Sources used for research and display in the exhibit are in the Reference List below.
Akron Beacon Journal. (April 15, 1904). Buchtel gets a valuable present. Akron Beacon Journal.
Akron Beacon Journal. (April 30, 1904). For the public’s benefit: Collection of birds at Buchtel College open to all. Akron Beacon Journal.
Akron Beacon Journal. (May 6, 1910). Loved birds and his country and church: Thomas Rhodes of Akron was a pioneer and rich land owner. Akron Beacon Journal.
Akron Beacon Journal. (February 2, 1992). Bird lovers will love this [Print]. Akron Beacon Journal.
Ashworth, A. (n.d.). Ivory-billed woodpecker gets top billing as birds in UA collection get student makeovers. Akron Beacon Journal. https://www.beaconjournal.com/story/news/2022/03/20/ivory-billed-woodpecker-gets-top-billing-university-akron/7029429001/
The Cummings Center for the History of Psychology. (2022). Cabinets of Curiosity: Natural History Mysteries [Press Release]. The University of Akron, Akron, Ohio. https://www.uakron.edu/chp/whats-on/natural-history-mystery?fbclid=IwAR1pDs1fQ671-vfCoKUGySBurhrEcR3h2IbejRTuMZfgyvyj86Rt8REWS-Y
Doyle, W. (1908). Doyle, W. B. (1908). Centennial History of Summit County, Ohio and Representative Citizens. Biographical Pub. Co.
Hafred, L. (December 23, 1997). 1997.12.23 C7 Paul Belcher obit. The Akron Beacon Journal. Newspapers.com. https://www.newspapers.com/article/the-akron-beacon-journal-19971223-c7-p/5726265/
Holliday, G. & Roketenetz, L. (2022). Discovering the UA Museum of Zoology [PowerPoint slides]. NEXT Conference at The University of Akron.
Holliday, G., & Roketenetz, L. (2022). Uncovering a Natural History Mystery at the University of Akron. Proceedings from the Document Academy, 9(2). https://doi.org/10.35492/docam/9/2/3
Sarah Bagshaw Garside Rhodes (1830-1910). (n.d.). Www.findagrave.com. https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/5826272/sarah-bagshaw-rhodes
Slater, S. (1992, February 6). Local bird lover donates collection to UA. The Buchtelite.
UA Department of Biology (n.d.) UA Museum of Zoology Digital Collection [Digital collection]. The University of Akron and contentDM. https://cdm15960.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/zoology
University Archives and Special Collections. (n.d.). Paul Belcher Folder [Archival material]. The University of Akron, Akron, OH.
The University of Akron. (July, 1, 1967). Board of Trustees (B8F005_077) [Photograph]. University of Akron Photograph Collection. University Archives and Special Collections. https://cdm15960.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p15960coll3/id/110458
The University of Akron. (1992). The Year reviewed between July 1, 1991, and June 30, 1992…. Akron Magazine, Fall 1992, 8-9. https://collections.uakron.edu/digital/collection/p15960coll3/id/121391/rec/12
The University of Akron. (1882). View of Natural History Room [Image]. The Buchtel. Originally published by Beacon Publishing Co., Printers. Digitized by University Archives and Special Collections in contentDM. https://cdm15960.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p15960coll3/id/111716/rec/5