APA Style (7th ed.)

Journal article with DOI

See Publication Manual, pp. 316-319.

Weigold, I.K. Weigold, A., Russell, E.J., Wolfe, G.L., Prowell, J. L., & Martin, W. C. A.(2020). Personal growth initiative and mental health: A meta-analysis. Journal of Counseling & Development, 98(4), 376-390. https://doi.org/10.1002/jcad.12340

• Parenthetical in-text citation example: (Weigold et al., 2020)
• Narrative in-text citation example: Weigold et al. (2020)

Journal article without DOI, from most library databases, (full text not freely available to everyone)

See Publication Manual, p. 296.

Roncone, J. (2019). Healthy campus wellness initiative: Bridging the gap between Healthy Campus 2020. AURCO Journal, 25, 160-176.

• Parenthetical in-text citation example: (Roncone, 2019)
• Narrative in-text citation example: Roncone (2019)

Cochrane review article with DOI

From the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (i.e., Cochrane Library). The name of the database takes the place of the journal. When provided, include volume, issue, and article number as you would for a journal article.

Carter, E. Johnson, E.E., Still, M., Al-Assaf, A. S., Bryant, A., Aluko, P., Jeffrey, S.T., & Nambiar, A. (2023). Single-incision sling operations for urinary incontinence in women. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD008709.pub4

• Parenthetical in-text citation example: (Carter et. al., 2023)
• Narrative in-text citation example: Carter et al. (2023)

Journal article with DOI, free full text of article, from an open access journal

Brieger, K., & Bromley, P. (2014). A model for facilitating peer review in the STEM disciplines: A case study of peer review workshops supporting student writing in introductory biology courses. Double Helix, 2, 1-10. https://wac.colostate.edu/docs/double-helix/v2/brieger.pdf

• Parenthetical in-text citation example: (Brieger & Bromley, 2014)
• Narrative in-text citation example: Brieger and Bromley, (2014)

Journal article without DOI, from an archive or an institutional repository with free full text

URL should direct users to full text.

Hess, R. (2019). Amish and Mennonite lay caregivers' experiences using the B&W burdock leaf treatment on burns and wounds. A qualitative study. Journal of Amish and Plain Anabaptist Studies, 6(2), 144-159. https://ideaexchange.uakron.edu/amishstudies/vol6/iss2/2/

• Parenthetical in-text citation example: (Hess, 2019)
• Narrative in-text citation example: Hess (2019)

Format of a reference for a magazine article

AuthorLastName, A. A., AuthorLastName, B .B., & AuthorLastName, C. C. (Year, Month Day). Title of article: Subtitle. Title of Magazine, volume number(issue number), pages. URL

Magazine or newsletter without a DOI

From most research databases, in print or freely available online. Include the (Year, Month Day)

Conover, E. (2022, June 18). Experiments hint at why bird nests are so sturdy. Science News, 201(11), 5. https://www.sciencenews.org/article/bird-nest-sturdy-physics

• Parenthetical in-text citation example: (Conover, 2022)
• Narrative in-text citation example: Conover (2022)

Newsletter article for free full text

Craig, L. (2017, March 29). Cold spray technology to repair surfaces of corroded aircraft parts. Phys.org. https://phys.org/news/2017-03-cold-technology-surfaces-corroded-aircraft.html

• Parenthetical in-text citation example: (Craig, 2017)
• Narrative in-text citation example: Craig (2017)

Cite what you see. For articles in print, do not include the abbreviations "p." or "pp." in front of the page numbers.

Online version

Wu, K.J. (2020, November 4). Amazing arachnids: Spider silk is stronger than steel. It can also assemble itself. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2020/11/04/science/spider-silk-web-self-assembly.html

Print Version

Wu, K.J. (2020, November 10). Amazing Arachnids: Spider silk is stronger than steel. It can also assemble itself. The New York Times. D2.

The in-text citation is the same for the print and online version.

• Parenthetical in-text citation example: (Wu, 2020)
• Narrative in-text citation example: Wu (2020)

Blog posts (also known as weblogs, not to be confused with blog comments) are referenced as if they were articles in magazine or newspapers. Use italics for the blog title.

• In the References page, the date is specific (i.e., year, month, day). 
• In the in-text citation, use the year only. 
• Use italics for the blog title (e.g., ACSM Blog) 

Source: https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/examples/blog-post-references

 Barnes, J. (2019, February 22). Heart health and brain health go hand-in-hand. ACSM Blog. https://www.acsm.org/all-blog-posts/acsm-blog/acsm-blog/2019/02/22/heart-health-brain-health-connection

• Parenthetical in-text citation example: (Barnes, 2019)
• Narrative in-text citation example: Barnes (2019)

Tavares Kennedy, H. (2018, December 29). X-rays reveal catalyst growth details for more efficient hydrogen fuel cells. Biofuels Digest. https://www.biofuelsdigest.com/bdigest/2018/12/29/x-rays-reveal-catalyst-growth-details-for-more-efficient-hydrogen-fuel-cells/

• Parenthetical in-text citation example: (Kennedy, 2018)
• Narrative in-text citation example: Kennedy (2018)