It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hot Topic: First Amendment Free Speech (Wayne College): Books
This guide explores and provides a starting point for your research on The First Amendment Right of Free Speech. This guide highlights free speech on college campuses, hate speech and athlete activism.
Free Speech on America's K-12 and College Campuses: Legal Cases from Barnette to Blaine covers the history of legal cases involving free speech issues on K-12 and college campuses, mostly during the fifty-year period from 1965 through 2015. While this book deals mostly with high school and college newspapers, it also covers religious issues (school prayer, distribution of religious materials, and use of school facilities for voluntary Bible study), speech codes, free speech zones, self-censorship due to political correctness, hate speech, threats of disruption and violence, and off-campus speech, including social media. Randall W. Bobbitt provides a representative sampling of cases spread across the five decades and across the subject areas listed above. Recommended for scholars of communication, education, political science, and legal studies.
Can free speech coexist with an inclusive campus environment? Hardly a week goes by without another controversy over free speech on college campuses. On one side, there are increased demands to censor hateful, disrespectful, and bullying expression and to ensure an inclusive and nondiscriminatory learning environment. On the other side are traditional free speech advocates who charge that recent demands for censorship coddle students and threaten free inquiry. In this clear and carefully reasoned book, a university chancellor and a law school dean--both constitutional scholars who teach a course in free speech to undergraduates--argue that campuses must provide supportive learning environments for an increasingly diverse student body but can never restrict the expression of ideas. This book provides the background necessary to understanding the importance of free speech on campus and offers clear prescriptions for what colleges can and can't do when dealing with free speech controversies.
For this fourth edition, new Supreme Court cases are incorporated on topics like strip searches at school, the use of race in school admissions, student protest or religious speech, and the constitutional implications surrounding trends like home schooling and rising gun violence in America's schools.
The First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution guarantees a free press and free speech. Those rights, however, are not unlimited. In Clear and Present Danger: Schenck v. United States, award-winning author Susan Dudley Gold explores the events, issues, and personalities behind the landmark case. The Supreme Court's decision in Schenck set the standard for determining when speech is so inflammatory that it no longer qualifies for First Amendment protections. This comprehensive account of the case examines the efforts of the Court to protect the safety of the nation and its citizens while ensuring the broadest guarantees possible for free speech. Book jacket.
This product provides a short and readable source for individuals interested in constitutional law, First Amendment law, and communications law. It is divided into four parts: the history, methodology, and philosophical foundations of the First Amendment; topics such as First Amendment issues that arise in cable television and in regulating children's access to the Internet; issues in First Amendment law such as the public forum doctrine, the compelled speech doctrine, and the free expression rights of government employees; and the text, history, and theory of the religion clauses, chronicling the ongoing battle in the Supreme Court between accommodationists and separationists.
This two-volume work addresses every key, cutting-edge issue regarding the First Amendment, including subjects such as freedom of religion, freedom of press, freedom of speech, and freedom of organization. * Contributions from 20 academicians and practitioners * Several court case highlights * A complete bibliography and a chapter-by-chapter glossary
Detailed yet highly readable, this book explores essential and illuminating primary source documents that provide insights into the history, development, and current conceptions of the First Amendment to the Constitution. * Provides readers with accessible explanations of key points in many seminal Supreme Court cases, thereby enabling a better appreciation of specific developments in freedom of speech in the United States * Explains confusing legal terms and phrases in plain English for nonspecialist readers * Offers easy-to-follow explanations from a noted First Amendment scholar and authority who has been explaining and teaching First Amendment topics for two decades
This book examines how freedom of speech is reflected in pop culture by looking at numerous examples of films, websites, television shows, and songs that have touched on--and impacted--this issue. * Covers freedom of speech issues in popular culture in the 19th and 20th centuries as well as the present day * Examines everything from banned books to comic book censorship, music, theater, photography, film, television, video games, and social media * Enables readers to better appreciate how freedom of speech and expression is a subtext in most aspects of daily life
This book provides a comprehensive and impartial overview of laws and norms regarding free speech and censorship in the United States, with a particular focus on free speech rights and restrictions for individuals, politicians, corporations, and news organizations. * Features an easy-to-navigate question-and-answer format * Accessibly explains key court decisions governing the parameters of free speech rights and government censorship in the United States * Uses quantifiable data from respected sources as the foundation for examining every issue * Provides readers with leads to conduct further research in Further Reading sections * Examines claims made by individuals and groups of all political backgrounds and ideologies