Skip to Main Content

Research Methodology (Computer Science)

Examples of Records in Different Databases

The same topic search was performed in IEEE Xplore, ACM Digital Library, and Computers & Applied Sciences Complete. Three articles were chosen from the search results. Not every article was found in every database and the subject terms differ for each database. The example illustrates that you must search more than one database due to these differences.

In this case, the abstracts are the same; however, it is possible that the abstract could vary as well. This affects keyword and subject searches among databases too.

Ex. 1

K.-M. Yu, and C.-K. Chen, "Evolution-Based Dynamic Scheduling Algorithm in Grid Computing Environment," in 8th Int. Conf. on Intelligent Systems Design and Applications, Kaohsiung, Taiwan, 2008, pp. 450-455.

This list provides the results of where the article was found

  1. ACM Digital Library

    Not found

  2. Computers & Applied Sciences Complete

    Not found

  3. IEEE Xplore

    ABSTRACT

    Grid computing can integrate computational resources from different networks or regional areas into a high performance computational platform and be used to solve complex...from IEEE Xplore

    SUBJECT TERMS

    INSPEC: CONTROLLED INDEXING
    genetic algorithms
    grid computing
    scheduling
    AUTHOR KEYWORDS
    Genetic algorithm
    grid computing
    heterogeneous
    scheduling algorithm
    INSPEC: NON CONTROLLED INDEXING
    complex computing-intensive problems
    evolution-based dynamic scheduling algorithm
    genetic algorithm
    grid computing environment
    high performance computational platform
    search technique
    IEEE TERMS
    Computational modeling
    Computer networks
    Dynamic scheduling
    Genetic algorithms
    Genetic mutations
    Grid computing
    Heuristic algorithms
    High performance computing
    Processor scheduling
    Scheduling algorithm

Ex. 2

K. J. Naik, A. Jagan, and N. S. Satya, "A novel approach for job scheduling and load balancing in grid computing environment.," Annals. Comp. Sci. Series, vol. 13, no. 2, pp. 55-64, 2015.

This list provides the results of where the article was found

  1. IEEE Xplore

    Not found

  2. ACM Digital Library

    Not found

  3. Computers & Applied Sciences Complete

    ABSTRACT

    Since the grid is emerging all over the internet, there comes a need for optimal job scheduling and load balancing approaches that takes various characteristics...from Computers & Applied Sciences

    SUBJECT TERMS

    Subject Terms
    Production scheduling
    Load balancing (Computer networks)
    Computational grids (Computer systems)
    Computer algorithms
    Computational complexity
    JAVA (Computer program language)
    Author-Supplied Keywords
    Completion time
    Computing Grid
    Fault Handler
    Job Scheduling
    Load Balancing
    Resubmission time

Ex. 3

J. Qiu, "Generalizing mapreduce as a unified cloud and HPC runtime," in Proc. 2nd Int. Workshop Petascal Data Analytics, Seattle, 2011, pp. 37-38.

This list provides the results of where the article was found

  1. IEEE Xplore

    Not found

  2. Computers & Applied Sciences Complete

    Not found

  3. ACM Digital Library

    ABSTRACT

    Computational simulation and analysis were one of the keys to the future in data-intensive science as a "fourth paradigm" of scientific discovery but facing a major challenge …...from ACM Digital Library

    INDEX TERMS
    Computing methodologies
    Parallel computing methodologies
    Distributed computing methodologies
    Distributed programming languages
    General programming languages
    Language types
    Software and its engineering
    Software notation and tools