This page contains a list of archval resources pertaining to organized labor and collective bargaining in the Akron area, including collections relating to the Akron chapter of the American Association of University Professors, located in Archives and Special Collections of University Libraries. The list of collections includes title of the collection, date range of the materials, extent or size of the collection, record group/catalog number, and a brief description of the archival resources. More information about some of these collections can be found in the finding aids by clicking the title of the collection (if available). Original resources can be consulted by visiting Archives and Special Collections during our normal business hours. Schedule an appointment or contact archives@uakron.edu for further assistance.
Range: 2014 - 2014 Size: 0.17 Record Group:
The Dr. Gregory S. Wilson Rubber Workers Oral History Collection consists of seven oral histories conducted by students in his Oral History class at The University of Akron, which took place in Spring Semester 2014. The oral histories include digital audio recordings and transcripts of interviews with people who worked in various positions in Akron’s rubber industry, mostly at The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company and Firestone Tire & Rubber Company. This includes Dr. Charles Bell, Al Fitch, Don Heffner, Jim Hooks, Rick Houck, Dave Persons, and Mike Waugh.
Range: 1950 - 1976 Size: 0.4 cubic feet Record Group:
Minutes of meetings, a written history, auditing committee quarterly reports, and miscellaneous materials.
Range: 1939 - 1987 Size: 64 cubic feet Record Group:
The United Rubber Workers (URW) was founded in Akron in 1935 to improve working conditions for all rubber workers. In 1995, the URW merged with the United Steelworks of America (USW). At its peak, the URW had nearly 200,000 members in hundreds of chapters throughout the United States and Canada. The records include newsletters, contracts, agreements, negotiations, grievance files, petitions, general office files, meeting minutes, union elections, and photographs of URW Local 5 of Akron.
Range: 1933 - 1976 Size: 0.6 cubic feet Record Group:
Meeting minutes.
Range: 1964 - 1978 Size: 0.2 cubic feet Record Group:
The collection includes agreements, attendance records, correspondence, minutes of meetings and records of individual union dues paid to the Local.
Range: 1941 - 1967 Size: 0.2 cubic feet Record Group:
Meeting minutes.
Range: 1935 - 1981 Size: 12 cubic feet Record Group:
This collection largely focuses on the Local 31 and includes a variety of materials such as manuals, reports, ledgers, dues books, a film, membership forms, attendance records, benefit forms, shop cards, cash books, agreements, insurance information and minutes. The bulk of the collection consists of local contracts and negotiations.
Range: 1928 - 1976 Size: 2.8 cubic feet Record Group:
Correspondence, minutes, agreements, and financial records.
Range: 1935 - 1970 Size: 2.0 Record Group: 99/59
The records of District Council No. 9 of the United Brick and Clay Workers consist of correspondence, minutes, agreements and financial records.
Range: 1895 - 1965 Size: 1.2 cubic feet Record Group:
Minute books, roll call books, journals of receipts and expenses, newsletters, clippings, pamphlets, and lists.
Range: 1937 - 1967 Size: 55 cubic feet Record Group:
Correspondence, minutes of meetings, financial records, and reports relating to the activities of the Locals and the Regional and National Offices of the LIU and its predecessor, the International Hod Carriers,' Building and Common Laborers' Union of America.
Range: 1949 - 1998 Size: 190 cubic feet Record Group:
The International Chemical Workers Union Council (ICWUC), founded in Cleveland, Ohio in 1944, represents workers in the chemical industry in the United States and Canada. Headquartered in Akron, Ohio, it merged with the United Food and Commercial Workers International Union (UFCW) in 1996. The records include local union correspondence, legal briefs, collective bargaining information, research files, and educational material.
Range: 1929 - 1935 Size: 1 cubic foot Record Group:
Records, 1933-1935, 1 volume, minutes of a defunct local.
Range: 1929 - 1962 Size: 14 cubic feet Record Group:
Executive Board minutes, 1929-1962 (6 volumes) and local union minutes, 1930-1960 (8 volumes).
Range: 1910 - 1978 Size: 0.8 cubic feet Record Group:
The International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Technicians, Moving Picture Machine Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada (IATSE) is a labor union founded in 1893 that represents technicians, artisans, and craftspersons in the entertainment industry. Chartered in 1897, Local 48 represents professional stagehands and extras in the Akron/Canton, Ohio area in negotiations with local employers. The records include constitutions and bylaws, contracts, financial records, membership applications, and meeting minutes of Local 48.
Range: 1938 - 1941 Size: 0.1 cubic feet Record Group:
Correspondence and other materials of CIO field representative, principally regarding United Rubber Workers activity at the Gadsden, Alabama, plant of the Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company.
Range: 1944 - 1972 Size: 4 cubic feet Record Group:
Minutes of the Canton Federation of Labor (1944-1955), Stark County Industrial Union Council (1944-1953), Canton AFL-CIO Council (1965-1972), materials on 1958 right-to-work campaign, clippings, and speech materials.
Range: 1909 - 1979 Size: 1.5 cubic feet Record Group:
Correspondence, financial records, meeting minutes, memoranda, newspaper clippings, photographs, and miscellanea. Materials relating to the Journeymen Barbers, Hairdressers, Cosmetologists, and Proprietors Union.
Range: 1942 - 1974 Size: 0.5 cubic feet Record Group:
Agreements between Hoover Company and Local 709, Local 24425, Constitution and By-Laws for the United Electrical, Radio, and Machine Workers of America, AFL-CIO. Includes minutes books for Local 306 (1958-1972).
Range: 1935 - 1972 Size: 2 cubic feet Record Group: 99/17
The Communications Workers of America (CWA), which is affiliated with the AFL-CIO, is the largest communications and media labor union in the United States. Before combining with CWA Local 4302 (Akron), CWA Local 4303 was in District 4 and represented workers in Canton, Ohio. The records include minutes of grievance meetings and reports on contract bargaining.
Range: 1937 - 1971 Size: 5.33 cubic feet Record Group: 99/16
The Communications Workers of America (CWA), which is affiliated with the AFL-CIO, is the largest communications and media labor union in the United States. CWA Local 4302 is in District 4 and now represents workers in Akron and Canton, Ohio. The records include meeting minutes, correspondence, financial records, bargaining and grievances documents, materials about AFL-CIO affiliates and community activities, and publications of CWA Local 4302 and its predecessor, Ohio Federal of Telephone Workers Local 201.
Range: 1902 - 1957 Size: 0.25 cubic feet Record Group:
Charter and minute books.
Range: 1938 - 1977 Size: 2 cubic feet Record Group: 99/80
Records of 15 local companies, including correspondence, notices, agreements, strike reports, election forms, materials relating to lockouts and strikes, amendments to agreements, applications for strike sanction, tally of ballots, grievances, employee listings, and wage surveys. Includes materials at the local level: The Akron Association; job shop agreements and notices to mediation, amendments to Akron Association laws, a booklet of by-laws, by-law approvals, correspondence, financial reports, monthly reports, and newspaper clippings. Additionally, international level materials include: booklets, correspondence, minutes of meetings, and newspaper clippings.
Office of the President Records (RG4)
Date Range: 1873-1973
Extent: 137 cubic feet (391 document cases)
The University of Akron, Office of the President Records (RG4) mostly consist of correspondence, speeches, and subject files of the presidents of The University of Akron and its predecessors, including Buchtel College and The Municipal University of Akron. Most of the records are from the administrations of Norman P. Auburn and Dominic J. Guzzetta. However, there are also records from presidents Ira A. Priest, George F. Zook, and Hezzleton E. Simmons. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above. Materials regarding the University of Akron Chapter of the American Association of University Professors (Akron AAUP) are included.
University Faculty Records (RG 16)
Date Range: 1934-1971
Extent: 6 cubic feet (17 document cases)
The University of Akron, University Faculty Records mostly document The University of Akron Faculty Women's Club (FWC), the Faculty Committee on University Improvement (FCUI), and The University of Akron Chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). Most of the AAUP records are from the Akron Chapter, although some records pertain to the national organization. The records include correspondence, meeting minutes, reports, constitutions, membership lists, subject files, publications, and artifacts and memorabilia. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.
Dr. Daniel Nelson Collection
Date Range: 1900-1980s
Extent: 10 cubic feet
Dr. Daniel Nelson is Professor Emeritus of History at The University of Akron who specializes in American business and labor history and has published numerous books on these topics. His collection consists of research materials for his book American Rubber Workers & Organized Labor, 1900-1941, including research notes, oral history interviews, meeting minutes, manuscripts, demographic studies, articles, newspaper clippings, chapter critiques, and correspondence. The collection also includes information regarding the United Rubber Workers (URW) and numerous rubber companies. The dates are approximate as this collection is not fully processed.
University of Akron chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) Records
Date Range: 1960 - 2000
Extent: 19 cubic feet
The University of Akron chapter of the AAUP Records mostly consist of correspondence, reports, notes, memoranda, meeting minutes, newsletters, resolutions, membership lists, newspaper clippings, constitutions, surveys, financial records, and local and national AAUP publications. Most records are from the Akron AAUP, but some pertain to the state or national level AAUP organization. Included in these records are materials from faculty that held office in the Akron AAUP including June Burton, Ruth Clinefelter, Walter Sheppe, and Judy Fitzgerald, among others. These materials correspond to the Akron AAUP materials in RG 16 University Faculty Records and are unprocessed. Personnel records within the collection are restricted. Some material may require a public records request for access. A preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by contacting the University of Akron Archives and Special Collections.