You can search the UA Library Catalog for both, print and electronic books that contain primary or secondary historical information. Begin with a keyword for your topic. Try combining your topic with additional keywords, such: diary, journal, letters, correspondence, autobiography, map, register, roster, record, primary source, etc. You can also search by Title, Author, or Subject.
A catalog for finding resources owned by OhioLINK libraries. An excellent tool for finding material that the University of Akron libraries do not own.
Full text access to historical American newspapers, books, broadsides, ephemera, government documents, and more from 1639 to 1819.
Contains titles from the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare.
Scholarly ebooks covering a wide variety of subjects with a user-friendly interface.
Contains e-books on many academic subjects. Every word in every book is searchable and users can preview the e-books online and can check out the book for a specified amount of time.
Full text access to 18th Century books in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science, and more.
A database that contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
Electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields. Note: Here are Instructions for accessing O'Reilly eBooks
Masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member institutions.
Abstracts only, no full text. This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world.
Many historical books can be accessed for free using any search engine. These are usually available in PDF format.
Some specific collections of freely available e-books are:
Web-based digital video service streaming educational titles in dozens of subject areas.
Streaming documentaries and other educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects with a user-friendly and accessible interface.
A repository of select popular movies in a streaming format.