Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Annotated Bibliography (Wayne College): Examples

MLA Sample Annotated Bibliography

The attached document is a template from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) you can use as a guide when writing your paper.

Example

 

From "Writing for College"  COM Library by Kathryn Park http://libguides.com.edu/content.php?pid=363290&sid=4447018

Example

Russell, B. (1950). History of western philosophy. New York, NY : Routledge.


A Nobel Prize award writer of Literature 1950, Bertrand Russell who has taught philosophy at the University of Chicago, University of California and Harvard, writes this book. Russell writes from the rise of Greek civilization to the emergence of logical analysis in the twentieth century. Among the philosophers mentioned are Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle, the Skeptics, Augustine, Benedict, Gregory the Great, and Aquinas. It is written and presented in clear and vigorous style with some biases and assumptions of the nature of the philosophy and the philosophical methods, which has caused debate in the philosophy community today. The style is flowing and the approach is popular and not technical, so that the general reader can have an appreciation for the social history of philosophy. This book  is recommended for public and academic libraries as supplementary reading for students studying philosophy.  This book should be read with Copleston’s book (1972), to read a different perceptive on Christian philosophy with an emphasis on a Catholic background.

 

Example

Copleston, F.C. (1972). History of philosophy: Augustine to Scotus. Volume 2 New York, New York: Doubleday.

Written by a Jesuit priest, who studied and lectured at Heythrop College, Copleston wrote an eleven-volume set on the history of Philosophy. He is famous in the philosophy field for a 1948 BBC broadcast with Bertrand Russell concerning the existence of God.  Originally conceived for a lecture series for Catholic Seminary students, this book displays that the author’s passion rests with post- classical to pre-Christian philosophy thought.  He attempts to present a history of philosophy from classical to modern, with an emphasis that the post Aristotelian Greek thought and Christian theology should not be overlooked in the study of philosophy. His main point is that St. Augustine writings influenced the middle ages, when Christian thought coexisted with non-Christian Greek Philosophy. The author shows his biases for his dislike for Bertrand Russell’s simplistic understanding of Christian philosophy. Copeleston’s middle ages were not a dark period, but a time when knowledge and learning helped established a University system, which led to discoveries in sciences. This book is written for students and scholars in the field of Philosophy and theology, and is recommended for the academic Library or Seminary.

Example: Comparing, Contrasting & Special Features

Roth, J.  (Ed.). (2000). World philosopher and their work (Vols.1-3).  Hackensack, New Jersey:  Salem Press.

This three- volume collection is arranged in 231 alphabetically chapters, written by 120 scholars, and edited by John Roth, a professor of Philosophy from Claremont McKenna College since 1966. The book is about the greatest world philosophers from ancient Greek to African philosophers to modern philosophers.  Written with the needs of students and the general public in mind, each chapter provides a bibliographic overview, discussions of the philosophers' work, and historic influences. The strength of this set is that each chapter provides pictures of the philosophers, categorizes the type of philosophy such as Islamic or metaphysics, and provides a discussion of the major works in detail.  This set is detailed in scope and the depths of the articles have more critical analysis than Borcherts’s Encyclopedia of Philosophy. This set has several special features including a list of primary sources after each chapter, a list of works arranged by topic in the index and a list of sources for further inquiry.

 

 

Examples

View these Examples from Purdue OWL

Annotated Bibliography Samples ( APA & MLA)

View these Examples (located at the bottom of the page) from Skidmore College includes steps and a tutorial:

Writing An Annotated Bibliography

Tutorial: Creating an Annotated Bibliography