ohio
Search the State Library's catalog for additional indexing of historical documents. Many publications can be requested through OhioLINK.
- UA Libraries Catalog
Use a keyword search to locate documents in print and digital formats. Most Ohio documents are shelved with the main collection in Bierce Library.
This digital document recently received the Notable Government Document award from the American Library Association’s Government Documents Round Table (GODORT). Take a look and see what state publications have to offer!
- Ohio Memory's Learning Resources
Ohio Memory's historical digital collections include newspapers, timelines, images, and other pieces of Ohio's past.
- Ohio Historical Society
OHS provides stories, photos, and videos that bring Ohio's history alive. Events are hosted around the state to encourage personal experience with Ohio's past.