The gratitude project : how the science of thankfulness can rewire our brains for resilience, optimism, and the greater good by
In our fractured, "me-first" world, the science and practice of thankfulness could be just the antidote we need. Gratitude is powerful: not only does it feel good, it's also been proven to increase our well-being in myriad ways. The result of a multiyear collaboration between the Greater Good Science Center and Robert Emmons of the University of California, Davis, The Gratitude Project explores gratitude's deep roots in human psychology--how it evolved and how it affects our brain--as well as the transformative impact it has on creating a meaningful life and a better world.
A Monk's Guide to Happiness: Meditation in the 21st Century by
In our never-ending search for happiness we often find ourselves looking to external things for fulfillment, thinking that happiness can be unlocked by buying a bigger house, getting the next promotion, or building a perfect family. In this profound and inspiring book, Gelong Thubten shares a practical and sustainable approach to happiness. Thubten, a Buddhist monk and meditation expert who has worked with everyone from school kids to Silicon Valley entrepreneurs and Benedict Cumberbatch, explains how meditation and mindfulness can create a direct path to happiness. A Monk's Guide to Happiness explores the nature of happiness and helps bust the myth that our lives and minds are too busy for meditation.
Sunnis and Shi'a: a political history of discord (ebook) by
A compelling history of the ancient schism that continues to divide the Islamic world When Muhammad died in 632 without a male heir, Sunnis contended that the choice of a successor should fall to his closest companions, but Shi'a believed that God had inspired the Prophet to appoint his cousin and son-in-law, Ali, as leader. So began a schism that is nearly as old as Islam itself. Laurence Louër tells the story of this ancient rivalry, taking readers from the last days of Muhammad to the political and doctrinal clashes of Sunnis and Shi'a today. I
Trust Again: Overcoming Betrayal and Regaining Health, Confidence, and Happiness (ebook) by
Recovering from betrayal can be hard, but it can be done with grace, love, and dignity, using the tips and tools in this warm and engaging book on learning to trust again. You couldn't brace yourself because you never saw it coming. Your sense of safety and security is shattered in an instant, and the shock is imprinted on your body and mind. Your heart breaks, you feel like you got sucker punched, and the pain is so raw, consuming, and overwhelming you can barely breathe. Someone close to you, possibly a family member, partner, or friend, just pulled the rug out from underneath you--lies you so easily believed and actions you dismissed because it never crossed your mind that the one you trusted the most could ever hurt you. You thought this person had your back. You thought the two of you were honoring the same rules, sharing the same moral code, and respecting the same beliefs. This was a person you loved, trusted, and believed. This is what it feels like to be blindsided by betrayal.During times of betrayal, when we most need support, sometimes the ones we would turn to first are the betrayers. Other times, we're saddled with shame and fear. But it's during these times when we need to turn for help and learn to trust again. This work offers support, comfort, and community to those struggling with feelings associated with betrayal and guides them to healing from a painful experience with betrayal. Readers will learn about, and move through the proven five stages from betrayal to breakthrough, and will be lovingly guided with tools and strategies along the way. They'll also learn how predictable healing can be as they read not only Debi's journey through betrayal, but the stories of others who have learned to copy, heal, and move on from betrayal to a place of trust and well-being. Readers will identify with at least a few of the many people in the book who share their unique experiences. In addition, they'll learn about the three groups who didn't heal and be inspired to take a different course of action so that they can have a more positive outcome.
The Splendid and the Vile by
In The Splendid and the Vile, Erik Larson shows, in cinematic detail, how Churchill taught the British people "the art of being fearless." It is a story of political brinkmanship, but it's also an intimate domestic drama set against the backdrop of Churchill's prime-ministerial country home, Chequers; his wartime retreat, Ditchley, where he and his entourage go when the moon is brightest and the bombing threat is highest; and of course 10 Downing Street in London.
An American Family: a memoir of hope and sacrifice by
This inspiring memoir by the Muslim American Gold Star father and captivating DNC speaker is the story of one family's pursuit of the American dream.
Stay woke : a people's guide to making all Black lives matter (ebook) by
This book offers a clear vision of a racially just society, and shows just how far we still need to go to achieve this reality.
The Selfish Ape: human nature and our path to extinction (ebook) by
Weaving together stories of science and sociology, The Selfish Ape offers a refreshing response to common fantasies about the ascent of humanity. Rather than imagining modern humans as a species with godlike powers, or Homo deus, Nicholas P. Money recasts us as Homo narcissus--paragons of self-absorption. This exhilarating story offers an immense sweep of modern biology, leading readers from earth's unexceptional location in the cosmos to the story of our microbial origins and the innerworkings of the human body. It explores human genetics, reproduction, brain function, and aging, creating an enlightened view of man as a brilliantly inventive, yet self-destructive animal. The Selfish Ape is a book about human biology, the intertwined characteristics of our greatness and failure, and the way that we have plundered the biosphere. Written in a highly accessible style, it is a perfect read for those interested in science, human history, sociology, and the environment.
Agenda for Social Justice: solutions for 2020 by
The Agenda for Social Justice: Solutions for 2020 provides accessible insights into some of the most pressing social problems in the United States and proposes public policy responses to those problems.
Stereotypes: the incidence and impacts of bias (ebook) by
Provides an invaluable primer on how culturally accepted stereotypes are impacting people throughout the United States.
Susan B. Anthony: A Biography (ebook) by
This comprehensive biography of Susan B. Anthony traces the life of a feminist icon, bringing new depth to our understanding of her influence on the course of women's history. Beginning with her humble Quaker childhood in rural Massachusetts, taking readers through her late twenties when she left a secure teaching position to pursue activism, and ultimately tracing her evolution into a champion of women's rights, this book offers an in-depth look at the ways Anthony's life experiences shaped who she would become.
Careers in Public Administration by
For those interested in government and public policy, a career in public administration offers many varied career paths, including local government, public health and safety, education, city planning and the environment.
Brain-Based Learning: teaching the way students really learn by
Learn to teach like a pro and have fun, too! The more you know about your students' brains, the better you can be at your profession. Brain-based teaching boosts cognitive functioning and graduation rates, decreases discipline issues, and fosters the joy of learning. This innovative, new edition of the bestselling Brain-Based Learning by Eric Jensen and master teacher Liesl McConchie provides an up-to-date, evidence-based approach that reveals how the brain learns best. Based on neuroscience, biology and psychology research, it includes: Insights about the impact of relationships, senses, movement, and emotions on learning Strategies for creating high-quality learning environments Tools for motivating struggling students
Careers Working with Infants & Children by
Provides detailed and need-to-know information on various careers available to individuals who are passionate about working with children, whether in direct care positions, as an advocate, or as an educator.
The SAGE Handbook of Autism and Education (ebook) by
Education is an important aspect of the environmental influences on autism and effective education can have a significant effect on outcome for those on the autism spectrum. This handbook is a definitive resource for reflective practitioners and researchers who wish to know and understand current views of the nature of autism and best practice in educational support. It explores the key concepts, debates and research areas in the field.
On Writing by
Immensely helpful and illuminating to any aspiring writer, this special edition of Stephen King's critically lauded, million-copy bestseller shares the experiences, habits, and convictions that have shaped him and his work.
Square Haunting by
An engrossing group portrait of five women writers, including Virginia Woolf, who moved to London's Mecklenburgh Square in search of new freedom in their lives and work.
Cultured by
In Cultured, Katherine Harmon Courage investigated the essential role our gut-or as we now know it's more accurately called, the microbiome-plays in our overall health and well-being. Through our efforts to keep our bodies and living environments clean and disinfected, we are actually wiping out the essential microbes we need to maintain our immunity. Fortunately, simple dietary changes may be all we need to right the ecology of our microbiome. By examining digestive health through a foodie's lens-looking to other cultures and their gut-friendly food traditions, from kimchi to kefir, and teaching us the differences between probiotic and prebiotic foods-Courage is able to break down the complex science behind digestive health to make it accessible for all readers. Highly informative yet accessible and practical, Cultured is the resource readers need in order to learn what they can and should be doing to cultivate the essential microbes they need to live healthier, happier lives.
Outsmarting AI: Power, Profit, and Leadership in the Age of Machines (ebook) by
Artificial Intelligence is no longer a science fiction daydream, but an inevitable future technology that will affect our lives in and out of the workplace. Brennan Pursell and Joshua Walker separate the myths from the facts about adapting AI to boost bottom lines no matter the type of business.
Principles of Anatomy by
This edition includes 172 entries arranged in A to Z order to help make finding a topic of interest easy. Entries related to basic principles and concepts include Fields of Study related to the topic; an Abstract that provides a brief, concrete summary of the topic; Key Concepts important to a proper understanding of the topic; a detailed Essay that gives an explanation of the background and significance; and Further Reading lists that relate to each entry.
Principles of Health: Obesity by
Discusses important topics in the fields of obesity, nutrition and weight management.
How Charts Lie: getting smarter about visual information by
How Charts Lie examines contemporary examples ranging from election result infographics to global GDP maps and box office record charts, demystifying an essential new literacy for our data-driven world.
Kill Reply All: A Modern Guide to Etiquette, from Social Media to Work to Love by
Victoria Turk provides an indispensable guide to minding our manners in a brave new online world, and making peace with the platforms, apps, and devices we love to hate.