Skip to main content

Reference Management Tools: EndNote Basic

Reference Manager – EndNote Basic (formerly called EndNote Web)

Thomson Reuters EndNote

EndNote Basic is the free version of EndNote Online. There is not access to the EndNote Software that you download on your computer with the free version. EndNote Basic can help you be more organized with and format your references. To store references, it doesn't require you to install software. It is not perfect. Sometimes the data is wrong and the information needs edited. Sometimes the Capture button does not function properly. However if you use the tips below, this can make EndNote Basic the time saver that it is meant to be.

Getting Started with EndNote Basic

It is freely available to everyone. To get started,

  1. Setup a free account. Go to EndNote Basic opens new window
  2. Know how to get references into your database
  3. You still need to know your bibliographic style. Go to the Citation Styles section of this guide
  4. Know how to install and use the EndNote Plug-in for Microsoft Word. Go to the Plug-in section

Keeping Organized

Keep your references organized using folders and make use of the note fields to make notations about your references. This might help you when you start writing the document.

Cite While you Write

This add-in can be used with Microsoft Word. After selecting Options, then Download Installers from the EndNote Basic menu, download the correct version of Cite While you Write for Windows or the Mac OS X.

Formatted in-text references can be inserted using Cite While you Write. A reference section will be generated at the end of your document as well.

How to Import References when There isn't a Direct Import Option

Use the method you like best. They all have pros and cons.

Capture Button

can be found using Options/Download Installers from the EndNote Basic menu. For Internet Explorer, this button can be installed the same time as Cite While you Write. There is an extension for Firefox users. For other browsers, you must use the capture bookmarklet. The webpage provides instructions about installing it.

Sometimes the Capture button does not work well – even when using some partner websites. The form will appear, but you would need to enter or edit every field. When this happens, you might want to import a RIS file or use the online search in EndNote Basic if you can. Otherwise, you would be forced to manually enter the information.

Online Search

There are many online databases and websites that can be searched from EndNote Basic. Remember if it is a database that needs a subscription, UA Libraries must subscribe; otherwise, you can't use it. Some users have found the search to be slow. If this is the case, it might be faster to Export/Import a RIS file

Export a RIS file, then Import it into EndNote Basic

Most publisher websites and databases will allow a RIS file to be exported. There are many, many other export files that you can use with EndNote Basic. From experience, you will learn the best one to use for a particular database or website.

Notice where the file saves on your computer. Choose Collect from the EndNote Basic menu, then Import References. The Import References webpage will require an export file, an import option (format of the file e.g. RIS), and a folder. Select the Import button to import the references.

How do I get Books in EndNote Basic?

You have a few options. Choose what is easiest for you.

  • From the screen that lists the details about the book, video recording, etc., use the Capture button in your Internet browser. You will likely need to make corrections in the web form.
  • Search the OhioLINK catalog directly from EndNote Basic. It is a simple search, so you can enter terms and choose what fields are searched only. If you can generate a manageable number of results, this could be a good option.
  • Find the book at the publisher website and use the RIS export if it is available.

How do I get Articles from EBSCO in EndNote Basic?

The easiest way to collect citations from EBSCO is to use the Folder View screen. Place publications in your folder using the folder icon.
Radio button choices when export from EBSCO
  • Save citations to a file formatted for:
  • Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. ... Zotero)
  • Direct Export to EndNote Web
  • ...

Next, select the Export hyperlink. From the resulting screen, select the radio button beside Direct Export to EndNote Web (i.e. EndNote Basic) in the Save citations to a file formatted for: section, then press the Save button.

Examples of databases that use the EBSCO interface are:

How do I get Articles from Proquest in EndNote Basic?

In Proquest

Mark records from the search results screen, then select the Save hyperlink.

Select RIS from the dropdown menu.

Lastly, select the Continue button from the screen that appears to create a RIS export file.

Example Begins

Save Dropdown Menu – Important Entries Export/Save Section

...

RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.) shown selected

Example Ends

In EndNote Basic

Choose Collect from the main menu in EndNote Basic, then select Import References. From the Import References screen, Select the .ris file that you downloaded from Proquest. Select RefMan RIS from the Import Option and a folder from the To combobox or dropdown.

Examples of databases that use the Proquest interface are: