Archives and Special Collections, a division of University Libraries, collects, preserves, and provides access to primary and secondary source materials that document the history of The University of Akron and the region, as well as select materials requiring special care and handling. Materials are collected in order to support the operational needs of the institution and the teaching and research activities at the university and in the wider intellectual community.
The University of Akron
Archives and Special Collections
Polsky Building LL-10
225 S. Main St.
Akron, OH 44325-1702
Telephone: 330-972-7670
Fax: 330-972-6170
E-mail: archives@uakron.edu
General inquiries can be handled over the telephone. For more complex searches, please contact Archives and Special Collections in writing. Keep these points in mind:
Archives and Special Collections acquires most materials through donations. Please contact the Head of Archives and Special Collections to discuss the donation and to have the collection evaluated.
Due to space constraints and costs associated with archiving records, Archives and Special Collections practices selective acquisitioning. General guidelines regarding materials sought are included in the Collection Development Policy.
Donors looking for more information about donating their materials should consult the following resources:
Donors may be entitled to an income tax deduction; however, Archives and Special Collections cannot provide tax or legal advice or monetary appraisals. Guidance regarding valuation and appraisals can be found through the Internal Revenue Service.
Monetary donations are used for preserving, organizing, inventorying and digitizing archival materials. Gifts to assist in these efforts are welcome and can be made by through an online gift form. Donations are tax deductible. Thank you!