LibGuides: Criminal Justice Studies Research Guide: Articles & Databases

Quick Start Guide

Welcome to the UA Libraries! Start your search here, or find more resources in the tabs to the left.
Do you need a quick overview of what the library can do for you in the Department of Criminal Justice Studies? Try this quick start guide:

Criminal Justice Studies Student Quick Start Guide [PDF]
A listing of some great basic information of how the library can help you succeed.

Finding Articles

To find articles on a TOPIC or SUBJECT, use databases. Databases collect article references from many sources so you can search broadly.
If you have a reference and you want to FIND AN EXACT ARTICLE, use Z ipSearch. Search for the article title and follow the links to the full text. Alternately, you can use Google Scholar from the UA Libraries home page, which is pretty good at locating EXACT article titles.

Criminal Justice Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and substantial abstracts for books, book chapters, scholarly journal articles, government reports, and dissertations related to the field of criminal justice.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Virtual Library The NCJRS Virtual Library is a federally funded resource that provides summaries of 235,000+ criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary source for scholarly, popular, professional, and news publications. This is a good place to start many searches or to gather material from various disciplines at once.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window A digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as literary journals, academic monographs, and a wide variety of primary sources including Historical Collections from UA
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.

Related Databases

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Key resource for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Includes full-text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window Searchable interface to select APA databases and publications (PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycEXTRA, & PsycTESTS).
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window Open Web. Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research (includes law) and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The University of Akron School of Law posts faculty publications on SSRN. The database is free to use. You do not need to login to search the database. You can also use Google Scholar to search this database.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window A core resource covering all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive coverage in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Legal and Policy-related Resources

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window To access off campus connect via VPN. Instructions for setting up the VPN. Please contact us if you experience any difficulties.Bloomberg Law provides access to legal content integrated with proprietary company and market information as well as world-class news.
Hannah Capitol Connection This link opens in a new window Available on campus and off campus with a UANet ID. Ohio Acts and bills 1989 to current. Legislative history documents linked from each bill/act, some of which are not on the free web, Lexis or Westlaw.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Provides full-text primary and secondary sources for legal and government information. Collections include scholarly journals, judicial and Congressional publications, and legal reference materials, with a substantial focus on historical resources.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window Includes scholarly law journals from around the world, and provides information on current issues, thoughts, and trends in the legal world.

National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) NCSL is a non-profit, non-partisan organization that has lots of research information on state legislation, by topic.
Oyez.com Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia).

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window Includes full-text resources and indexing for the U.S. Congress. Access Congressional hearings, committee reports, witness testimony, and other publications. Content also includes the Congressional Record and its predecessors, documents from the Congressional Research Service, and information about current and historic members of Congress.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive legislative histories for federal laws. Each legislative history links to full text content that may include Congressional hearings, committee prints, and research reports related to legislative topics.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window This index is useful for discovering articles relating to public policy issues, including public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, international conflict, and natural disasters. The content indexed includes scholarly journals, conference papers, and government documents.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 This link opens in a new window Covers historical legal periodicals and law reviews from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Coverage includes jurisdictional surveys, federal court case surveys, and annual institutes.

Criminal Justice Studies Research Guide

Find Full text Articles

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Get Help!

Research Support