2. Select the check boxes for as many of these other Ebscohost databases as you like (e.g. CINAHL, Academic Search Complete, and MasterFILE Premier).
Note: Use this link to access not only open access articles but University Library paid resources as well.
A free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Comprehensive source for full text nursing and allied health journal literature.
Leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. Contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Comprehensive index to international medical literature with links to full text.
Searchable interface to select APA databases and publications (PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycEXTRA, & PsycTESTS).
Comprehensive source for consumer health information with links to full text.
Comprehensive index to international medical literature with links to full text.
Includes access to Emcare database. Premium nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education.
Includes full-text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
One definitive way to determine if a journal is peer-reviewed is when this is acknowledged in the journal itself. For example, frequently include instruction for authors will use the phrase "peer reviewed." Others will say that manuscripts are sent for blind review, reviewed by a committee, or anonymously reviewed. Therefore, it is worthwhile to visit the journal publisher's official website and review the journal's review process and journal description/scope.
There are other ways to identify a peer-reviewed journal. Below are some tools to help us identify whether a journal is peer-reviewed:
1) Ulrich's Periodicals Directory includes information about whether the journal is peer-reviewed (or refereed). The print (paper) edition of Ulrich's is found in the Bierce Library.
2) Research Databases: Some databases allow users to limit a search to peer-reviewed journals. For example, CINAHL allows users to limit a search to peer-reviewed journals and indicates that an article is peer reviewed in the Journal Subset field, when appropriate. Note: Scholarly articles is the umbrella term for academic articles. All peer-reviewed articles are scholarly/academic journals but not all scholarly/academic journals are peer-reviewed. Authors of peer-reviewed articles go to a more rigorous process of evaluation than when writing in non-peer reviewed journals.