Search for materials owned by UA Libraries.
A catalog for finding resources owned by OhioLINK libraries. An excellent tool for finding material that the University of Akron libraries do not own.
A catalog for finding resources owned by SearchOhio libraries. Find material that the University of Akron libraries and OhioLINK do not own.
From time to time, you may need a book that is unavailable in our collection, OhioLINK, and SearchOhio. In these cases, you can request it through ILL.
The University of Akron Libraries provides access to a variety of subscription-based and licenced resources eBooks and eBook collections. eBooks and eBook collections are available for on-campus and remote use by current UA students, faculty, staff, and emeritus. If you're off-campus you'll be prompted to enter your UAnet ID and password for access.
UA eBook Collections for veteran-related topics
Scholarly ebooks covering a wide variety of subjects with a user-friendly interface.
Health Care for Veterans: Background, Education, System Reform and Improvements
by
The federal government's role in providing health care to the nation's veterans can be traced back to World War I. The VA provides health care and health-related services through the Veterans Health Administration (VHA). VHA's primary mission is to provide health care services to eligible veterans and some family members. The VHA is also statutorily required to conduct medical research, to train health care professionals, to serve as a contingency backup to the Department of Defense (DOD) medical system during a national security emergency, and to provide support to the National Disaster Medical System and the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) as necessary. This book provide information about veterans' health care.
Finding success as a returning veteran or military student
by
Active duty military and veterans face special challenges in dealing with Higher Education. Written by those who have both served and taught, this text provides invaluable information, Web pointers, and insights. It is designed to help those serving and veterans-but also professors, advisors, and administrations. Treatment provides unique considerations for both campus-based and online education. Infuse student success into any program with our "IDentity" Series booklets. Written by national subject matter experts, the material contains strategies and activities for immediate application. If you like this IDentity Series: Finding Finding Success as a Returning Veteran or Military Student, you will love the other options available: Financial Responsibility (Clearpoint Financial), Now You're Thinking about College (Judy Chartrand et.al.), Now You're Thinking about Your Career (Judy Chartrand et.al.), Ownership (Megan Stone), and Financial Literacy (Farnoosh Torabi). AVAILABILITY: It is available via our Pearson Custom Library program as a standalone product or as part of a custom text. Go to http://www.pearsonlearningsolutions.com/custom-library/pearson-custom-student-success-and-career-development to view the content and build your book!
From the Marine Corps to College
by
Military Veteran Employment
by
Rethinking reintegration and veteran identity : a new consciousness
by
Serving America's Veterans
by
Understanding and Working with the Veteran Student: A Guide for Educators
by
Veterans Rights and Benefits
by
The Wounded Warrior Handbook
by
The typical wounded soldier must complete and file twenty-two forms after an active-duty injury. To soldiers and their families coping with the shock and reality of the injuries, figuring out what to do next--even completing tasks that seem easy like submitting paperwork--can be overwhelming and confusing. The second edition of this popular resource guide has been thoroughly revised to reflect new policies, additional benefits, updated procedures, and changes to insurance, including traumatic injury insurance and social security disability insurance. New chapters cover veterans' benefits in depth--which have seen significant changes in the last two years--and returning to active duty after an injury. As in the previous edition, this guide directs you to answers and resources for the most pressing and difficult questions that wounded veterans face, such as: Where can I find information on symptoms and treatments of injuries? How do I get through all this paperwork? Where can I get legal assistance? What can I do for employment? How do I get back into everyday life? How can I return to active duty? How do I deal with insurance? What benefits are available to me, and how do I claim them? What about my family? How can they help me? This trusted resource is both comprehensive and easy to use, and now the most up-to-date guide for wounded veterans and their families dealing with active-duty injuries.