E-book
E-book
Book
Book
E-book
Streaming audio
That Bird Has My Wings: the autobiography of an innocent man on death row (streaming audio) by
That Bird Has My Wings is the astounding memoir of death row inmate Jarvis Masters and a testament to the tenacity of the human spirit and the talent of a fine writer. Offering scenes from his life that are at times poignant, revelatory, frightening, soul-stirring, painful, funny, and uplifting, That Bird Has My Wings tells the story of the author's childhood with parents addicted to heroin, an abusive foster family, a life of crime and imprisonment, and the eventual embracing of Buddhism.
Visual Thinking: the hidden gifts of people who think in pictures, patterns, and abstractions (streaming audio) by
Do you have a keen sense of direction, a love of puzzles, the ability to assemble furniture without crying? You are likely a visual thinker. With her genius for demystifying science, Grandin draws on cutting-edge research to take us inside visual thinking. Visual thinkers constitute a far greater proportion of the population than previously believed, she reveals, and a more varied one, from the photo-realistic object visualizers like Grandin herself, with their intuitive knack for design and problem solving, to the abstract, mathematically inclined "visual spatial" thinkers who excel in pattern recognition and systemic thinking. She also makes us understand how a world increasingly geared to the verbal tends to sideline visual thinkers, screening them out at school and passing over them in the workplace. Rather than continuing to waste their singular gifts, driving a collective loss in productivity and innovation, Grandin proposes new approaches to educating, parenting, employing, and collaborating with visual thinkers. In a highly competitive world, this important book helps us see, we need every mind on board.
South to America: a journey below the Mason-Dixon to understand the soul of a nation by
With uncommon insight and breathtaking clarity, South to America offers an assertion that if we want to build a more humane future for the United States, we must center our concern below the Mason-Dixon Line.
Rickey by
Few names in the history of baseball evoke the excellence and dynamism that Rickey Henderson's does. He holds the record for the most stolen bases in a single game, and he's scored more runs than any player ever. "If you cut Rickey Henderson in half, you'd have two Hall of Famers," the baseball historian Bill James once said. But perhaps even more than his prowess on the field, Rickey Henderson's is a story of Oakland, California, the town that gave rise to so many legendary athletes like him. And it's a story of a sea change in sports, when athletes gained celebrity status and Black players finally earned equitable salaries. Henderson embraced this shift with his trademark style, playing for nine different teams throughout his decades-long career and sculpting a brash, larger-than-life persona that stole the nation's heart.
American Demon: Eliot Ness and the hunt for America's Jack the Ripper by
Award-winning author Daniel Stashower shines a fresh light on one of the most notorious puzzles in the annals of crime, and uncovers the gripping story of Ness's hunt for a sadistic killer who was as brilliant as he was cool and composed, a mastermind who was able to hide in plain sight. American Demon reconstructs this ultimate battle of wits between a hero and a madman.
Crime in the United States 2022 by
Crime in the United States contains findings from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the offenses known to law enforcement. This reference is the most comprehensive official compilation of crime statistics in the United States and is an important addition to your library's collection. While the FBI no longer prints these findings, Bernan Press continues to provide this practical information in convenient book form. In this intricately detailed source, legal and law enforcement professionals, researchers, and those who are just curious will find violent and property crime statistics for the nation as well as for regions, states, counties, cities, towns, and even college and university campuses.
Handbook of U. S. Labor Statistics 2022 by
The Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics is recognized as an authoritative resource on the U.S. labor force. It continues and enhances the Bureau of Labor Statistics's (BLS) discontinued publication, Labor Statistics. It allows the user to understand recent developments as well as to compare today's economy with past history. This edition includes several new tables throughout the book examining the extensive role that coronavirus (COVID-19) had on the labor market throughout 2020. It includes topics such as high unemployment, the rise of telework, vaccine incentives, and hazard pay. This edition also includes a chapter on prices and employment projections through 2030. The Handbook is a comprehensive reference providing an abundance of information on a variety of topics. In addition to providing statistics on employment, unemployment, and prices, it includes information on topics such as: -Earnings; -Productivity; -Consumer expenditures; -Occupational safety and health; -Union membership; -Working poor -Recent trends in the labor force -And much more! Features of the publication: In addition to over 215 tables that present practical data, the Handbook provides: -Introductory material for each chapter that contains highlights of salient data and figures that call attention to noteworthy trends in the data -Notes and definitions, which contain concise descriptions of the data sources, concepts, definitions, and methodology from which the data are derived -References to more comprehensive reports which provide additional data and more extensive descriptions of estimation methods, sampling, and reliability measures
Homelessness in America: a reference handbook (ebook) by
This title provides a one-stop resource for understanding the crisis of homelessness in the United States. It covers risk factors for homelessness, societal attitudes about the homeless, and public and private resources designed to prevent homelessness and help those in need.
In Cold Blood: a true account of a multiple murder and its consequences (streaming audio) by
The most famous true crime novel of all time "chills the blood and exercises the intelligence" (The New York Review of Books)--and haunted its author long after he finished writing it.
The New Map: energy, climate, and the clash of nations by
Daniel Yergin offers a revelatory new account of how energy revolutions, climate battles, and geopolitics are mapping our future.
Patterns of Economic Change by State and Area 2022 by
Patterns of Economic Change by State and Area: Income, Employment, and Gross Domestic Product is a special edition of Business Statistics of the United States. It presents data on personal income, employment, and gross domestic product for the United States as a whole, and by region, state, and metropolitan statistical area (MSA).
Principles for Dealing with the Changing World Order by
In this remarkable and timely addition to his Principles series, Dalio brings readers along for his study of the major empires--including the Dutch, the British, and the American--putting into perspective the "Big Cycle" that has driven the successes and failures of all the world's major countries throughout history. He reveals the timeless and universal forces behind these shifts and uses them to look into the future, offering practical principles for positioning oneself for what's ahead.
Raising Generation Alpha Kids : teaching and raising young children in the 21st century (ebook) by
"Generation Alpha" applies to children born between 2011 and 2025. They will be raised in smaller and constantly evolving families, digital natives, more tech-savvy than previous generations, globally-connected, diverse, and will live and interact with many more generations. Because of these differences, the next generation and the nation is transforming in ways that adults have never experienced before. Valora Washington invites you to consider how to advocate for and influence the trajectories of this next generation. Raising Generation Alpha Kids looks at how this generation of young children presents new opportunities and challenges, and supports and informs the two principal groups of adults in children's lives--their families and early childhood educators.
The Truth about Crypto: your investing guide to understanding Blockchain, Bitcoin, and other digital assets by
This book is a must-read guide if you want to achieve investment success today.
Vital Statistics of the United States 2022 by
Vital Statistics of the United States: Births, Life Expectancy, Deaths, and Selected Health Data brings together a comprehensive collection of birth, mortality, health, and marriage and divorce data into a single volume. It provides a wealth of information compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics and other government agencies. Vital Statistics contains over 225 tables and is divided into four parts: Births, Mortality, Health, and Marriage and Divorce. Charts and graphs, available at applicable points in each chapter, illustrate some of the most vital trends in the data. In addition, updated definitions reflect the latest federal parameters for information about births, mortality, health, and marriages.
Article by Article: The Universal Declaration of Human Rights for a New Generation (ebook) by
With this new book, Morsink has now written a volume for a new generation of human rights students and activists, one that presents an article-by-article account of the formulation of each article in the UDHR. The author comments perceptively on how they have been argued, argued over, and used in a wide range of political discourses. Comprised of short essays on each of the Declaration's thirty articles, this book constitutes the most accessible and comprehensive approach to this document and explicates the UDHR's continued relevance in contemporary times. Throughout the book, Morsink explains how this 1948 iconic text can help us in the twenty-first century. He shows us the high moral ground we need to fight evils perpetuated during and after World War II that now present themselves in new garb and does so in a clear and concise manner.
Separate No More: the Long Road to Brown V. Board of Education (Scholastic Focus) by
In this thrilling examination of the path to Brown v. Board of Education, Constitutional law scholar Lawrence Goldstone highlights the key trials and players in the fight for integration. Written with a deft hand, this story of social justice will remind readers, young and old, of the momentousness of the segregation hearings.
Black Lives Matter at School: an uprising for educational justice (ebook) by
Black Lives Matter at School is an essential resource for all those seeking to build an antiracist school system."
This Is America: race, gender, and politics in America's musical landscape (ebook) by
Author Katie Rios argues that prominent American artists and musicians build encoded gestures of resistance into their works and challenge the status quo. These artists offer both an interpretation and a critique of what "This Is America" means.
Balladz by
"At the time of have-not, I look at myself in this mirror," writes Olds in this self-scouring, exhilarating volume, which opens with a section of quarantine poems, and at its center boasts what she calls Amherst Balladz (whose syntax honors Emily Dickinson: "she was our Girl - our Woman - / Man enough - for me") and many more in her own contemporary, long-flowing-sentence rhythm. Olds sings of her childhood, young womanhood, and maturity all mixed up together, seeing an early lover in the one who is about to buried; seeing her whiteness, seeing her privilege; seeing her mother (whom her readers will recognize) "flushed exalted at Punishment time"; seeing how we've spoiled the earth but carrying a stray indoor spider carefully back out to the garden. It is Olds's gift to us that in the richly detailed exposure of her sorrows she can still elegize songbirds, her true kin, and write that heaven comes here in life, not after it.
Dear America: notes of an undocumented citizen by
This book--at its core--is not about immigration at all. This book is about homelessness, not in a traditional sense, but in the unsettled, unmoored psychological state that undocumented immigrants like myself find ourselves in. This book is about lying and being forced to lie to get by; about passing as an American and as a contributing citizen; about families, keeping them together, and having to make new ones when you can't. This book is about constantly hiding from the government and, in the process, hiding from ourselves. This book is about what it means to not have a home. After 25 years of living illegally in a country that does not consider me one of its own, this book is the closest thing I have to freedom." --Jose Antonio Vargas,
Inciting joy: essays (streaming Audio) by
In these gorgeously written and timely pieces, prizewinning poet and author Ross Gay considers the joy we incite when we care for each other, especially during life's inevitable hardships.
The Man Who Could Move Clouds: a Memoir by
Interweaving family stories more enchanting than those in any novel, resurrected Colombian history, and her own deeply personal reckonings with the bounds of reality, Rojas Contreras writes her way through the incomprehensible and into her inheritance.
Master Harold and the Boys by
A compelling drama of South African apartheid and a universal coming-of-age story, from "the greatest active playwright in the English-speaking world" (Time). Originally produced in 1982, "Master Harold and the Boys" is now an acknowledged classic of the stage, whose themes of injustice, racism, friendship, and reconciliation traverse borders and time.
The Old Man Who Read Love Stories by
In a remote river town deep in the Ecuadoran jungle, Antonio José Bolívar seeks refuge in amorous novels. But tourists and opportunists are making inroads into the area, and the balance of nature is making a dangerous shift. Translated by Peter Bush.
The Rupture Tense by
Shaped around moments of puncture and release, The Rupture Tense registers what leaks across the breached borders between past and future, background and foreground, silence and utterance. In polyphonic and formally restless sequences, Jenny Xie cracks open reverberant, vexed experiences of diasporic homecoming, intergenerational memory transfer, state-enforced amnesia, public secrecies, and the psychic fallout of the Chinese Cultural Revolution. Across these poems, memory--historical, collective, personal--stains and erodes. Xie voices what remains irreducible in our complex entanglements with familial ties, language, capitalism, and the histories in which we find ourselves lodged. The Rupture Tense begins with poems provoked by the photography of Li Zhensheng, whose negatives, hidden under his floorboards to avoid government seizure, provide one of the few surviving visual archives of the Chinese Cultural Revolution, and concludes with an aching elegy for the poet's grandmother, who took her own life shortly after the end of the Revolution. This extraordinary collection records the aftershocks and long distances between those years and the present, echoing out toward the ongoing past and a trembling future.
Things Fall Apart by
With more than 20 million copies sold and translated into fifty-seven languages, Things Fall Apart provides one of the most illuminating and permanent monuments to African experience. Achebe does not only capture life in a pre-colonial African village, he conveys the tragedy of the loss of that world while broadening our understanding of our contemporary realities.
When Rain Clouds Gather by
In 'When Rain Clouds Gather' a South African political refugee and an Englishman join forces in Botswana to revolutionize the villager's traditional farming methods, but their task is fraught with hazards. 'Maru' is the moving tale of an orphaned Masarwa girl who goes to teach in a remote village in Botswana.
Writing the Annotated Bibliography by
This comprehensive and practical guide covers the elements, style, and use of annotated bibliographies in the research and writing process for any discipline; key disciplinary conventions; and tips for working with digital sources.