Refer to these links for sound advice on the most effective way to read a scholarly article and conduct a thorough literature review!
Begin your exploration of the economic research literature with Econlit, the major economics research dababase, but becasue econometrics can be applied to a broad range of topics you will likely need to use some of the other databases listed below, depending upon the full nature of your research question.
For instance, if your question includes a sociological component you will need to search Sociological Collection or SocIndex with Full Text. If your research question pertains to education you will search one or more of the education databases listed. With the EJC and JSTOR simply select the subject areas you wish to explore.
NOTE: Use the reports and articles you find in databases to discover previous research and to trace the data used in those studies back to its original source. Search the sources listed under the "Data Sources: U.S." and "Data Source: Global" tabs to locate and extract secondary data.
This expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) contains bibliographic citations from journals, books and dissertations covering economics-related literature in both economic theory and application.
The most comprehensive scholarly business database with a large percentage of full-text material from journals, conference proceedings, investment research, industry, market research, and country reports, SWOT analyses and more.
A full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from thousands of academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies, and university presses. Covers a wide range of disciplines and contains scientific research as well as historical journal articles.
A digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as literary journals, academic monographs, and a wide variety of primary sources including Historical Collections from UA
Provides indexing and substantial abstracts for books, book chapters, scholarly journal articles, government reports, and dissertations related to the field of criminal justice.
Indexes core international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in education. Good resource to begin research in education.
Bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Good resource to begin research in education.
Access to scholarly journals, education reports, and theses and dissertations on education topics. Good resource to supplement education research.
Index to full text journal articles in the medical disciplines.
Important: Access ends August 31st, 2025. Will still have access to over 80 other EBSCO databases. Full text as well as abstracts and references to journal articles, reference books, and conference papers.
Key resource for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Includes full-text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Important: Access ends August 31st, 2025. Will still have access to over 80 other EBSCO databases. This index is useful for discovering articles relating to public policy issues, including public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, international conflict, and natural disasters. The content indexed includes scholarly journals, conference papers, and government documents.
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study.
Provides comprehensive coverage in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Comprehensive research tool for all areas of sports, sports management, and sports medicine literature.