Skip to Main Content
B: Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Ethics
C & D: World History
Soldier in the Sand: A Personal History of the Modern Middle East (ebook) by Simon Mayall
As well as analyzing its history and religions, which strongly influence people's actions, attitudes and relationships, the author draws on his own experiences and impressions based on his many years spent in key military and diplomatic appointments in numerous countries. In addition to knowing many of the key players personally, he has studied, at leading universities, British policy and engagement in the area and he understands the effects of this long-term engagement. This invaluable book's unique mixture of history, politics, academic study and first-hand experience affords the reader an invaluable insight into a fascinating, fractured and frustrating area of the world. General Mayall explains complex situations in a thoroughly accessible and human manner. This will come as no surprise to those who have listened to his lectures worldwide, but this important and entertaining book now brings his knowledge and commonsense approach to a far wider audience.
E & F: American History & Western Hemisphere
The 1960s Cultural Revolution: A Reference Guide by John C. McWilliams
The 1960s Cultural Revolution is a highly readable and valuable resource revisiting personalities and events that sparked the cultural revolutions that have become synonymous with the 1960s. The 1960s Cultural Revolution: A Reference Guide is an engagingly written book that considers the forces that shaped the 1960s and made it the unique era that it was. An introductory historical overview provides context and puts the decade in perspective. With a focus on social and cultural history, subsequent chapters focus on the New Left, the antiwar movement, the counterculture, and 1968, a year that stands alone in American history. The book also includes a wealth of reference material, a comprehensive timeline of events, biographical profiles of key players, primary documents that enhance the significance of the social, political, and cultural climate, a glossary of key terms, and a carefully selected annotated bibliography of print and nonprint sources for further study. Offers an accessible overview of the 1960s cultural revolution that uniquely brings together narrative, biographies, primary source materials, and analysis Shares a new perspective on an era that is part of the core curriculum of U.S. history Provides context essential to appreciating the interests, ideas, and individuals responsible for shaping the cultural revolution of the 1960s Acts as a research guide for high school and undergraduate students Includes an annotated bibliography of print and online primary and secondary sources to encourage further study
Making All Black Lives Matter: reimagining freedom in the twenty-first century (ebook) by Barbara Ransby
In Making All Black Lives Matter, award-winning historian and longtime activist Barbara Ransby outlines the scope and genealogy of this movement, documenting its roots in Black feminist politics and situating it squarely in a Black radical tradition, one that is anticapitalist, internationalist, and focused on some of the most marginalized members of the Black community. From the perspective of a participant-observer, Ransby maps the movement, profiles many of its lesser-known leaders, measures its impact, outlines its challenges, and looks toward its future.
G: Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
H: Social Sciences, Business, Economics, Sociology
Do Right by Me: learning to raise Black children in White spaces (ebook) by Valerie I. Harrison; Kathryn Peach D'Angelo
Through lively and intimate back-and-forth exchanges, the authors share information, research, and resources that orient parents and other community members to the ways race and racism will affect a black child's life--and despite that, how to raise and nurture healthy and happy children. These friendly dialogues about guarding a child's confidence and nurturing positive racial identity form the basis for Do Right by Me. Harrison and D'Angelo share information on transracial adoption, understanding racism, developing a child's positive racial identity, racial disparities in healthcare and education, and the violence of racism. Do Right by Me also is a story about friendship and kindness, and how both can be effective in the fight for a more just and equitable society.
Stigma : the machinery of inequality (ebook) by Imogen Tyler
Through an original social and economic reframing of the history of stigma, Tyler reveals stigma as a political practice, illuminating previously forgotten histories of resistance against stigmatization, boldly arguing that these histories provide invaluable insights for understanding the rise of authoritarian forms of government today.
This Is Your Brain on Birth Control: the surprising science of women, hormones, and the law of unintended consequences (ebook) by Sarah Hill
An eye-opening book that reveals crucial information every woman taking hormonal birth control should know This groundbreaking book sheds light on how hormonal birth control affects women--and the world around them--in ways we are just now beginning to understand. By allowing women to control their fertility, the birth control pill has revolutionized women's lives. Women are going to college, graduating, and entering the workforce in greater numbers than ever before, and there's good reason to believe that the birth control pill has a lot to do with this. But there's a lot more to the pill than meets the eye. Although women go on the pill for a small handful of targeted effects (pregnancy prevention and clearer skin, yay!), sex hormones can't work that way. Sex hormones impact the activities of billions of cells in the body at once, many of which are in the brain. There, they play a role in influencing attraction, sexual motivation, stress, hunger, eating patterns, emotion regulation, friendships, aggression, mood, learning, and more. This means that being on the birth control pill makes women a different version of themselves than when they are off of it. And this is a big deal. For instance, women on the pill have a dampened cortisol spike in response to stress. While this might sound great (no stress!), it can have negative implications for learning, memory, and mood. Additionally, because the pill influences who women are attracted to, being on the pill may inadvertently influence who women choose as partners, which can have important implications for their relationships once they go off it. Sometimes these changes are for the better . . . but other times, they're for the worse. By changing what women's brains do, the pill also has the ability to have cascading effects on everything and everyone that a woman encounters. This means that the reach of the pill extends far beyond women's own bodies, having a major impact on society and the world. This paradigm-shattering book provides an even-handed, science-based understanding of who women are, both on and off the pill. It will change the way that women think about their hormones and how they view themselves. It also serves as a rallying cry for women to demand more information from science about how their bodies and brains work and to advocate for better research. This book will help women make more informed decisions about their health, whether they're on the pill or off of it.
L: Education
Creative Block Play: a comprehensive guide to learning through building (ebook) by Rosanne Hansel
Creative Block Play covers everything you need to encourage a child's development in a variety of domains through block play. This book is full of photos that illustrate block play in real classrooms and stories from teachers who have successfully used block play to encourage children's development in a variety of domains. Rosanne Regan Hansel has been both a teacher and administrator for a variety of early childhood programs and currently serves as Education Program Development Specialist for the Department of Education. Ms. Hansel received her MS Ed in Early Childhood Leadership from Bank Street College of Education.
N: Fine Arts
Dribble Drabble: process art experiences for young children (ebook) by Deya Brashears Hill
Creative art should offer children the opportunities for originality, creativity, fluency, flexibility, and sensitivity. Remember, there is no right or wrong way of doing things in art. This collection of activities focuses on the process and not the finished product, to allow for growth and fun. All activities are easily adaptable for children from age two to eight. The 145 process-oriented art activities cover a wide range of media including painting, crayons, collage and sculpture, chalk, and printing. Activities are easy to prepare, to set-up, and to develop into project-approach explorations building on young children's interests and inquiries. These hands-on projects have been classroom-tested to ensure they keep learning fun and engaging. Deya Brashears Hill has spent more than three decades working in early childhood education. Early in her career, she wrote scripts for Sesame Street during its formative years. Hill's experiences have helped her develop expertise in brain development, curriculum, and diversity in early childhood education. She has served as the Director of Orinda Preschool and is a professor for various Bay Area colleges, where she passes her knowledge on to the next generation of early childhood professionals
P: Language, Literature
Red Comet: the short life and blazing art of Sylvia Plath (ebook) by Heather Clark
With a wealth of never-before-accessed materials--including unpublished letters and manuscripts; court, police, and psychiatric records; and new interviews--Heather Clark brings to life the brilliant daughter of Wellesley, Massachusetts who had poetic ambition from a very young age and was an accomplished, published writer of poems and stories even before she became a star English student at Smith College in the early 1950s. Determined not to read Plath's work as if her every act, from childhood on, was a harbinger of her tragic fate, Clark evokes a culture in transition, in the shadow of the atom bomb and the Holocaust, as she explores Plath's world: her early relationships and determination not to become a conventional woman and wife; her conflicted ties to her well-meaning, widowed mother; her troubles at the hands of an unenlightened mental-health industry; her Cambridge years and thunderclap meeting with Ted Hughes, a marriage of true minds that would change the course of poetry in English; and much more. Clark's clear-eyed portraits of Hughes, his lover Assia Wevill, and other demonized players in the arena of Plath's suicide promotes a deeper understanding of her final days, with their outpouring of first-rate poems. Along with illuminating readings of the poems themselves, Clark's meticulous, compassionate research brings us closer than ever to the spirited woman and visionary artist who blazed a trail that still lights the way for women poets the world over.
Q: Mathematics, Computer Science, Sciences
Future Sea: how to rescue and protect the world's oceans (ebook) by Deborah Wright
In Future Sea, ocean advocate and marine-policy researcher Deborah Rowan Wright provides the tools for that shift. Questioning the underlying philosophy of established ocean conservation approaches, Rowan Wright lays out a radical alternative: a bold and far-reaching strategy of 100 percent ocean protection that would put an end to destructive industrial activities, better safeguard marine biodiversity, and enable ocean wildlife to return and thrive along coasts and in seas around the globe. Future Sea is essentially concerned with the solutions and not the problems. Rowan Wright shines a light on existing international laws intended to keep marine environments safe that could underpin this new strategy. She gathers inspiring stories of communities and countries using ocean resources wisely, as well as of successful conservation projects, to build up a cautiously optimistic picture of the future for our oceans--counteracting all-too-prevalent reports of doom and gloom. A passionate, sweeping, and personal account, Future Sea not only argues for systemic change in how we manage what we do in the sea, but also describes steps that anyone, from children to political leaders (or indeed, any reader of the book), can take toward safeguarding the oceans and their extraordinary wildlife.
Z: Publishing, Library Science, Information Resources
The aftergrief : finding your way along the long arc of loss by
Drawing from her own encounters with the ripple effects of early loss, as well as interviews with more than seventy-five people, Edelman offers profound advice for reassessing loss and adjusting the stories we tell ourselves about its impact on our identities.
American Religious History [3 Volumes] (ebook) by
A mix of thematic essays, reference entries, and primary source documents covering the role of religion in American history and life from the colonial era to the present.
The Philosophy and Psychology of Ambivalence: being of two minds (ebook) by
The essays in this book offer novel and wide-ranging perspectives on this emerging philosophical topic. They will be of interest to researchers and advanced students working in ethics, epistemology, philosophy of mind, philosophy of psychology, and social cognition"--
Conflict in the Modern Middle East: an Encyclopedia of Civil War, Revolutions, and Regime Change (ebook) by
This book provides detailed coverage of all the key conflict-related developments since the Arab Spring, a seminal event that began in December 2010 and continues to have major influence on events in the Middle East, North Africa, and beyond.
Soldier in the Sand: A Personal History of the Modern Middle East (ebook) by
As well as analyzing its history and religions, which strongly influence people's actions, attitudes and relationships, the author draws on his own experiences and impressions based on his many years spent in key military and diplomatic appointments in numerous countries. In addition to knowing many of the key players personally, he has studied, at leading universities, British policy and engagement in the area and he understands the effects of this long-term engagement. This invaluable book's unique mixture of history, politics, academic study and first-hand experience affords the reader an invaluable insight into a fascinating, fractured and frustrating area of the world. General Mayall explains complex situations in a thoroughly accessible and human manner. This will come as no surprise to those who have listened to his lectures worldwide, but this important and entertaining book now brings his knowledge and commonsense approach to a far wider audience.
A Black Women's History of the United States (ebook) by
In centering Black women's stories, two award-winning historians seek both to empower African American women and to show their allies that Black women's unique ability to make their own communities while combatting centuries of oppression is an essential component in our continued resistance to systemic racism and sexism.
Fear in our hearts : what Islamophobia tells us about America (ebook) by
Caleb Iyer Elfenbein examines Islamophobia in the United States, positing that rather than simply being an outcome of the 9/11 attacks, anti-Muslim activity grows out of a fear of difference that has always characterized US public life.
The Fire Is upon Us, James Baldwin, William F. Buckley Jr., and the debate over race in America (ebook) by
The Fire Is upon Us reveals the deep roots and lasting legacy of a conflict that continues to haunt our politics.
Making All Black Lives Matter: reimagining freedom in the twenty-first century (ebook) by
In Making All Black Lives Matter, award-winning historian and longtime activist Barbara Ransby outlines the scope and genealogy of this movement, documenting its roots in Black feminist politics and situating it squarely in a Black radical tradition, one that is anticapitalist, internationalist, and focused on some of the most marginalized members of the Black community. From the perspective of a participant-observer, Ransby maps the movement, profiles many of its lesser-known leaders, measures its impact, outlines its challenges, and looks toward its future.
Animal, Vegetable, Junk: a history of food, from sustainable to suicidal (ebook) by
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author and pioneering journalist, an expansive look at how history has been shaped by humanity's appetite for food, farmland, and the money behind it all--and how a better future is within reach.
Fact over Fake: a critical thinker's guide to media bias and political propaganda (ebook) by
Today's instantaneous and ever-present news stream frequently presents a sensationalized or otherwise distorted view of the world, demanding constant critical engagement on the part of everyday citizens. The Critical Thinker's Guide to Bias, Lies, and Politics in the News reveals the power of critical thinking to make sense of overwhelming and often subjective media by detecting ideology, slant, and spin at work.
Stigma : the machinery of inequality (ebook) by
Through an original social and economic reframing of the history of stigma, Tyler reveals stigma as a political practice, illuminating previously forgotten histories of resistance against stigmatization, boldly arguing that these histories provide invaluable insights for understanding the rise of authoritarian forms of government today.
This Is Your Brain on Birth Control: the surprising science of women, hormones, and the law of unintended consequences (ebook) by
An eye-opening book that reveals crucial information every woman taking hormonal birth control should know This groundbreaking book sheds light on how hormonal birth control affects women--and the world around them--in ways we are just now beginning to understand. By allowing women to control their fertility, the birth control pill has revolutionized women's lives. Women are going to college, graduating, and entering the workforce in greater numbers than ever before, and there's good reason to believe that the birth control pill has a lot to do with this. But there's a lot more to the pill than meets the eye. Although women go on the pill for a small handful of targeted effects (pregnancy prevention and clearer skin, yay!), sex hormones can't work that way. Sex hormones impact the activities of billions of cells in the body at once, many of which are in the brain. There, they play a role in influencing attraction, sexual motivation, stress, hunger, eating patterns, emotion regulation, friendships, aggression, mood, learning, and more. This means that being on the birth control pill makes women a different version of themselves than when they are off of it. And this is a big deal. For instance, women on the pill have a dampened cortisol spike in response to stress. While this might sound great (no stress!), it can have negative implications for learning, memory, and mood. Additionally, because the pill influences who women are attracted to, being on the pill may inadvertently influence who women choose as partners, which can have important implications for their relationships once they go off it. Sometimes these changes are for the better . . . but other times, they're for the worse. By changing what women's brains do, the pill also has the ability to have cascading effects on everything and everyone that a woman encounters. This means that the reach of the pill extends far beyond women's own bodies, having a major impact on society and the world. This paradigm-shattering book provides an even-handed, science-based understanding of who women are, both on and off the pill. It will change the way that women think about their hormones and how they view themselves. It also serves as a rallying cry for women to demand more information from science about how their bodies and brains work and to advocate for better research. This book will help women make more informed decisions about their health, whether they're on the pill or off of it.
Climate Crisis and the Global Green New Deal (ebook) by
This version of a Green New Deal program is, in fact, entirely realistic in terms of its purely economic and technical features. The real question is whether it is politically feasible. Chomsky and Pollin examine how we can build the political force to make a global Green New Deal a reality.
American Contagions: epidemics and the law from smallpox to covid-19 (ebook) by
A concise history of how American law has shaped--and been shaped by--the experience of contagion, "taking us from the smallpox outbreaks of the colonies to COVID-19.
Creative Block Play: a comprehensive guide to learning through building (ebook) by
Creative Block Play covers everything you need to encourage a child's development in a variety of domains through block play. This book is full of photos that illustrate block play in real classrooms and stories from teachers who have successfully used block play to encourage children's development in a variety of domains. Rosanne Regan Hansel has been both a teacher and administrator for a variety of early childhood programs and currently serves as Education Program Development Specialist for the Department of Education. Ms. Hansel received her MS Ed in Early Childhood Leadership from Bank Street College of Education.
The Essential Renewal of America's Schools: a leadership guide for democratizing schools from the inside out (ebook) by
What can today's educational leaders do to create schools that are purposeful, moral, and successful? In this book, Glickman and Mette provide a powerful set of guidelines that will lead to true school renewal.
Trauma informed teaching through play art narrative (PAN) (ebook) by
The authors provide play, art, and narrative techniques and activities that educators can use to safely work therapeutically with traumatized children and youth.
Dribble Drabble: process art experiences for young children (ebook) by
Creative art should offer children the opportunities for originality, creativity, fluency, flexibility, and sensitivity. Remember, there is no right or wrong way of doing things in art. This collection of activities focuses on the process and not the finished product, to allow for growth and fun. All activities are easily adaptable for children from age two to eight. The 145 process-oriented art activities cover a wide range of media including painting, crayons, collage and sculpture, chalk, and printing. Activities are easy to prepare, to set-up, and to develop into project-approach explorations building on young children's interests and inquiries. These hands-on projects have been classroom-tested to ensure they keep learning fun and engaging. Deya Brashears Hill has spent more than three decades working in early childhood education. Early in her career, she wrote scripts for Sesame Street during its formative years. Hill's experiences have helped her develop expertise in brain development, curriculum, and diversity in early childhood education. She has served as the Director of Orinda Preschool and is a professor for various Bay Area colleges, where she passes her knowledge on to the next generation of early childhood professionals
Red Comet: the short life and blazing art of Sylvia Plath (ebook) by
With a wealth of never-before-accessed materials--including unpublished letters and manuscripts; court, police, and psychiatric records; and new interviews--Heather Clark brings to life the brilliant daughter of Wellesley, Massachusetts who had poetic ambition from a very young age and was an accomplished, published writer of poems and stories even before she became a star English student at Smith College in the early 1950s. Determined not to read Plath's work as if her every act, from childhood on, was a harbinger of her tragic fate, Clark evokes a culture in transition, in the shadow of the atom bomb and the Holocaust, as she explores Plath's world: her early relationships and determination not to become a conventional woman and wife; her conflicted ties to her well-meaning, widowed mother; her troubles at the hands of an unenlightened mental-health industry; her Cambridge years and thunderclap meeting with Ted Hughes, a marriage of true minds that would change the course of poetry in English; and much more. Clark's clear-eyed portraits of Hughes, his lover Assia Wevill, and other demonized players in the arena of Plath's suicide promotes a deeper understanding of her final days, with their outpouring of first-rate poems. Along with illuminating readings of the poems themselves, Clark's meticulous, compassionate research brings us closer than ever to the spirited woman and visionary artist who blazed a trail that still lights the way for women poets the world over.
Basic Chemical Concepts and Tables (ebook) by
Written as a quick reference to the many different concepts and ideas encountered in chemistry, Basic Chemical Concepts and Tables presents important subjects in a concise format that makes it a practical resource for any reader.
Future Sea: how to rescue and protect the world's oceans (ebook) by
In Future Sea, ocean advocate and marine-policy researcher Deborah Rowan Wright provides the tools for that shift. Questioning the underlying philosophy of established ocean conservation approaches, Rowan Wright lays out a radical alternative: a bold and far-reaching strategy of 100 percent ocean protection that would put an end to destructive industrial activities, better safeguard marine biodiversity, and enable ocean wildlife to return and thrive along coasts and in seas around the globe. Future Sea is essentially concerned with the solutions and not the problems. Rowan Wright shines a light on existing international laws intended to keep marine environments safe that could underpin this new strategy. She gathers inspiring stories of communities and countries using ocean resources wisely, as well as of successful conservation projects, to build up a cautiously optimistic picture of the future for our oceans--counteracting all-too-prevalent reports of doom and gloom. A passionate, sweeping, and personal account, Future Sea not only argues for systemic change in how we manage what we do in the sea, but also describes steps that anyone, from children to political leaders (or indeed, any reader of the book), can take toward safeguarding the oceans and their extraordinary wildlife.
Journalism in the age of virtual reality : how experiential media are transforming news (ebook)
Journalism in the Age of Virtual Reality offers important lessons for practitioners seeking to produce quality experiential news and those interested in the ethical considerations that experiential media raise for journalism and the public.
The Body Keeps the Score: brain, mind, and body in the healing of trauma (ebook) by
Based on Dr. van der Kolk's own research and that of other leading specialists, The Body Keeps the Score offers proven alternatives to drugs and talk therapy--and a way to reclaim lives.
The Early Sprouts Cookbook (ebook) by
Discover delicious new ways to provide healthy meals in preschool settings.