Much research in music education is supported by work in other disciplines. To support these efforts, University Libraries provides access to more than 300 specialized databases. Depending on the scope of your investigation, consider delving into some of the specialized databases offered below.
Two databases provide very good coverage of the literature about music, and we recommend you start your explorations here:
Comprehensive database of articles, reviews, and obituaries about music, musicians, and the music industry covering every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music.
Comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Covers all types of music, music education, theory, therapy, and others.
____________________________________________________________________________________________
While the Naxos Music Library is known as a rich repository of sound recordings, it also includes many other resources that support music education. If you go to Naxos and look at the tabs on the left, you'll discover many videorecordings; of particular note are the masterclasses. Below that is the 'Resources' tab. There, you'll find tools for aural training, a 'Junior Section', study guides (with curricular tie-ins). opera synopses, and much other potentially useful content.
Comprehensive collection of major and small label recordings in streaming audio format. Covers all eras and sub-genres of classical music, as well as some jazz, world, and popular music, and includes information on pieces and composers, pre-set and user-created playlists, and mobile capability. See 'More Info' for how to setup the mobile app.
____________________________________________________________________________________________
Following are links to lists of our databases by discipline. They will offer 'best bets', which are good places to start. They will also include other databases that could be worth exploring.
CLICK HERE to see a complete list of our database offerings.