LibGuides: ZIPS High School Summer Research Program at the University of Akron: 1. Background Information

Searching the UA Libraries Catalog for Print Books and eBooks

1) Use the UA Libraries Catalog to find (print and eBooks) books at the University of Akron (UA).

2) If our library doesn't have a PRINT book, click on the Search OhioLINK button.

3) If there is a copy in OhioLINK, have it sent to UA by clicking the green "Request" button. or request the print copy of the book from your public library.

4) If the book is not at UA or in OhioLINK, try InterLibrary Loan (ILL) at UA, or from your public library.

Location of print books in Bierce Library with call number beginning with:

A - H, are located in the 2nd floor, Bierce Library
J - X, are located in the 3rd floor, Bierce Library

Reading for Understanding and Encyclopedias

Very Short Introductions - Series of small eBooks with concise introductions

Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of topics.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedia entries covering a wide variety of topics. Includes an audio feature that will read each entry out loud.

News Magazines and Review Articles

Written by authors with science backgrounds, intended to build foundational knowledge at the early stages of high school/undergraduate college.

Science News (magazine)
Annual Reviews (coverage ends in 2020)
Analytic reviews in focused disciplines within the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Check for currency.

Multidisciplinary eBooks Collections (covers many subjects)

Springer Life Sciences Downloadable ebooks from Springer.
WIley Ebooks Look for the open padlock for books we have access to. Individual chapter PDFs can be downloaded.

De Gruyter University Press e-books This link opens in a new window E-books from Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania presses covering a variety of subjects, including sciences, humanities, business, technology, medicine, law, and more.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Scholarly ebooks covering a wide variety of subjects with a user-friendly interface.
Knovel This link opens in a new window Over 800 essential reference books and databases from the world's leading scientific publishers and professional societies in 18 industrially important subject areas.
O'Reilly Books This link opens in a new window
Electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields. Note: Here are Instructions for accessing O'Reilly eBooks
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window A database that contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window A single point of entry for access to scholarly and academic books and journals from Oxford University Press. Serves the diverse and changing research needs of students, researchers, professors, and practitioners and seeks ongoing feedback from these communities.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently. University Libraries also has an open access publishing agreement with IOPscience. To learn more visit our Open Access Publishing Guide
Taylor & Francis Group Books This link opens in a new window Access e-books on a variety of subjects including e-books from Routledge and CRC Press.

Handbooks and Manuals (Selective)

More comprehensive than encyclopedias and may include specific angles from the field.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window The latest edition of the handbook. Useful for looking of physical constants, mathematical tables, thermodynamic properties, and much more. Able to search both by document/table name or by chemical compound.
DSM-5 TR This link opens in a new window Handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders. Access includes the Spanish edition as well.

ZIPS High School Summer Research Program at the University of Akron