LibGuides: Counseling Research Guide: Articles & Databases

Quick Start Guide

Welcome to the UA Libraries! Start your search here, or find more resources in the tabs to the left.
Do you need a quick overview of what the library can do for you? Try this quick start guide:

Counseling Quick Start Guide
A listing of some great basic information of how the library can help you succeed in the School of Counseling.

Articles from Discipline-specific Resources

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Note: The interface for all EBSCO databases will be updated in June 2025. Preview the new interface for this database. For more information about the change, visit the EBSCO new interface page.Key resource for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Note: The interface for all EBSCO databases will be updated in June 2025. Preview the new interface for this database. For more information about the change, visit the EBSCO new interface page.Comprehensive source for full text nursing and allied health journal literature.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and substantial abstracts for books, book chapters, scholarly journal articles, government reports, and dissertations related to the field of criminal justice.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Note: The interface for all EBSCO databases will be updated in June 2025. Preview the new interface for this database. For more information about the change, visit the EBSCO new interface page.Bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Good resource to begin research in education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window Access to scholarly journals, education reports, and theses and dissertations on education topics. Good resource to supplement education research.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window Index to published measurement instruments in health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window Coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Note: The interface for all EBSCO databases will be updated in June 2025. Preview the new interface for this database. For more information about the change, visit the EBSCO new interface page.Comprehensive index to international medical literature with links to full text.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Note: The interface for all EBSCO databases will be updated in June 2025. Preview the new interface for this database. For more information about the change, visit the EBSCO new interface page.Includes full-text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window Searchable interface to select APA databases and publications (PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycEXTRA, & PsycTESTS).
PubMed@UA This link opens in a new window Note: Use this link to access not only open access articles but University Library paid resources as well.A free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window A core resource covering all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Note: The interface for all EBSCO databases will be updated in June 2025. Preview the new interface for this database. For more information about the change, visit the EBSCO new interface page.Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window Note: The interface for all EBSCO databases will be updated in June 2025. Preview the new interface for this database. For more information about the change, visit the EBSCO new interface page.Provides comprehensive coverage in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Articles from Interdisciplinary Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Note: The interface for all EBSCO databases will be updated in June 2025. Preview the new interface for this database. For more information about the change, visit the EBSCO new interface page.Multi-disciplinary source for scholarly, popular, professional, and news publications. This is a good place to start many searches or to gather material from various disciplines at once.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window A digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as literary journals, academic monographs, and a wide variety of primary sources including Historical Collections from UA
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary resource covering a wide variety of subjects and resource-types. Includes journal articles, reference books, primary documents, and images.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently. University Libraries also has an open access publishing agreement with Elsevier. To learn more visit our Open Access Publishing Guide
Web of Science This link opens in a new window A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.

Find Full text Articles

Use these links if you know the article title, author, or journal name and you want to get the article PDF:
• Full-Text Article Look-Up
• PubMed Full-Text Article Look-Up

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Can't find the full text for an article?
Submit an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) request.
Visit ILL page

Counseling Research Guide

Get Help!

Research Assistance

Quick Start Guide

Articles from Discipline-specific Resources

Articles from Interdisciplinary Resources

Find Full text Articles

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)