Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Current Resources and Services: Collections Consolidation

Overview

This past year, we’ve found that concentrating services centrally has great benefits and works well for our patrons and the library staff. Given the potential for cost reduction and an opportunity to create a focal point for our collection and services centrally, we will be moving the S&T Library collection to Bierce Library in the coming year.

Hours

What is happening?

We are consolidating our collection into one location, making it easier to maintain access to all of our materials

The entire S&T Library collection will remain available to University of Akron students and faculty with increased digitization of resources and swift turnaround time for resource use or pick up in Bierce Library.

Course Reserves and other highly used S&T Library resources and expertise were moved to Bierce Library in 2020.

When is it happening?

The S&T Library reference, reserves, and microfiche/film collection will move to Bierce during summer 2021. 
The S&T Library journal collection will move to the lower level of the S&T Library during summer 2021 and will be available via request throughout the move. 

The S&T Library collection will operate as closed stacks--available via request with a short turnaround time--while we work to integrate the S&T Library materials into the Bierce Library collection. 

How can students and faculty request items from the S&T Library?

Students and faculty can request books by searching for items in the UA Libraries Catalog: http://library.uakron.edu/

1. If the book is available, request it through the request button within the UA Libraries Catalog.

2. Course Reserves are already available at Bierce. If you are having issues locating items, email University Libraries (UL) staff at circ@uakron2.libanswers.com

What about study spaces?

We have increased the number of study rooms in Bierce Library by 15%. These rooms are available for all University of Akron students and can be scheduled online.

  • Each study room is equipped with a whiteboard and markers for study purposes.
  • Larger learning studios can be scheduled in Bierce Library for socially distanced group study.

Additionally, we reconfigured the entire third floor of Bierce Library for individual, quiet study. The space is regularly monitored to support independent study. All group study will be redirected to a different floor in the library.

The College of Engineering and Polymer Science will be using former S&T library space for tutoring, study areas, resume writing, and student organization information tables. For more information contact Katey Yinger