Archives and Special Collections manages and maintains both archival (i.e. permanent or historical) and temporary university records. University employees may access the university’s historical records by contacting Archives and Special Collections by phone at 330-972-7670 or by email at archives@uakron.edu. University archival materials are non-circulating and must be used in the archives.
UA employees may request the return of their office’s temporary records by submitting a records request (see "Employee Records Request" below). They can also transfer records to archives for permanent or temporary retention in accordance with the UA Records Retention Schedule by completing a Records Transfer Form and following the established guidelines for transferring university records to the archives (see "Transfer of Records" section below).
Records Management of Archives and Special Collections also provides training to campus offices and can help determine records disposition. Employees who have questions regarding the management of university records should contact the University Records Manager at 330-972-8182 or hkempseverence@uakron.edu.
Requests by university employees for records stored at Archives and Special Collections can be submitted in-person, via telephone at 330-972-7670, or by e-mail at archives@uakron.edu. To ensure that our staff completes your request as quickly and accurately as possible, please provide as much information as you can about the records being requested. Archival records are non-circulating and must be viewed in the Archives and Special Collections Reading Room.
An office of origin may request temporary records (those records without archival value) returned to their office for temporary or permanent retention. Temporary records can either be sent through campus mail or may be picked up at Archives and Special Collections by appointment.
Archival records can be loaned to the office of origin in special circumstances, such as a display for an anniversary or other event, with the permission of the University Archivist and Head of Archives and Special Collections, S. Victor Fleischer. Please contact the University Archivist and Head of Archives and Special Collections for more information regarding loaning of archival material by phone at 330-972-6253 or email at svfleis@uakron.edu.
The following guidelines and form have been developed to assist university employees with the transfer of inactive university records to Archives and Special Collections and to ensure effective control of the inventory of those records.
The disposition of university records must follow existing requirements to ensure compliance with established guidelines set forth in the UA Records Retention Schedule. Disposition reports for records stored at Archives and Special Collections are generated by the University Records Manager, submitted to the office of origin, then to the Office of General Counsel, and returned to the University Records Manager and University Archivist for final approval.
For assistance with/approval of disposition for records stored in originating offices, please contact the University Records Manager at 330-972-8182 or hkempseverence@uakron.edu.
The following guidelines and sample report have been developed to explain the disposition process and ensure the proper life cycle of the university records stored by Archives and Special Collections:
The University Records Manager provides training and resources to the campus community regarding university records, both in physical and electronic formats, and can help determine records disposition.
Records Management Training is now available in Brightspace for all University employees! A training manual is also available that includes information about the University’s Records Management Program. For guidance on the naming of electronic files, please see the File Naming Conventions Guidelines for Electronic Records at The University of Akron, also available as Appendix E in the manual.
Please contact the University Records Manager at 330-972- 8182 or hkempseverence@uakron.edu for additional information or to schedule an in-person training session.