Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UL Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Displays and Guides: Home

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Exhibits @ University Libraries

UA University Libraries LGBTQ+ Pride Month Exhibit 2022

 

UA University Libraries is celebrating LGBTQ+ Pride Month by highlighting select print books, DVDs, streaming videos, eBooks, and streaming audio from our collections.  In the spirit of acknowledging and celebrating inclusive stories, we invite you to learn about the lives and experiences of LGBTQIA+ authors, composers, characters, and historical figures by exploring the resources we've highlighted on this guide.  If you're on campus during June please stop by and visit our display at Bierce Library. 

We have many LGBTQ+ resources for you to discover!  Please contact us through Ask Us (chat or email) if you have have any questions or need help finding LGBTQ+ resources. 

Banner photo by James A. Molnar on Unsplash

pride

DVDs and Books on Display at Bierce Library

If you're on campus during June, please stop by and visit our LGBTQ+ display at Bierce Library. All DVDs and Books on display are available for checkout according to current UL Circulation Policies.

DVDs on Display @ Bierce Library

 

Books on Display @ Bierce Library

 

Banner photo by Dustin Humes on Unsplash

pride

Films on Demand is a streaming video database of thousands of educational films, documentaries, and news programs. Films on Demand is available for on-campus and remote use by current UA student's, faculty, and staff. 

Below are links to several of the many LGBTQ+ films available on Films on Demand. You'll need to login with your UAnet ID and password to view these films.

After Stonewall: America's LGBT Movement 

"Narrated by Melissa Etheridge. In 1969 the police raided the Stonewall Inn, a gay bar in New York City's Greenwich Village, leading to three nights of rioting by the city's gay community. With this outpouring of courage and unity the Gay Liberation Movement had begun. After Stonewall, the sequel to Before Stonewall, chronicles the history of lesbian and gay life from the riots at Stonewall to the end of the century. It captures the hard work, struggles, tragic defeats and exciting victories experienced since them. It explores how AIDS literally changed the direction of the movement. The two films, Before & After, tell the remarkable tale of how homosexuals, a heretofore hidden and despised group, became a vibrant and integral part of America's family, and, indeed, the world community. Featuring Dorothy Allison, Michael Bronski, Rita Mae Brown, Barney Frank, Barbara Gittings, Arnie Kantrowitz, Larry Kramer, Craig Lucas, Armistead Maupin, Leslea Newman, Barbara Smith, and many more!"

Duration: 01:26:03
Watch via Films on Demand

 

America’s Most Unwanted: LGBTQI Foster Youth in America

"This documentary explores the lives of LGBTQ youth in California's foster care system. Many LGBTQ foster youth are thrown out of their homes for defining as LGBTQ before entering the foster care system, where they often encounter further abuse and homophobia. The statistics are staggering: 75% of LGBTQI foster youth in state care have experienced physical abuse and 66% preferred to live on the streets. America's Most Unwanted lends the case for more access to LGBTQ foster parenting and adoption by providing a human face to youth whose lives would have benefited from such support." 

Description from Films on Demand
Duration: 21:00
Watch via Films on Demand

 

Ball Culture of New York City

"As far back as the 1860s, LGBTQ+ people created safe spaces where they could celebrate their identities freely. Known as Odd Fellow Balls, these safe havens became the birthplace of drag ball culture."

Description from Films on Demand
Duration: 21:00
Watch via Films on Demand

Being Gay: Coming Out in the 21st Century

"Today, while gays, lesbians, bisexuals, and transgenders are no longer forced to hide their sexual orientation, there is still prejudice and discrimination which can make coming out a difficult decision. And there are always internal pressures as well. This program presents the accounts and stories of people who have recently taken the step of coming out. Interviewees and experts discuss the benefits of this important transition by examining the six stages of coming to terms with one’s sexual identity. They also look at the dangers of running away from sexual self-acceptance—such as alcoholism, drug abuse, and suicide—and how finding support can greatly assist the process. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Cambridge Educational Production. (25 minutes) An ABC News Production. An ABC News Production."

Description from Films on Demand
Duration: 24:37
Watch via Films on Demand

Coming Out
"Join Ann Curry as those whose lives were changed by the early days of the gay rights movement reunite. Tom wants to find the childhood friend who urged him to come out, while Paul seeks a fellow student who inspired him to stand up for his beliefs."

Description from Films on Demand
Duration: 53:12
Watch via Films on Demand

Drawn this Way

"From Tom of Finland to Bugs Bunny in a dress, animation has long been a place where artists can unleash and explore their sexuality. In this documentary, Andy Cheng and Cara Connors dive into the pages of comic books, animated series, films, and even video games to discover the LGBTQ characters portrayed, and to answer questions such as, how did these artists get their start; how did the genre develop; are these portrayals taken seriously in the mainstream?"

Description from Films on Demand
Duration: 24:37
Watch via Films on Demand

Marsha P. Johnson: Transgender Activist

"The story of Transgender Activist, Marsh P. Johnson, who dedicated her life to LGBTQ+ rights."

Description from Films on Demand
Duration: 21:00
Watch via Films on Demand

The Play Within": Performance

"Shepard and Clementi meet after they died. Shepard describes how he was tortured and murdered. Clementi committed suicide after his roommate streamed him having sexual intercourse with another man."

Description from Films on Demand
Duration: 18:23
Watch via Films on Demand

Stonewall Uprising

"Stonewall Uprising explores the dramatic events that launched a worldwide civil rights movement. When police raided a Mafia-run gay bar in Greenwich Village, the Stonewall Inn, on June 28, 1969, gay men and women did something they had not done before—they fought back. As the streets of New York erupted into violent protests and street demonstrations, the collective anger announced that the gay rights movement had arrived. Distributed by PBS Distribution. Distributed by PBS Distribution."

Description from Films on Demand
Duration: 18:23
Watch via Films on Demand

Banner photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

All UA University Libraries provides access to a variety of eBooks collections. Below are links to select  LGBTQ+  titles from three of these collections. University Libraries eBook collections are available for on-campus and remote use by current UA student's, faculty, and staff. 

Proquest eBook Central
Select LGBTQ+ Titles on Proquest eBook Central  - If you are off campus, login in with your UAnet ID and password to access these ebooks.

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center - If you are off campus, enter your lastname, firstname and student/employee ID to access these ebooks.
Come Out, Come Out, Whoever You Are by Abigail C. Saguy

Female Husbands: A Trans History by John Manion

Out in the Periphery: Latin America's Gay Rights Revolution by Omar G. Encarnación

Out in Time: The Public Lives of Gay Men from Stonewall to the Queer Generation by Perry N. Halkitis

EBSCO eBook Collection If you are off campus, login in with your UAnet ID and password to access these ebooks

Black. Queer. Southern. Women. : An Oral History by E. Patrick 

Girls Will Be Boys : Cross-Dressed Women, Lesbians, and American Cinema, 1908-1934 by L. Horak 

The LGBTQ Story by Yvette Charboneau 

When Harry Became Sally : Responding to the Transgender Moment: Vol. First American edition by Ryan T. Anderson

You Are Not Alone: Finding Your LGBTQ Community by Jeremy Quist

Banner photo by Jasmin Sessler on Unsplash

Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of major and small label recordings in streaming audio format, covering all eras and sub-genres of classical music, as well as some jazz, world, and popular music. Naxos Music Library is available for on-campus and remote use by current UA student's, faculty, and staff. 

Below are links to two Naxos Music Library playlists featuring LGBT Composers . You'll need to login with your UAnet ID and password to listen to these playlists.

LGBT Composers Playlist Part 1

LGBT Composers Playlist Part 2

 

Banner photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

For Pride Month 2022, Bierce Library is highlighting the importance of acknowledging and celebrating inclusive stories. Learn about the lives and experiences of LGBTQ+ authors, composers, characters, and historical figures by visiting our Book and DVD display in Bierce Library and virtually by exploring select tiles from our streaming video, Ebook, and streaming audio collections.

Faculty Librarian/Coordinator Library Systems

Profile Photo
Susan DiRenzo Ashby
Contact:
Bierce Library 361A
The University of Akron
Akron, OH 44325-1712

330-972-7240