There is a vast amount of historical knowledge contained in sources other than monographs (books). Use the list of specialized databases on this page to locate articles, reports, congressional hearings, maps, biographical information, and more. Begin with a keyword search, and then refine the search using the "Subject" search if there are too many results. Consult this Search Logic Tutorial for more information on how to maximize the use of keywords. Most articles are available in PDF or HTML formats, but some require you to follow the Full Text Finder link to access the article. You may also search the title of the journal (not the article title) in ZipSearch to see if the library has a subscription to the journal. If the journal is not available in our collection, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan.
The following databases contain both, primary and secondary information in a variety of formats, including peer-reviewed scholarly articles. Be aware that some of these databases also contain magazine articles that are considered popular and not peer-reviewed. Most historical topics are interdisciplinary, so you may need to utilize a variety of these databases to cover all of the aspects of your topic.
Comprehensive resource for articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, especially useful for tracking citations forward and backward from a specific article.
Scholarly resource for students to explore biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America.
Biographical entries for contributors to history and contemporary life and culture. Images are included for many entries.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media from 1976 to present day. This primary source collection offers a window into African American history, culture, and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Content includes American and global news sources, including current and historical Black publications.
Provides contextual information on the world's most influential people.
Access to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Important: Access ends August 31st, 2025. Will still have access to over 80 other EBSCO databases. Provides full-text of the most important scholarly sources in the humanities.
Abstracts and some full text of the world's leading journals in political science.
Collection of oral histories relating to the May 4, 1970 shootings at Kent State University in Kent, Ohio. Includes eyewitness accounts of the event and its aftermath from students, faculty, residents and guardsman.
Multidisciplinary resource covering a wide variety of subjects and resource-types. Includes journal articles, reference books, primary documents, and images.
Covers the immediate experience of women in the form of diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographies and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Important: Access ends August 31st, 2025. Will still have access to over 80 other EBSCO databases. Full text as well as abstracts and references to journal articles, reference books, and conference papers.
Important: Access ends August 31st, 2025. Will still have access to over 80 other EBSCO databases. Abstracts and references to journal articles regarding race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration.
A comprehensive resource for scholarship in religion and philosophy.
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study.
Provides comprehensive coverage in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. University Libraries also has an open access publishing agreement with Wiley. To learn more visit our Open Access Publishing Guide
Full-text resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. beginning in 1600, this collection includes document projects and archives with over a thousand of documents.
A compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index and Harvard's Anthropological Literature. The World's largest source of anthropological, archaeological, and related interdisciplinary research.
A full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from thousands of academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies, and university presses. Covers a wide range of disciplines and contains scientific research as well as historical journal articles.
A digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as literary journals, academic monographs, and a wide variety of primary sources including Historical Collections from UA
Find UA eJournals by Title
Access library resources through Google Scholar including peer-reviewed journal articles, theses, books, abstracts and more.
Provides digital access to a highly comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Provides access to special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and trade magazines. Especially helpful for historical research into 18th and 19th Century America.
Full text archive of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras. Includes all pages as scanned images.
A searchable full-text database of early primary government documents and legal literature.
Provides digital images on every page of legal treatises on U.S. and British law published from 1800 through 1926.
Digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.
Describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world through unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations. Collections include not only published trial transcripts, but also popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery and other scandalous crimes.
Digital archives of early U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs.
Includes full-text resources and indexing for the U.S. Congress. Access Congressional hearings, committee reports, witness testimony, and other publications. Content also includes the Congressional Record and its predecessors, documents from the Congressional Research Service, and information about current and historic members of Congress.
Provides comprehensive legislative histories for federal laws. Each legislative history links to full text content that may include Congressional hearings, committee prints, and research reports related to legislative topics.
Searchable access to U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs from 1975-2016.