It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World War II : a short history by Michael J. LyonsHighly regarded for its concise clarification of the complexities of World War II, this book illuminates the origins, course, and long-range effects of the war. It provides a balanced account that analyzes both the European and Pacific theaters of operations and the connections between them. The Fifth Edition incorporates new material based on the latest scholarship, offering updated conclusions on key topics and expanded coverage throughout.
Call Number: D743 .L96 2010
E & F: American History & Western Hemisphere
A Concise History of U. S. Foreign Policy (ebook) by Joyce P. KaufmanNow in a fully updated edition that goes through the Trump administration and the election and formative period of the Biden administration, this compact and accessible introduction offers a historical perspective on the evolution of U.S. foreign policy from the founding of the country to the present.
Daniel Webster: Defender of Peace (ebook) by Donald A. Rakestraw; Joseph A. Fry (Series eds.)Donald A. Rakestraw focuses on Webster's critical diplomatic efforts--efforts that produced a legacy that ranges from the delineation of America's northeastern boundary with Canada to the prevention of a serious rupture with Britain; from the advancement of national commercial expansion in the Pacific and East Asia to the establishment of a long-lived model for U.S. extradition policy; from his successful intervention on behalf of the so-called "Santa Fe prisoners" in Mexico to his role in promoting a crucial Anglo-American rapprochement.
La Isla de la Fantasia by Ed MoralesUn recuento crucial y preciso de los 122 anos de Puerto Rico como colonia de los EE. UU. A dos años del huracán María, Puerto Rico aún sigue recuperándose de la destrucción física de la tormenta y el colapso de la infraestructura resultante. La devastación agravó los efectos dañinos de más de un siglo causados por la explotación de Estados Unidos con sus políticas económicas, sociales y de asuntos políticos, incluido el trauma infligido por su crisis de deuda de 72 mil millones de dólares. En La isla de la fantasía, el periodista Ed Morales describe cómo, a lo largo de los años, Puerto Rico ha servido como un satélite colonial, una vitrina de la Guerra Fría del Caribe, un vertedero de productos manufacturados en Estados Unidos y un refugio fiscal corporativo. Emprendiendo al lector en un viaje ida y vuelta de San Juan a la ciudad de Nueva York, La isla de la fantasía es un relato crucial y claro de los 122 años de Puerto Rico como colonia de los Estados Unidos.
Call Number: F1976.4 .M68 2019b
Minor Feelings: an Asian American reckoning by Cathy Park Hong[Hong] brings together memoiristic personal essay and reflection, historical accounts and modern reporting, and other works of art and writing, in order to amplify a multitude of voices and capture Asian America as a collection of contradictions. She does so with sharp wit and radical transparency."--Salon
Call Number: E184.A75 H64 2020
The United States and China (ebook) by Dong WangNow fully revised and updated, The United States and China offers a comprehensive synthesis of US-Chinese relations from initial contact to the present. Balancing the modern (1784-1949) and contemporary (1949-present) periods, Dong Wang retraces centuries of interaction between two of the world's great powers from the perspective of both sides. She examines state-to-state diplomacy, as well as economic, social, military, religious, and cultural interplay within varying national and international contexts. As China itself continues to grow in global importance, so too does the US-Chinese relationship, and this book provides an essential grounding for understanding its past, present, and possible futures.
Unworthy Republic: the dispossession of Native Americans and the road to Indian territory by Claudio SauntIn May 1830, the United States launched an unprecedented campaign to expel 80,000 Native Americans from their eastern homelands to territories west of the Mississippi River. In a firestorm of fraud and violence, thousands of Native Americans lost their lives, and thousands more lost their farms and possessions. The operation soon devolved into an unofficial policy of extermination, enabled by US officials, southern planters, and northern speculators. Hailed for its searing insight, Unworthy Republic transforms our understanding of this pivotal period in American history.
Call Number: E98.R4 S38 2020
G: Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
H: Social Sciences: Business, Economics, Sociology
Binge and Bingeability: the antecedents and consequences of binge watching behavior (ebook) by Arienne FerchaudBinge and Bingeability: The Antecedents and Consequences of Binge Watching Behavior examines how the television industry has transformed over time to create the circumstances in which binge watching as a mass behavior can emerge, and what role audiences have played in the rising prevalence of this behavior. Arienne Ferchaud, recognizing that this behavior did not spring, fully formed, from streaming services, ties cultural approaches to binge watching with media psychology-oriented theories, including the concept of "bingeability"--the likelihood that a specific sow will be binge watched--alongside the psychological impacts binge watching may have on viewers over time. Scholars of media studies, television studies, sociology, cultural studies, and psychology will find this book particularly useful.
Mom Brain by Ilyse Dobrow DiMarcoHave you had a "mom brain" moment? Your heart is racing, your palms are sweaty, and your mind is spinning with anxiety, self-doubt, and whether or not you remembered to pack the diaper cream. Becoming a mother is a joyful rite of passage, but it can also be overwhelming--physically and emotionally. How can you calm the worries, quiet the guilt, and be present with yourself and your kids? Psychologist and mom Ilyse Dobrow DiMarco specializes in the myriad issues that women with young children struggle with. In this compassionate guide, she shares science-based strategies to help you cope with common challenges and make peace with your transformed identity.
Political Communication Ethics: Theory and Practice (ebook) by Peter Loge (Editor)Political Communication Ethics: Theory and Practice brings together scholars and practitioners to introduce students to what, if any, ethical responsibilities political professionals have. Chapter authors range from a Trump advisor to an Obama appointee, from leading academics to top digital strategists, and more. As a collection of diverse perspectives covering speechwriting and political communication, advocacy, political campaigns, online politics, and American civil religion, this book serves as an essential resource for students and scholars across many disciplines.
Redistricting: the most political activity in America (ebook) by Charles S. BullockThis authoritative overview of election redistricting at the congressional, state legislative, and local level provides an overview of redistricting for students and practitioners. The updated second edition pays special attention to the significant redistricting controversies of the last decade, from the Supreme Court to state courts.
A User's Guide to Democracy: how America works by Nick Capodice; Tom Toro (Illustrator); Hannah McCarthyWithin this book are the keys to knowing what you're talking about when you argue politics with the uncle you only see at Thanksgiving. It's the book that sits on your desk for quick reference when the nightly news boggles your mind. This approachable and informative guide gives you the lowdown on everything from the three branches of government, to what you can actually do to make your vote count, to how our founding documents practically affect our daily lives. Because it's finally time to understand who does what, how they do it, and the best way to get them to listen to you.
Call Number: JK1726 .C367 2020
Classroom Assessment: what teachers need to know by W. James PophamDevelop and use well-written tests, master the essentials of educational assessment, and improve instruction and learning. Written with both clarity and wit, Classroom Assessment shows pre- and in-service teachers how to use classroom testing accurately and formatively to dramatically increase your teaching effectiveness and make a difference in how well students learn.
Call Number: LB3051 .P6142 2020
Painless Grammar by Rebecca ElliottWhether you're a student or an adult looking to refresh your knowledge, Barron's Painless Grammar provides review and practice in an easy, step-by-step format.
Barron's Science 360: a Complete Study Guide to Chemistry with Online Practice by Mark Kernion; Joseph A. MascettaBarron's Science 360: Chemistry is your complete go-to guide for everything chemistry This comprehensive guide is an essential resource for: High school and college courses Homeschooling Virtual Learning Learning pods Inside you'll find: Comprehensive Content Review: Begin your study with the basic building block of chemistry and build as you go. Topics include, atomic structure, chemical formulas, electrochemistry, the basics of organic chemistry, and much more. Effective Organization: Topic organization and simple lesson formats break down the subject matter into manageable learning modules that help guide a successful study plan customized to your needs. Clear Examples and Illustrations: Easy-to-follow explanations, hundreds of helpful illustrations, and numerous step-by-step examples make this book ideal for self-study and rapid learning. Practice Exercises: Each chapter ends with practice exercises designed to reinforce and extend key skills and concepts. These checkup exercises, along with the answers and solutions, will help you assess your understanding and monitor your progress. Access to Online Practice: Take your learning online for 50 practice questions designed to test your knowledge with automated scoring to show you how far you have come.
On Animals by Susan OrleanEqual parts delightful and profound, enriched by Orlean's stylish prose and precise research, these stories celebrate the meaningful cross-species connections that grace our collective existence.
Call Number: QL85 .O75 2021
Painless Algebra by Lynette LongWhether you're a student or an adult looking to refresh your knowledge, Barron's Painless Algebra provides review and practice in an easy, step-by-step format.
Call Number: QA152.3 .L66 2020
Painless Geometry by Lynette LongWhether you're a student or an adult looking to refresh your knowledge, Barron's Painless Geometry provides review and practice in an easy, step-by-step format.
Call Number: QA445.5 .L66 2020
Painless Pre-Algebra by Amy StahlWhether you're a student or an adult looking to refresh your knowledge, Barron's Painless Pre-Algebra provides review and practice in an easy, step-by-step format. Perfect for: Virtual Learning Homeschool Learning pods Inside you'll find: Clear examples for all topics, including exponents and scientific notation, graphing, linear equations, functions, and much more Diagrams, charts, and instructive math illustrations Painless tips, common pitfalls, and math talk boxes that translate complex "math speak" into easy-to-understand language Brain Tickler quizzes throughout each chapter to test your progress
Call Number: QA107.2 .S73 2021
R: Medicine, Nursing
Communication in Nursing by Julia Balzer RileyImmerse yourself in the ideas, theories, and techniques of effective communication in the workplace! Communication in Nursing, 9th Edition adopts a uniquely practical and personal approach to the demands of today's nursing practice, providing extensive examples, exercises, and techniques that help you to apply communication skills in a variety of clinical settings.
Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you! Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).