On-site research is typically necessary for research projects. It is advisable to contact Archives and Special Collections in advance, so we can understand your research topic and be prepared to assist you. Please notify the Archives staff with your date of arrival and the projected length of stay, so we can help make the best use of your time. For more information about conducting research at Archives and Special Collections, please visit the Research Services page.
The Archives is open Monday through Friday from 10am to 3pm by appointment.
Archives and Special Collections is located in Room LL-10 on the Lower Level of the Polsky Building in downtown Akron, Ohio on The University of Akron campus at 225 S. Main Street (enter the building from High Street).
Select the appropriate direction from your location to find the best route to the Polsky Building. Please note that construction may alter these routes. Enter the Polsky Building from High Street. Take the elevator to the Lower Level, then exit the elevator to your left.
Take Route 8 South to Akron. Exit at OH-59 / Perkins Street. Turn right onto Perkins. Follow Perkins to N. High Street, turn left onto N. High Street (High Street is a one way street heading south). Polsky Building will be on the right.
Take I-77S or I-76E to Akron. Get off at Main/Broadway exit. Cross over Main Street to Broadway (Broadway is a one way street going north). Follow Broadway St. Turn left at University Ave. Turn left at S. High St. / OH-261. Polsky Building will be on the right.
Take I-77 North. Follow I-77N, 76W (toward Cleveland). Take the Main/Broadway exit and follow Broadway (one way heading north). Follow Broadway St. Turn left at University Ave. Turn left at S. High St. / OH-261. Polsky Building will be on the right.
Take I-76 West to Akron. Take the Main/Broadway exit and follow Broadway St. (one way heading north). Follow Broadway St. Turn left at University Ave. Turn left at S. High St. / OH-261. Polsky Building will be on the right.
Visitors can:
Obtain a UA parking pass through Parking Services to park in campus decks and lots.
Park in Downtown Akron parking decks for a fee or at metered space.
Akron Canton Regional Airport (15 miles)
Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (42 miles)
Public transportation is available in Summit County
Roo Express shuttle is available on campus
Click on "View Larger Map" for more detailed information and for an expanded list of hotels.
Archives and Special Collections encourages class visits in the reading room. Classes do not have to be from The University of Akron. Archives and Special Collections accommodates classes from local high schools as well as neighboring colleges and universities. Instructors are not required to be present, but it is preferred.
Instructors can arrange to use selections from the collection to illustrate their own lectures or, alternatively, talks can be prepared by Archives and Special Collections faculty or staff based on their subject knowledge. Archives and Special Collections faculty regularly provide instruction to classes. These talks are illustrated with selections from our holdings on subjects ranging from university and regional history to the history of the book and print culture. If preferable, the instructor and Archives and Special Collections faculty or staff can collaborate.
General bibliographic instruction and/or an introduction to archives and special collections can also be arranged. Specific talks regarding archival work can also be arranged for classes in public history and archival science.
To arrange a class visit, please click the button below to our online scheduler.