Family Guide to Celebration of the Jewish Holidays by Leonard Chesler; Linda CheslerWe always tried to celebrate the Jewish Holidays as a family. Starting when our children were young, it soon became apparent to us that it was much better and much more meaningful if as part of our celebration, we discussed each holiday with each other, talking about why the holiday is celebrated, its origin and history, how it is celebrated and very importantly its meaning, relevance and value to us today and what we can learn and use in our everyday lives. We wanted the children to feel and understand that the holidays were important for them and each holiday had meaning and value for them and should be celebrated by them for its own sake, not just because they wanted to please their parents and grandparents. Over time we wrote up these discussions and added information for each holiday for our family use.
Call Number: BM690 .C447 2012
C & D: World History
An Amerikan Family: the Shakurs and the nation they created by Santi Elijah HolleyThe Shakurs have inspired generations of activists, scholars, and music fans. Many people are only familiar with Assata Shakur, the popular author and thinker, living for three decades in Cuban exile; or the late rapper Tupac. But the branches of the Shakur family tree extend widely, and the roots reach into the most furtive and hidden depths of the underground. Whether founding one of the most notorious Black Panther chapters in the country, spearheading community-based healthcare, or engaging in armed struggle with systemic oppression, the Shakurs were at the forefront. They have been celebrated, glorified, and mythologized. They have been hailed as heroes, liberators, and freedom fighters. They have been condemned, pursued, imprisoned, exiled, and killed. But the true and complete story of the Shakur family--one of the most famous names in contemporary Black American history--has never been told. An Amerikan Family is a history of the fight for Black liberation in the United States, as experienced and shaped by the Shakurs.
Call Number: E185.93.N56 H65 2023
Russia's War by Jade McGlynnIn the early hours of 24 February 2022, Russian forces attacked Ukraine. The brutality of the Russian assault has horrified the world. But Russians themselves appear to be watching an entirely different war - one in which they are the courageous underdogs and kind-hearted heroes successfully battling a malign Ukrainian foe. Russia analyst Jade McGlynn takes us on a journey into this parallel military and political universe to reveal the sometimes monstrous, sometimes misconstrued attitudes behind Russian majority backing for the invasion.
Call Number: D764 .M34 2023
H: Social Sciences, Business, Economics, Sociology
Belonging by Geoffrey L. CohenDiscover the secret to flourishing in an age of division: belonging. In a world filled with discord and loneliness, finding harmony and happiness can be difficult. But what if the key to unlocking our potential lies in this deceptively simple concept? Belonging is the feeling of being a part of a group that values, respects, and cares for us--a feeling that we can all cultivate in even the smallest corners of social life. In Belonging: The Science of Creating Connection and Bridging Divides, Stanford University professor Geoffrey L. Cohen draws on his own and others' groundbreaking scientific research to offer simple, concrete solutions for fostering a sense of belonging.
Call Number: HM1111 .C637 2022
Bloodbath Nation by Paul AusterBloodbath Nation presents a succinct but thorough examination of America at a crossroads, and asks the central, burning question of our moment: What kind of society do we want to live in? A portion of proceeds from this book will be donated to the Violence Policy Center, a nonprofit organization working to stop gun death and injury through research, education, and advocacy.
Call Number: HV7436 .A94 2023
Crime in the United States 2023 by Shana Hertz Hattis (Editor)Crime in the United States contains findings from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the offenses known to law enforcement. This reference is the most comprehensive official compilation of crime statistics in the United States and is an important addition to your library's collection.
The Digital Marketing Planner by Annmarie HanlonYour step-by-step guide to creating your own digital marketing plan. From assessing a company and creating strategy and objectives, to planning resources and presenting your work. Includes 'Annmarie's Advice', where the author shares her personal experience of digital marketing and extra hints and tips. This handy planner will instill you with the know-how, skills and confidence you need to form and implement your own strategic plan. At each step you'll: Learn all the key information you need. See theory in practice through the running Zoom case example. Apply what you've learnt through 50 interactive activities and build your plan. Annmarie Hanlon is also the author of the accompanying textbook, Digital Marketing: Strategic Planning & Integration, which includes deeper coverage of digital marketing for students and professionals. Both books can be purchased together in a discounted pack.
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .H367 2022
Drugs and the FDA by Mikkael A. SekeresHow the FDA was shaped by public health crises and patient advocacy, told against a background of the contentious hearings on the breast cancer drug Avastin. Food and Drug Administration approval for COVID-19 vaccines and the controversial Alzheimer's drug Aduhelm made headlines, but few of us know much about how the agency does its work. Why is the FDA the ultimate US authority on a drug's safety and efficacy? In Drugs and the FDA, Mikkael Sekeres--a leading oncologist and former chair of the FDA's cancer drug advisory committee--tells the story of how the FDA became the most trusted regulatory agency in the world.
Call Number: HV5825 .S45 2022
The Essentials of Contemporary Marketing by Mo WillanAs the effectiveness of traditional marketing techniques continues to diminish, contemporary marketing increasingly becomes the most reliable method of expanding outreach and reflecting the needs of the modern consumer. When implemented, these contemporary strategies offer the greatest support for their client base, with a product range that adapts to the desires of the target market. The channels used to underpin these strategies are also radically different from traditional methods - placing emphasis upon platforms such as social media. Designed for both undergraduate and postgraduate students, as well as those in executive education and general business, The Essentials of Contemporary Marketing covers a wide range of themes, including: - Consumer behaviour - The latest marketing research - Services marketing - Brand management - Global marketing, and - Ethics in marketing. Each chapter includes case studies to illustrate and contextualise the topics covered, featuring companies as diverse as Amazon, McLaren, Unilever, UBS and Virgin Money. In alignment with its subject matter, The Essentials of Contemporary Marketing prioritises practicality over theory-based content - providing a comprehensive and contextualised insight into how marketing is developing in the 21st century.
Call Number: HF5415 .W55 2021
Look Out above (Second Edition) by Bob Slater; Nick SlaterLook Out Above! is an essential guide for the young business professional. Here you will explore the path to workplace success with guidance on how to: Contribute to and connect with your team Communicate concisely Present to coworkers and clients Pitch ideas, lead, and advocate Navigate the modern, hybrid workplace Look Out Above! reveals a comprehensive approach to each of these skills, one not taught in undergraduate school, graduate business school, or even in company training.
Call Number: HF5386.S53 L66 2023
Street Cop by George KleinThis book provides an ethnography of street-level policing in the United States and offers an analysis with valuable lessons for today's law enforcement officers.
Call Number: HV8139 .K54 2023
Understanding Research for Business Students by Jonathan WilsonThis book gives you everything you need to successfully complete your research project. From choosing a direction for your research and considering ethics to data collection and presenting your results, it offers straightforward guidance on every step of the research process.
How to Plan Differentiated Reading Instruction by Sharon Walpole; Michael C. McKennaTens of thousands of K-3 teachers have relied on this book--now revised and expanded with more than 50% new material--to plan and deliver effective literacy instruction tailored to each student's needs. The authors provide a detailed framework for implementing differentiated small-group instruction over multiweek cycles. Each component of the beginning reading program is addressed--phonological awareness, word recognition, fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension.
Call Number: LB1525 .W175 2017
How to Prevent Reading Difficulties, Grades PreK-3 by Mark WeaklandDo you have the knowledge and instructional ability to effectively teach foundational skills and to support students who show signs of reading difficulties? It is a tall order -- and one that challenges many new and veteran teachers. How to Prevent Reading Difficulties, Grades PreK-3 builds on decades of evidence and years of experience to help teachers understand how the brain learns to read and how to apply that understanding to Tier 1 instruction.
Speech to Print by Louisa Cook MoatsFor two decades, Speech to Print has been a bestselling, widely adopted textbook on explicit, high-quality literacy instruction. Now the anticipated third edition is here, fully updated with ten years of new research, a complete package of supporting materials, and expanded guidance on the how of assessment and instruction in today (TM)s classrooms.
Call Number: LB1576 .M55 2020
The Vocabulary Book by Michael F. GravesThis extensively revised and expanded edition of the bestselling text and teaching resource incorporates the newest research in vocabulary learning and instruction into a complete and balanced program for all K-12 students, from those who struggle in school to those who excel. Literacy expert Michael Graves presents a four-pronged vocabulary program that he has developed and honed for over 30 years. The program has the following four components: Frequent, Varied, and Extensive Language Experiences; Teaching Individual Words; Teaching Word Learning Strategies; and Fostering Word Consciousness. The text includes theory, research-based strategies, vocabulary interventions, classroom examples, advice for working with English learners, discussion of next-generation standards, and more. The Vocabulary Book, Second Edition will appeal to reading and subject-area teachers, teacher educators, and school, district, and state leaders. New for the Second Edition: Instructional approaches developed and classroom-tested since the release of the first edition. A chapter specifically on teaching vocabulary to English learners. A chapter specifically on selecting vocabulary words to teach. Curricular and instructional elements designed to meet and exceed Common Core State Standards. An emphasis on vocabulary as a vital resource for all students in our increasingly diverse society.
Call Number: LB1574.5 .G72 2016
P: Language & Literature
The Big Reveal: an Illustrated Manifesto of Drag by Sasha VelourThis book is a quilt, piecing together memoir, history, and theory into a living portrait of an artist and an art. Within these pages, illustrated throughout with photos and original artwork, Sasha Velour illuminates drag as a unique form of expression with a rich history and a revolutionary spirit. Each chapter strips off a new layer, removing one tantalizing glove and then another, to reveal all the twists and turns in the life of a queen.
Call Number: PN1969.D73 V45 2023
Q: Mathematics, Computer Science, Sciences
The Big Bang of Numbers: how to build the universe using only math by Manil SuriOur universe has multiple origin stories, from religious creation myths to the Big Bang of scientists. But if we leave those behind and start from nothing--no matter, no cosmos, not even empty space--could we create a universe using only math? Irreverent, richly illustrated, and boundlessly creative, The Big Bang of Numbers invites us to try.
Call Number: QA93 .S867 2022
R: Medicine, Nursing
American Sirens by Kevin HazzardThe extraordinary story of an unjustly forgotten group of Black men in Pittsburgh who became the first paramedics in America, saving lives and changing the course of emergency medicine around the world.
Prescription for Nutritional Healing, Sixth Edition by Phyllis A. BalchThe nation's #1 bestselling guide to natural remedies, totally revised and updated. This fully revised edition includes both time-honored, proven strategies and the latest science to arm you with the best natural therapies for your health. In this volume-a reference work of unparalleled authority-the updated material includes- natural ways to lessen the severity of Alzheimer's symptomscutting-edge information about COVID-19 and other viral infections as well as practical ways to help your body cope with acute and long-term symptomsnutritional information on menopause and breast and prostate cancersscience about chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) and fibromyalgia (FMS) and how you can gain more control over your symptoms Prescription for Nutritional Healing, Sixth Edition, is the source for accessible, evidence-based information that serves as a guide for using natural nutritional remedies to achieve and maintain wellness.
Call Number: RA784 .B2483 2023
Successful Nurse Communication by Beth BoyntonExplore all of the critical ways your ability to communicate successfully can positively impact not only nurse-client, nurse-family, and colleague-colleague relationships, but also your ability to make the work environment less stressful and to manage professional and personal challenges, even in a world still reeling from the impact of the pandemic. Step by step, you'll build the essential communication skills you need, with an emphasis on developing the emotional intelligence necessary to speak assertively and listen respectfully in the high-stakes, high-pressure environments where nurses work. Five Stars!! Every nurse needs to read this!!!!!!!!"I was lacking in some essential communication skills and didn't know it until I read this book. It's easy to follow. I recommend this book to all of my coworkers.