Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tutorials for Searching Government Data Sources
The following tutorials will assist you in searching government agency and organization websites. Keep in mind that most of the data gathered by these agencies is available in Statista and Data-Planet.
U.S. Government and other Agencies, Entities, and Organizations
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, also referred to as the Federal Reserve Board, is the main governing body of the Federal Reserve System. Its purpose is to oversee the Federal Reserve Banks and to assist in the implementation of the monetary policy of the U.S. The Federal Reserve Bank is the central bank of the United States. Its purpose is to provide the U.S. with a stable monetary and financial system. The Research division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis maintains a database called FRED that contains a vast archive of economic data that can be viewed in graphical and text form or downloaded for import to a database or spreadsheet, and viewed on mobile devices. Coverage includes banking, business/fiscal, consumer price indexes, employment and population, exchange rates, gross domestic product, interest rates, monetary aggregates, producer price indexes, reserves and monetary base, U.S. trade and international transactions.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
The BEA is an agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce that collects and provides economic data, including: Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and personal income data at the federal, state, and metropolitan area levels; consumer spending; and, quarterly and annual GDP by industry.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
The BLS is a department within the U.S. Department of Labor that gathers and disseminates data about employment and unemployment within the United States. Explore the subject area content within the site, or use the available data retrieval tools to create and download data sets.
Department of Commerce (United States)
The U.S. Department of Commerce (DOC) is the Cabinet department of the United States government concerned with promoting economic growth. The mission of the department is to "promote job creation and improved living standards for all Americans by creating an infrastructure that promotes economic growth, technological competitiveness, and sustainable development". Among its tasks are gathering economic and demographic data for business and government decision-making, issuing patents and trademarks, and helping to set industrial standards. The Department of Commerce headquarters is the Herbert C. Hoover Building in Washington, D.C.
Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
The ESA is an agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce (DOC) that analyzes, disseminates, and reports in a timely manner on national economic and demographic data and indicators. It oversees the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA).
Energy Information Administration (EIA)
As an agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System and a part of the U.S. Department of Energy, the EIA collects, analyzes, and disseminates energy information to promote sound energy policy and efficient energy markets. It also works to promote public understanding of how energy, the economy and the environment interact. EIA data includes information on coal, petroleum, natural gas, electric, renewable and nuclear energy.
Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS)
Harvard University's IQSS is home to the Dataverse Network Project, a software framework that enables the hosting of research data repositories. It provides a preservation and archival infrastructure, and allows researchers to share, keep control of, and get recognition for their data through an easy to access web browser interface.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The ICPSR gathers, maintains, and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. It also offers training in the use of quantitative methods to researchers, and provides direct assistance to researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.
This government website provides data on population, economics, housing, ethnicity, etc.
International/Global Agencies, Entities, and Organizations
Eurostat is the agency within the European Union charged with providing statistical information for the continent of Europe. It is also charged with ensuring that member countries use use appropriate methods to track and report statistics.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF is a specialized agency of the United Nations that consists of 188 member nations. It has its own charter, governing structure, and finances. The IMF provides policy advice and financing to members experiencing economic difficulties, and works with developing nations to help them achieve macroeconomic stability and reduce poverty.
The IMF seeks to promote a stable international monetary system so that member nations can achieve high rates of employment, low inflation, and sustainable economic growth. The IMF does this through the oversight, monitoring, and analysis of member nation economic policies.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
The OECD is an international organization that promotes policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world. The OECD provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems, especially those relating to economic, social and environmental change.
The OECD measures productivity and global flows of trade and investment, and analyzes data to predict future trends. It sets international standards on a wide range of activities and issues, from agriculture and tax to the safety of chemicals. The organization also looks at numerous issues that affect the daily life of people of various nations.
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
UNCTAD is the United Nations body that deals with trade, investment, and development issues for developing nations. UNCTAD's analyses are intended to help those nations make informed decisions about macroeconomic policies, with the goal of global economic inequalities and generating sustainable development.
UNCTAD is a platform from which representatives of all countries engage in dialogue about ways to establish a better balance in the global economy. It also provides technical assistance to developing countries and countries with economies in transition, in order to help those countries integrate themselves into the global economy and improve the well-being of their populations.
The World Bank is a United Nations financial institution that was created at the end of World War II to help finance/fund reconstruction efforts. The Bank has evolved into an international organization whose purpose is to fight poverty and increase prosperity in middle and poor-income countries, by providing loans, advice, and training in both the private and public sectors. Its World Development Indicators is the most current and accurate global development data available.