LibGuides: Philosophy Research Guide: Other Resources

Other Philopsophy Resources

1000 Word Philosophy
A constantly-growing collection of original essays on important philosophical topics. These essays are introductions rather than argumentative articles.
Dickison College Commentaries
Latin and Greek texts for reading, with explanatory notes, essays, vocabulary, and graphic, video, and audio elements.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
The Perseus Catalog
Integrates two complementary kinds of resources, bibliographies of authors and editions produced by and for classicists and metadata about Greek and Latin authors in more general library systems.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

English Philosophical Texts Online
A free online library of early modern English-language philosophical texts
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community. It is committed to ensuring quality content is openly available online for everyone.
Open Access Textbooks for Philosophy
A collection of textbooks that are free to use and distribute.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a vast, community-driven resource for philosophy research. It tracks scholarly content from journals, books, and open access archives, while also offering the largest open access archive in the field. The index features over 2.7 million entries across 6,000+ categories and supports a growing user base of more than 390,000 philosophers.

Harvard University: Courses
Open Online Courses available from Harvard University. These can be filtered to 'free' courses, and browsed through the Humanities filter or searched by theme.
Merlot
The Merlot system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
Open Culture
An aggregator of free, downloadable philosophy courses from the world's leading universities. They also provide a selection of 120 free philosophy ebooks.
Open Yale Courses
Free, online courses available from Yale University, including from the Philosophy Department.

Learn Out Loud (Philosophy Collection)
Features over 10,000 free audio books, courses, documentaries, lectures, interviews, speeches, and more.
LibriVox
Public domain audiobooks, with over 200 titles in the subject of philosophy.

History of Philosophy Without Any Gaps
The series looks at the ideas, lives and historical context of the major philosophers as well as the lesser-known figures of the tradition.
In Our Time Philosophy
This podcast, presented by BBC, has episodes from Altruism to Wittgenstein, philosophers, theories and key themes
Oxford University Open Podcasts: Philosophy
Collections of lectures on Philosophy.
The Panpsycast Philosophy Podcast
The Panpsycast aims to provide students and teachers with high-quality resources, whilst creating content that is appealing and accessible to the wider public.
Philosophy Bites
A rich, eclectic array of podcasts featuring interviews with experts.
Philosophy Talk
A public radio programme and podcast that invites listeners 'to think about things in new ways'.
PragerU
A nonprofit organization with free content that helps people of all ages think and live better.