LibGuides: Clinical Tools: Drug Resources

Drug Guides

Nursing Central This link opens in a new window
Important access note: To use certain features and to use off campus or offline, create an account while connected to UA's network (eduroam).
A clinical-oriented app that contains textbook-like information in mobile and other online formats. If you have any difficulty using the app, please visit Nursing Central's support page.

Mosby's 2021 Nursing Drug Reference (34th ed.) by Linda Skidmore-Roth
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2020-03-26
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2022
Call Number: RM125 .H634 2022 Bierce Library
ISBN: 9780323798907
Publication Date: 2021-04-19

Complementary & Alternative Medicine Resources

Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.

Consumer Health Complete (Select "Natural & Alternative Treatments") Please click on the hyperlink, "Natural and Alternative Treatments" to access the resource.

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2008

Websites with Drug/Chemical/Herbal Information

General Sources:

MedlinePlus: Drugs and Supplements
Daily Med (most up-to-date drug information submitted to FDA) Includes U.S. FDA-approved labels (package inserts) and selective drug images similar to PDR.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) This agency oversees the regulation of pharmaceutical and food products as well as medical devices.

Prescribers' Digital Reference This link opens in a new window Provides healthcare professionals access to important drug information.
2017-

Specialized Sources:

Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database (DSID) The Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database (DSID) provides estimated levels of ingredients in dietary supplement products sold in the United States. These statistically predicted estimates may differ from labeled amounts and are based on chemical analysis of nationally representative products. This site is now being updated and maintained for access by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements.
Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes full label derived information from dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S. with a Web-based user interface that provides ready access to label information. This site is now being updated and maintained for access by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements
Erowig.org
Erowig Center provides "access to reliable, non-judgmental information about psychoactive plants, chemicals, and related issues."
Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products (Memorial Sloan Kettering Institute) Provides quality information about herbs, vitamins, and supplements.
LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
LiverTox Database "An international information repository and clinical case registry on drug induced liver injury... attributed to prescription to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals, and dietary supplements"
National Center for Complementary & Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) Provides professional and consumer information related to alternative and complementary therapies.
Toxicology Data Network, TOXNET (TOXLINE includes option to "Include PubMed Records") A system of databases covering hazardous chemicals, environmental health, toxic releases, chemical nomenclature, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and occupational safety and health.