The Akron LGBTQ+ Archive project is working to establish a collection of oral histories and archival materials related to the history of the LGBTQ+ community in Akron and Summit County, Ohio. This new Archive, set to be housed in The University of Akron Archives and Special Collections, will document the lived experiences of LGBTQ+ Akronites and their families, from the post-World War II era to the early 2000s.
This will be the first centralized archive of LGBTQ+ history in Summit County, with a mission to preserve, share, and celebrate stories of Akron’s queer community. Materials donated and shared with the Archive will be made publicly accessible for in-person and online research.
The Akron LGBTQ+ Archive is privately funded by the Akron Community Foundation through the Gay Community Endowment Fund.
The Akron LGBTQ+ Archive is collecting recorded oral history interviews (video or audio) with individuals who have first-hand experiences and memories of the LGBTQ+ community in Summit County between the years of 1940 – 2000. Interviewees do not need to be members of the LGBTQ+ community themselves, but should be able to share information on individuals, events, and locations that were of significance to the community.
Key subjects of interest include early LGBTQ+ bars and venues, protests and political actions, HIV/AIDS activism, LGBTQ+ arts and entertainment, and LGBTQ+ inclusive businesses, religious institutions, and organizations including campus-based groups.
In addition to oral histories, we are interested in collecting papers, organizational records, ephemera, photos, videos, born-digital materials, and three-dimensional artifacts, such as art, crafts, accessories, and apparel. Materials will be accepted in accordance with the University Archives Collections Development Policy.
The Akron LGBTQ+ Archive can't exist without your support! If you are interested in participating in an oral history interview, donating materials, or if you'd like to learn more about the project, please contact us at LGBTQarchive@uakron.edu, or call (330) 972-6872.