Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Web of Science: Help with Web of Science

Web of Science Tutorials – Table of Contents

Web of Science Tutorials from the Database Producer

How to Access Web of Science

The best way to get to a specific database is to use the Databases by Title hyperlink.

Can I use Web of Science Off-Campus?

Be sure to use the UA Libraries Catalog or Web site to use the proxy server. Go to a definition of a proxy server. opens new window

What Can I Find in Web of Science?

Web of Science contains several databases

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) – 1965-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) – 1965–present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) – 1975–present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) – 1990–present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) – 1990–present
  • Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) – 2015–present

These databases do not contain full text articles, but the Full Text Finder button could lead you there.

Want to know what journals are covered by Web of Science?

  • Select Master Journal List in the navigation.

How to Use Topic Search in Web of Science (video, 2.20 min.)

Learn how to use topic search to get a list of relevant articles.

The transcript is available on YouTube for the video.

Note: Select 720p from settings button if possible.

Is the video not visible? Check your browser compatibility. opens new window If your browser is compatible, try the video, How to Use Topic Search in Web of Science, opens new window on YouTube.

How to Filter Results in Web of Science (video, 1.51 min.)

The transcript is available on YouTube for the video.

Note: Select 720p from settings button if possible.

Is the video not visible? Check your browser compatibility. opens new window If the browser is compatible, try the video, How to Filter Results in Web of Science, opens new window on YouTube.

Rate this Tutorial