LibGuides: Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice: Articles, Databases & Journals

Top Nurse Anesthesia Resources

Access Anesthesiology This link opens in a new window A new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content optimized for viewing on any device.

Brief Overview of AccessAnesthesiology [Video], 13.39 min.

PubMed@UA This link opens in a new window Note: Use this link to access not only open access articles but University Library paid resources as well.A free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is the world's premiere database of biomedical literature. Its topics include basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and more.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Comprehensive source for full text nursing and allied health journal literature.
Ovid Nursing & Health Profession Journals This link opens in a new window Includes access to Emcare database. Premium nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education.
Cochrane Library Online This link opens in a new window Leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. Contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Resources Statements and practice parameters from ASA.
ECRI Guidelines (Requires free registration) Clinical practice guideline repository. Must register for free account to access guidelines.

Related Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary source for scholarly, popular, professional, and news publications. This is a good place to start many searches or to gather material from various disciplines at once.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Key resource for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window Searchable interface to select APA databases and publications (PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycEXTRA, & PsycTESTS).
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window Index to published measurement instruments in health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Trip This link opens in a new window TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice) is a UK-based clinical search tool that allows searching many EBM resources simultaneously.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Index to full text journal articles in the medical disciplines.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary resource covering a wide variety of subjects and resource-types. Includes journal articles, reference books, primary documents, and images.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study.
PTSDpubs Database This link opens in a new window This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window Complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals.
SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window New users must register for a SciFinder-n account.Chemical information primarily from Chemical Abstracts, CAS registry, and Medline. Excellent search tool for finding chemical information from journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Training for SciFinder-n is available from the vendor

Gray Literature

Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library (VHINL) Database Includes the Registry of Nursing Research sponsored by Sigma Theta Tau International, the International Honor Society of Nursing.
medRxiv (preprints, NOTE: not peer-reviewed) "medRxiv (pronounced “med-archive”) is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information."
bioRxiv (preprints, NOTE: not peer-reviewed) bioRxiv (pronounced “bio-archive”) is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

Gray literature are documents that are "not readily available through regular market channels because it was never commercially published/listed or was not widely distributed."

Examples of gray literature include "reports, preprints, internal documents (memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, etc.), theses and dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications and standards, trade literature, etc."

Source: Reitz, J. M. (2014). Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science. Retrieved from https://www.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_g.aspx#grayliterature

Links of Interest

Education

OpenAnesthesia A "free online access to comprehensive, high-quality, peer-reviewed educational content on various anesthesiology, critical care, and perioperative medicine topics. Our site features podcast interviews with experts from anesthesiology and related fields, new in-depth articles on key concepts, vodcasts covering a wide range of subspecialty topics, and many more valuable resources for trainees and physicians."
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) Newsletter The official journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation.
Anesthesia Closed Claims Project, University of Washington

Professional Organizations

American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA) "The AANA promulgates education and practice standards and guidelines, and affords consultation to both private and governmental entities regarding nurse anesthetists and their practice."
National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists The National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA) promotes "patient safety by enhancing provider quality in the field of nurse anesthesia.
Ohio State Association of Nurse Anesthetists (OSANA)

Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice

Get Help!

Quick Links

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Your Librarian

Top Nurse Anesthesia Resources

Related Databases

Gray Literature

Links of Interest