Ebook
Jehovah's Witnesses: A New Introduction by
This book introduces Jehovah's Witnesses without assuming prior knowledge of the Watch Tower organization.
At Home in Roman Egypt: a social archaeology by
What was life like for ordinary people who lived in Roman Egypt? In this volume, Anna Lucille Boozer reconstructs and examines the everyday lives of non-elite individuals. It is the first book to bring a 'life course' approach to the study of Roman Egypt and Egyptology more generally. Based on evidence drawn from objects, portraits, and letters, she focuses on the quotidian details that were most meaningful to those who lived during the centuries of Roman occupation. Boozer explores these individuals through each phase of the life cycle - from conception, childbirth, childhood, and youth, to adulthood and old age - and focuses on essential themes such as religion, health, disability, death, and the afterlife. Illuminating the lives of people forgotten by most historians, her richly illustrated volume also shows how ordinary people experienced and enacted social and cultural change.
Putin by
The first comprehensive, fully up-to-date biography of Vladimir Putin, woven into the tumultuous saga of Russia over the last sixty years.
The Light We Carry: overcoming in uncertain times by
Former First Lady Michelle Obama shares practical wisdom and powerful strategies for staying hopeful and balanced in today's highly uncertain world.
The great migration (ebook) by
The material is organized into three sections, each beginning with a brief introduction that examines the waves of African American migration in the United States through a variety of historical documents.
It Was Always a Choice: picking up the baton of athlete activism (ebook) by
The recent flashpoint of Colin Kaepernick taking a knee renews a long tradition of athlete-activists speaking out against racism, injustice, and oppression. Like Kaepernick, Jackie Robinson, Paul Robeson, Muhammad Ali, Bill Russell, Tommie Smith, and John Carlos--among many others, of all races, male and female, pro and amateur--all made the choice to take a side to command public awareness and attention rather than "shut up and play," as O. J. Simpson, Michael Jordan, and Tiger Woods did. Using their celebrity to demand change, these activists inspired fans but faced great personal and professional risks in doing so. It Was Always a Choice traces the history and impact of these decisive moments throughout the history of U.S. sports.
Defining Documents in American History: Domestic Terrorism (ebook) by
While there are many definitions of domestic terrorism, it is largely characterized as terrorism in which the perpetrator targets his/her own country. Also called homegrown terrorism, domestic terrorism is defined by the U.S. State Department as "premeditated, politically motivated violence perpetrated against noncombatant targets by subnational groups or clandestine agents, usually intended to influence an audience." The two largest categories of domestic terrorism (DT) or domestic violent extremism (DVE) are: racially or ethnically motivated violent extremism; and anti-government or anti-authority extremism.
Keywords for Gender and Sexuality Studies by
Introduces key terms, debates, and histories for feminist studies in gender and sexuality.
The Minds of Mass Killers (ebook) by
Written by a mental health therapist with thirty years of clinical experience in violence prevention, this book clarifies the realities of mass killings. Using research from forensic psychology, it provides a foundation for understanding the "pathway to violence" identified in the personal histories of many mass murderers. Drawing from criminology, neuroscience and developmental and social psychology, the author makes the case that we are all capable of creating a safer society.
Top Secret Resumes, Fourth Ed. (ebook) by
The industry standard for expert resumes is here! This newly-updated 4th edition of Top Secret Resumes includes a free resume review by author and CPRW Steven Provenzano.
The Wretched Atom: America's global gamble with peaceful nuclear technology by
A groundbreaking narrative of how the United States offered the promise of nuclear technology to the developing world and its gamble that other nations would use it for peaceful purposes.
Elections in America: a reference handbook by
Elections in America provides a thorough and objective explanation of American elections at the local, state, and national levels.
Inventing Equality: reconstructing the Constitution in the aftermath of the Civil War by
In Inventing Equality, Michael Bellesiles traces the evolution of the battle for true equality--the stories of those fighting forward, to expand the working definition of what it means to be an American citizen--from the Revolution through the late nineteenth century. He identifies the systemic flaws in the Constitution, and explores through the role of the Supreme Court and three Constitutional amendments--the 13th, 14th, and 15th--the ways in which equality and inequality waxed and waned over the decades.
Closing the Literacy Gap: accelerating the progress of underperforming students by
Packed with practical tools, this book provides K-6 educators with a research-based framework for accelerating the reading and writing growth of underperforming students.
Executive Function Skills in the Classroom: overcoming barriers, building strategies by
With insight and humor, this motivating guide shows how to bring executive functions (EF) to the forefront in K-8 classrooms--without adopting a new curriculum or scripted program. Ideal for professional development, the book includes flexible, practical, research-based ideas for implementation in a variety of classroom contexts.
Jim Trelease's Read-Aloud Handbook by
Since its first publication in 1982, millions of parents and educators have turned to Jim Trelease s beloved classic to help countless children become avid readers through awakening their imaginations and improving their language skills. This book discusses the benefits, the rewards, and the importance of reading aloud to children of a new generation.
Problem Solving with Young Children by
Help children find solutions and learn to problem solve using teachable moments.
Reading Assessment to Promote Equitable Learning by
Many standard reading assessment approaches fail to capture the strengths and needs of students from diverse sociocultural, linguistic, and academic backgrounds. From expert authors, this book guides educators in planning and conducting meaningful, equitable assessments that empower K-5 teachers and students, inform responsive instruction, and help to guard against bias.
Structured Literacy Interventions by
Comprehensive and evidence-based, Structured Literacy (SL) approaches place a high value on explicit, systematic, and sequential instruction. This book brings together leading experts on key components of literacy to help K-6 teachers design and target SL interventions for particular student profiles. Chapters identify effective features of instruction for supporting phonological awareness, basic and multisyllabic word decoding, spelling, reading fluency, vocabulary, oral and reading comprehension, and written expression, especially for at-risk readers and those with disabilities. Including case studies, sample intervention activities, lesson plans, and end-of-chapter application activities, the book contains several reproducible tools that can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size.
What We Value: public health, social justice, and educating for democracy by
In What We Value, acclaimed bioethicist and educator Lynn Pasquerella examines urgent issues--the trauma of the COVID-19 pandemic, the student debt crisis, and racially motivated violence--with which Americans wrestle daily, arguing that liberal education is the best preparation for work, citizenship, and life in a future none of us can predict.
The Jazz Standards by
An updated new edition of Ted Gioia's acclaimed compendium of jazz standards, featuring 15 additional selections, hundreds of additional recommended tracks, and enhancements and additions on almost every page.
Surrender by
NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER * Bono--artist, activist, and the lead singer of Irish rock band U2--has written a memoir: honest and irreverent, intimate and profound, Surrender is the story of the remarkable life he's lived, the challenges he's faced, and the friends and family who have shaped and sustained him.
The Town of Babylon by
In this contemporary debut novel--an intimate portrait of queer, racial, and class identity --Andrés, a gay Latinx professor, returns to his suburban hometown in the wake of his husband's infidelity. There he finds himself with no excuse not to attend his twenty-year high school reunion, and hesitantly begins to reconnect with people he used to call friends.
Chimpanzee Memoirs by
This book brings together a range of chimpanzee experts who tell powerful personal stories about their lives and careers. It features some of the world's preeminent primatologists--including Jane Goodall and Frans de Waal--as well as representatives of a new generation from varied backgrounds.
The Gut-Immune Connection by
From one of today's leading experts on the emerging science of the microbiome comes a ground-breaking book that offers, for the first time, evidence that the gut-microbiome plays a pivotal role in the health crises of the twenty-first century.
Science and Human Values (ebook) by
Science and Human Values was originally a lecture by Jacob Bronowski at MIT in 1953. Published five years later, it opens unforgettably with Bronowski's description of Nagasaki in 1945: 'a bare waste of ashes', making him acutely aware of science's power both for good and for evil. After such knowledge, what forgiveness? With care and erudition Bronowski argues that scientific endeavour is an essentially creative act, part of a great shared human interest in ourselves and the world around us; and, routinely, a process of trial-and-error, the end of which is not - cannot be - preordained. 'Above all, Bronowski strove to make science and technology answerable to social progress, to 'human values.' He anticipated the deepening gap between the 'two cultures' and knew that the sciences must be restored to a place in political common sense.' George Steiner
Basics of Child Neuropsychology: a primer for educators and clinicians by
Written expressly for non-neuropsychologists, this book offers a concise, friendly introduction to the developing brain and its functions. Stephen R. Hooper renders complex concepts accessible as he describes the structure of the brain and the workings of the nervous system. The book explains how findings from neuropsychological assessments can help educators and clinicians to better understand and remediate children's difficulties. A range of neurodevelopmental and medical conditions that affect learning and behavior from early childhood through adolescence are explored through a neuropsychological lens. Helpful features include key Take-Home Points distilled from the chapters and recommended print and online resources.
Calculate with Confidence by
Learn how to make accurate drug calculations and administer medications safely!
Community/Public Health Nursing by
Give your students a complete guide to community health nursing! Community/Public Health Nursing, 7th Edition provides a unique, upstream preventive focus and a strong social justice approach, all in a concise, easy-to-read text.
Defining Documents in World History: Plagues, Pandemics, and Public Health (ebook) by
Plagues and pandemics are a part of global history, from the biblical "plague of locusts" to today's COVID-19 pandemic. Dealing with unchecked diseases and disasters has given rise to great human suffering and loss of life, but it has also played a significant role in shaping our societies. Advances in public health, medicine, scientific research, and even the arts have often been inspired by or required of those who have survived. This two-volume set includes content on the Black Death , smallpox, the plague, malaria, typhoid, polio, SARS, AIDS, Covid-19 and others.
Sit up Straight: future-proof your body against chronic pain with 12 simple movements by
Futureproof your body and relieve chronic pain resulting from sitting, slouching, and other bad lifestyle habits with this easy-to-perform set of daily stretching and movement routines.
Rituals for Virtual Meetings (ebook) by
Do your virtual meetings feel like a drag? Learn how to use rituals to build trust, increase engagement, and spark creativity.