Skip to Main Content

COF Summer Bridge

COF Summer Bridge 2025

What is a Library Database?

A library database is a digital system that helps users find and access books, articles, and other resources online, usually through a library’s website

  • Library databases contain information from published works. 
    Examples: Magazine, journal and/or newspaper articles, encyclopedias and other books.
  • Library databases are searchable. 
    By Keywords, Subject, Author, Magazine/Journal Title, Date, etc.
  • Library databases provide citation information.
    Author, Title of Article, Publication (Title of Magazine, Newspaper, or Reference Book), Publisher, Date of Publication. Some databases will create the citation for you.
  • Library databases often contain full-text articles. 
    You can print, save, or email an entire article.

*UA databases are accessible to you from home or any other location with your UA login and password.

Kick Off Your Research with Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete 
Looking for a solid place to start your research? Academic Search Complete has you covered with a wide variety of articles across subjects like applied, physical, and earth sciences, engineering, health, business, and more. Just follow the steps below to dive in.

How to do a quick Search in Academic Search Complete

  1. Enter Keywords
    Type 3–4 main keywords related to your topic into the search boxes.

  2. Start Your Search
    Click the Search button.

  3. Review Your Results
    Focus on the first two pages of results—they’re usually the most relevant.

  4. Explore Articles
    Click on an article title to view more details.

  5. Evaluate the Article

    • Read the Abstract to understand what the article is about.
    • Check the Subject Terms to see how the article is categorized—these can help you refine your search.

  6. Improve Your Search

    • Too few results? Try using fewer keywords or different terms/synonyms.
    • Too many results? Add more keywords or use filters (like language, publication date, or subject area) to narrow things down.

Multidisciplinary Databases for Group Project

A multidisciplinary database is an online tool that gives you access to research and articles from many different subject areas. Instead of focusing on just one topic, it includes information from fields like science, history, business, health, and more. It’s a great place to start when your topic connects to more than one subject.

Databases for Group Project

 Environmental Impact & Climate Change

Topics associated with this category: climate change, flooding, construction effects, soil contamination, microplastics 

Groups associated with this category:

  • Group 1- Microplastics are not environmentally friendly and cause medical issues. How do microplastics affect people using waterparks?
  • Group 3 - Effects of Flooding on the Environment
  • Group 4 - Soil contamination from the rubber plants. When, what, and how did it happen? What can we do about it?
  • Group 7- Climate change
  • Group 8 - The effects of construction/road construction on the environment

Recommended Databases:

Recommended eJournals:

 

Chemical Engineering & Waste Solutions

Topics associated with this category: chemical waste management, solutions for industrial pollution

Group associated with this category:

 Group 2- Chemical wastes and solutions in the chemical engineering field

Recommended Databases:

  • Academic Search Complete  – Start your search here! 

  • Knovel – Technical handbooks and practical engineering solutions

  • Reaxys – Chemical reactions, properties, and substance data

  • ScienceDirect – Applied chemical engineering and environmental studies

Recommended eJournals:

Recommended Websites:

Health & Pollution

Topics associated with this category: Health risks of microplastics, water pollution, microplastics effects on humans

Group associated with this category:

  •  Group 1- Microplastics are not environmentally friendly and cause medical issues. How do they affect people using waterparks?

Recommended Databases:

Recommended eJournals:

Recommended Websites:

 

 

Mechanical Processes & Efficiency

Topics included in this category: Tribology, friction, wear, and energy loss

Suggested Databases:

Recommended eJournals:

Tribology Transactions – Peer-reviewed tribology research on friction, wear, lubricants, lubrication, materials, machines and moving components.

Journals like Wear and Tribology International

Recommended Websites:
 

 

Environmental Impact & Sustainability

Topics associated with this category: Smart trash cans

Group associated with this category:

Group 6- Waste management, smart trash cans to help manage under- and overfilling

Suggested Databases:

  • Academic Search Complete – Start your search here!

  • IEEE Xplore – Smart systems, sensors, and IoT

  • ScienceDirect – Smart cities and environmental engineering

  • SpringerLink – AI-based waste sorting and smart infrastructure

Select Akron, Ohio, and National Newspaper Databases

For a complete list of Newspaper databases, please visit the A-Z List of Newspapers  page.