Information about an event, published in books and academic articles can take anywhere from 6 months to year for the information to be available for reading and research.
Therefore, to locate current event use newspapers databases, weekly magazines located in databases or websites.
See more information on the Information Cycle and its impact on events in the news cycle.
A news collection (including the Akron Beacon Journal), explore issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Provides full-text primary and secondary sources for legal and government information. Collections include scholarly journals, judicial and Congressional publications, and legal reference materials, with a substantial focus on historical resources.
Note: The interface for all EBSCO databases will be updated in June 2025. Preview the new interface for this database. For more information about the change, visit the EBSCO new interface page.
Provides cover-to-cover full-text access to many U.S. and international newspapers.
A primary resource covering current social issues that helps students discover, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, writing assignments, debates, and presentations. By providing both pro and con perspectives on many topics, this is an excellent starting point for building an argumentative essay.
This resource assists researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.
Helpful guides to citation styles: