LibGuides: Emergency Management &amp; Homeland Security: Books &amp; eBooks

Searching the UA Libraries Catalog

1) Use the UA Libraries Catalog to find (print and eBooks) books at the University of Akron.

2) If our library doesn't have a PRINT book, click on the Search OhioLINK button.

3) If there is a copy in OhioLINK, have it sent to Akron by clicking the green "Request" button.

4) If the book is not at UA or in OhioLINK, try InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

Multidisciplinary eBook Collections (includes selective textbooks)

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebooks covering a wide variety of subjects with a user-friendly interface.
De Gruyter University Press e-books This link opens in a new window
E-books from Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania presses covering a variety of subjects, including sciences, humanities, business, technology, medicine, law, and more.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
A database that contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
A single point of entry for access to scholarly and academic books and journals from Oxford University Press. Serves the diverse and changing research needs of students, researchers, professors, and practitioners and seeks ongoing feedback from these communities.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently. University Libraries also has an open access publishing agreement with Elsevier. To learn more visit our Open Access Publishing Guide
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
EBooks, references works, and journals in the fields of science, medicine, engineering and more. University Libraries also has an open access publishing agreement with Springer Link. To learn more visit our Open Access Publishing Guide .
Taylor & Francis Group Books This link opens in a new window
Access e-books on a variety of subjects including e-books from Routledge and CRC Press.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. University Libraries also has an open access publishing agreement with Wiley. To learn more visit our Open Access Publishing Guide
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Note: The interface for all EBSCO databases will be updated in June 2025. Preview the new interface for this database. For more information about the change, visit the EBSCO new interface page.
Contains e-books on many academic subjects. Every word in every book is searchable and users can preview the e-books online and can check out the book for a specified amount of time.

Other eBook Collections

PsychiatryOnline Core Collection
Includes Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), DSM-5-TR, and the Spanish-language version of DSM-5.

Safari Books (O'Reilly Platform) This link opens in a new window
Electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields. Note: To access content, click the "Institution not listed?" link below the dropdown and enter your UA email.

Project MUSE
"... books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies." Some full-text available.
NCBI Bookshelf
eBooks and documents in life science and healthcare
Open Textbook Network (open access textbooks)
Free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.

Additional Information about Finding Books

If you are searching for a specific book, try the catalogs in this list. If you don't find it from one catalog, try the next catalog in the list.

Sometimes it is convenient to search electronic books directly particularly when looking for quick facts or code syntax. Refer to the electronic book sources in this section or the previous section, Databases to Find Aritcles, Books and More. Use the descriptions to find the databases that contain electronic books that are most closely related to your topic. Keep in mind that not all books will be available for download. It depends on the database and the library's subscriptions.

UA Libraries Catalog
Search for materials owned by UA Libraries.

Akron-Summit County Public Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find resources provided by the Akron-Summit Public Library. To be able to access these resources apply for a library card.

Interlibrary Loan
Use the Interlibrary Loan service to obtain books and articles that you need for your research that are not currently held by University Libraries.

Emergency Management & Homeland Security

WorldCat & Other Catalogs