Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Debating Gun Control by
Publication Date: 2016-10-14
Americans have a deeply ambivalent relationship to guns. The United States leads all nations in rates of private gun ownership, yet stories of gun tragedies frequent the news, spurring calls for tighter gun regulations.
Gun Ownership and the Second Amendment by
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
This book provides an overview of prior judicial treatment of the Second Amendment, with a focus on the litigation of Colombia versus Heller and the potential impact of its outcome. .
How America Got Its Guns by
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
This book on the history of guns in America examines the Second Amendment and the laws and court cases it has spawned.
The Second Amendment on Trial by
Publication Date: 2013-08-09
On the final day of its 2008 term, a sharply divided U.S. Supreme Court issued a 5-to-4 decision striking down the District of Columbia's stringent gun control laws as a violation of the Second Amendment. Reversing almost seventy years of settled precedent, the high court reinterpreted the meaning of the "right of the people to keep and bear arms" to affirm an individual right to own a gun in the home for purposes of self-defense.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Contains e-books on many academic subjects. Every word in every book is searchable and users can preview the e-books online and can check out the book for a specified amount of time.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of full text online encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
A database that contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Access to thousands of academic monographs, in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
A database of full text books, largely in the public domain, provided in a wide variety of formats and languages, including audio books. An excellent resource to find classic books online.
- The library provides access to an extensive collection of ebooks made available through our databases
- They are available to you wherever you have an internet connection, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- They can be downloaded to your computer or device (depending on the limits set by the provider) or read online.
- They are available free to UA patrons by logging in with a UAnet ID and password.
Under the "View Entire Collection" dropbox select Electronic Books.