LibGuides: Chemistry: Find Chemical Literature

Search Using Structure

There are other databases that use structure search, but SciFinder connect the structure search to the chemical literature.

SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
New users must register for a SciFinder-n account.
Chemical information primarily from Chemical Abstracts, CAS registry, and Medline. Excellent search tool for finding chemical information from journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Training for SciFinder-n is available from the vendor

SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
New users must register for a SciFinder-n account.
Chemical information primarily from Chemical Abstracts, CAS registry, and Medline. Excellent search tool for finding chemical information from journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Training for SciFinder-n is available from the vendor
PubMed@UA This link opens in a new window
Note: Use this link to access not only open access articles but University Library paid resources as well.

A free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
The latest edition of the handbook. Useful for looking of physical constants, mathematical tables, thermodynamic properties, and much more. Able to search both by document/table name or by chemical compound.

Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, 8th Edition (Ebook)
Physical and chemical data, unit conversion, topic reviews, and equations for chemical engineers.
Polymer Handbook
Contains a broad array of information on polymers and their properties. An important polymer reference.
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
Encyclopedic coverage of theory, methods, and applications of spectroscopy and spectrometry. Doesn't have collections of spectral data.
Handbook of High-Resolution Spectroscopy
This essential handbook for advanced research students, graduate students, and researchers takes a systematic approach through the range of wavelengths and includes the latest advances in experiment and theory that will help and guide future applications.

These are some useful links to Chemisitry resources around the web.

Visual Elements Period Table
From the Royal Society of Chemists.
ChemSpider
A free chemical structure database from the Royal Society of Chemists.
Chemistry Information Sources
This is a guide to searching the chemical literature, maintained by volunteer science librarians. An excellent resource for in depth study of how to find chemical information.
Information Competencies for Chemistry Undergraduates
Another wikibook, shorter than Chemical Information Sources, published by the ACS and SLA Chemistry Division. This details the specific knowledge and skills librarians and the ACS hope undergraduate chemistry students gain before graduation.
PubChem
PubChem contains information about the biological activity of small molecules (i.e. drugs).

Chemistry Department
Homepage of the University of Akron Chemistry Department
Instrumentation
Instrumentation available at the Chemistry Department at University of Akron.
Seminars - Chemistry
Seminar schedule for the University of Akron Chemistry Department.

ACS Publications
A proxied link to the ACS journal collection. You can use this link to get off campus access.
Journal of the American Chemical Society
Go straight to JACS.
Macromolecules
Go straight to Macromolecules.