Accounting Empirical Research

A leading data and research provider focused on audit, regulatory, and disclosure intelligence. Their data is collected , organized, and analyzed with rigor by an expert team of researchers.

Create an account using your uakron.edu email address. Access the account registration link here. eregister using the registration link each semester. Provides tax, regulatory, government, and business resources.

The most comprehensive scholarly business database with a large percentage of full-text material from journals, conference proceedings, investment research, industry, market research, and country reports, SWOT analyses and more.

The Checkpoint research system offers you fast, effective ways to find answers to your tax and financial research questions.

This expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) contains bibliographic citations from journals, books and dissertations covering economics-related literature in both economic theory and application.

Note: To access off campus connect via VPN. Instructions for setting up the VPN.  Only 5 users can use this database at a time. If you receive an error  message saying that the login is in use, please try accessing the database again later. Please contact us if you experience persistent difficulties.

Financial data including stock quotes, company comparisons, financial snapshots, SEC filings, interactive charting, and historical market information. Includes full-text Wall Street Journal (1979 - present), New York Times (1980 - present), Washington Post, Newsweek, Business Week, Forbes, and Fortune.

Provides access to Industry Market Research Reports, including vital information on every industry in the U.S. Economy.

Contains the entire Moody's and Mergent manual library, which provides business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt, capital stock, and more.

Provides access to more than 180,000 corporate and industry related documents covering over 100 countries and industries. An excellent resource for historical research.

Provides essential political, economic and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide. Identifies changes in business risk and provides detailed analysis of a country's prospects in the short to medium term.

Includes information on approximately 16,500 issuers of municipal securities, including facts and figures directly obtained from governments, municipalities and recording entities in all 50 U.S. states, Puerto Rico and Guam.Once into the database, click on Mergent Manuals at the top left.

Provides access to more than 85 years of annual reports for companies across the globe dating back to as early as 1925.

Provides enhanced access to the same information found in D&B’s Hoover’s Online and First Research, plus access to Key Business Rations and Industry Norms. Retrieve public and private U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Intellect company profiles incorporate ALL of the data found in Hoovers Online, plus corporate tree information and the ability to download/print company profiles. Intellect’s Advanced Search contains the same search markers as HOL, plus the Geo Mapping area, ability to download up to 20,000 records (2000 is default) and “Save Search” template builder. Also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.

Important Note: Replaced Mergent Online in June 2025

Corporate information covering over US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.

Provides cover-to-cover full-text access to many U.S. and international newspapers.

A database of full text articles from regional business news sources covering all metropolitan and rural areas in the United States.

To access resource, register for an SNL account with your University of Akron email.

Financial information including, but not limited to, newsletters, real-time news/alerts, news archive, company profiles, documents, events calendar, industry/market data, templated and as-reported sector-specific financials, transcripts, presentations, mergers & acquisitions, credit ratings, consensus analyst estimates, Excel integration tools, and mapping functionality in global industry.

For Faculty: Here is a video tutorial on accessing teaching notes. Please contact us for the necessary verification code.

SAGE Business Cases is a robust digital collection of business cases providing faculty, students and researchers with unlimited access to thousands of authoritative cases from over 100 countries. The collection spans a wide range business and management disciplines from leadership and entrepreneurship, to family business and women in leadership. Most cases include teaching notes and discussion questions to ensure effective classroom use.

An online directory resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. It is the most comprehensive resource for industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more.

A research platform that provides business intelligence and data analytics. Note: Here are Instructions for accessing WRDS.

A full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from thousands of academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies, and university presses. Covers a wide range of disciplines and contains scientific research as well as historical journal articles.

A digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as literary journals, academic monographs, and a wide variety of primary sources including Historical Collections from UA