Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reference Management Tools: Zotero

Reference Manager - Zotero and Juris-M variant

Zotero and Juris-M

You can use Zotero and Juris-M on Mac, Windows and Linux.

Getting Started with Juris-M

How to Install:

  1. Go to the Juris-M downloads opens new window.
  2. From the Juris-M downloads, install JM Indigo Law Review and/or JM Indigo in the Citation Stylesheets section.
  3. From the Juris-M downloads, install the Abbreviations Filter. This enables you to use abbreviations to generate the full names of journals and law reports.

Go to Linux installation tips opens new window.

Go to the screencast for special instructions when Zotero is installed on your computer (video) opens new window. Be aware that you can import references from Zotero to Juris-M.

Zotero/Juris-M Automatically Adds References for...

Firefox toolbar with Juris-M icon.

In the toolbar of your Internet Browser, select the Juris-M connector (M icon) or the Zotero connector in the toolbar to automatically add references to Juris-M or Zotero, respectively.

  • Lexis Academic
  • Hein Online
  • ZipSearch
  • University of Akron Library Catalog
  • Proquest
  • Web pages
  • PubMed
  • Worldcat
  • Jstor

But references from Lexis and Westlaw must be added manually.

Making your PDF Annotations Searchable

This video shows how to make your PDF annotations searchable by Zotero Standalone. A transcript is available on YouTube.

Note: Select 720p from settings button if possible.

Is the video not visible? Check your browser compatibility. opens new window

If your browser is compatible, try the video, Adding and searching the notes you have in a PDF with Zotero, on YouTube. opens new window

Importing References into Zotero from EBSCO Database

This video shows how to include references in your Zotero database that you find in a database that uses the EBSCO interface. A transcript is on YouTube.

Note: Select 720p from settings button if possible.

Is the video not visible? Check your browser compatibility. opens new window

If your browser is compatible, try the video, Importing References into Zotero from EBSCO Database, on YouTube. opens new window

Adding a PDF to an existing entry in Zotero created from EBSCO

This video shows how to add a PDF to a Zotero entry that you already created from a database that uses the EBSCO interface. A transcript is on YouTube.

Note: Select 720p from settings button if possible.

Is the video not visible? Check your browser compatibility. opens new window

If your browser is compatible, try the video, Adding a PDF to an existing entry in Zotero created from EBSCO, on YouTube. opens new window

Adding Citations to your Microsoft Word Document using Zotero

This video shows how to use the Zotero plug-in for Microsoft Word to insert citations in your paper and create a reference page in the citation style that you want. A transcript is on YouTube.

Note: Select 720p from settings button if possible.

Is the video not visible? Check your browser compatibility. opens new window

If your browser is compatible, try the video, Adding Citations to your Microsoft Word Document using Zotero, on YouTube. opens new window

Keeping Organized in Zotero and Juris-M

Zotero and Juris-M create a library of citations and attached documents.  You can organize your citations into different collections (folders), similar to creating playlists in iTunes.  With saved searches, you can create smart collections that automatically fill with relevant materials as you add them to your library.

You can also assign tags to your library items.

 

Double Check Bibliographies and Footnotes Generated

Juris-M does the best job of on Bluebook Law Review citations of any reference management software tested.  See Comparison chart.  But it is NOT perfect, so be sure to double check your citations.

Importing Records to Zotero and Juris-M

Zotero - You can import records from Endnote, Refworks, etc. to Zotero or Juris-M. But you will have to export the Refworks (or other) files first.

See Zotero's documentation on Importing Records from Endnote opens new window.

See NCSU Libraries, Exporting Citations from Refworks to Zotero opens new window.

Zotero – Some Document Types that are Formatted Well

Conference Papers

Zotero formats a paper from a conference better than many other reference managers. Often in the reference section of a paper, citation styles format a paper published in conference proceedings differently than an unpublished paper. There are additional fields that are used by Zotero that provide better support for conference papers.

Patents

Zotero has a filing date field as well as an issued date. This enables proper formatting of patents in particular citation styles, such as Chicago style that requires both. Some reference managers couldn't format the reference this properly in this case.

Searching Zotero/Juris-M Library

Zotero and Juris-M searches the citations and will also search the fulltext of pdf attachments Go to searching (Zotero Documentation) opens new window.