Skip to Main Content
Web Resources
-
African Americans and Labor: Honoring the Legacy of Work and Social Justice - Howard University
While attention is given to industrial and trade labor, Black labor also encompasses the work of social justice, community organizing, and advocacy—fields in which Black social workers have played an essential role. From the early 20th century to today, Black social workers have not only provided direct support to individuals but also fought systemic barriers that disproportionately impact Black communities. from Howard University School of Social Work
-
Black History Month (blackhistory.gov)
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.
-
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938 - Library of Congress
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA). At the conclusion of the Slave Narrative project, a set of edited transcripts was assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves. In 2000-2001, with major support from the Citigroup Foundation, the Library digitized the narratives from the microfilm edition and scanned from the originals 500 photographs, including more than 200 that had never been microfilmed or made publicly available. This online collection is a joint presentation of the Manuscript and Prints and Photographs divisions of the Library of Congress.
-
JSTOR: 23 Freely Accessible Black History Collections
Explore freely accessible image and primary source collections that focus on Black History.
-
National Museum of African American History and Culture: Searchable Museum
The National Museum of African American History and Culure's Searchable Museum is a place to explore history and culture through an African American lens.
-
U.S. National Archives: African American History
The National Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the Black experience. This page highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.
