This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry  

Guide for Chemistry resources at University of Akron
Last Updated: Dec 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uakron.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Basic Chem Info

  • Access Science
    AccessScience is an online encyclopedia of science and technology. AccessScience contains encyclopedia articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates, and science news.

ACS Publications

Finding Articles

If you need to find articles on a TOPIC or SUBJECT, use one of our databases. Databases collect article references from many sources so you can search broadly.

If you have a reference and you want to FIND AN EXACT ARTICLE, use the A-to-Z journal list. Search for the journal title and follow the links to the full text.

Alternately, you can use Google Scholar, which is pretty good at locating EXACT article titles.

      

    Finding Books

    Use the library catalog to find books at The University of Akron. If our library doesn't have a title, click on the "Search OhioLink" button. Search OhioLink button

    If there is a copy in OhioLink, have it sent to Akron by clicking the green "Request" button.  Request Item Button

    If the book is not at Akron or in OhioLink, try Interlibrary Loan.

        

      How to Use This Guide

      Hi, my name is Ian McCullough, Physical Sciences Librarian at University of Akron. This guide's pages (those tabs above this box) are arranged around "big picture" needs of chemists:

         "Find Chemical Literature" - Finding articles by structure, keyword, subject; finding books; finding basic background information in references.

         "Properties/Spectra" - Use our electronic and print resources to find spectral physical property data.

         "Reactions & Synthesis" - Research and plan your reactions and come up with a synthetic strategy.

         "Databases" - All chemistry databases, in case the regular ones aren't working for you.

         "Citation & References" - RefWorks, ACS style, how and when to reference.

         "Chemistry Links" - Cool and interesting chemistry from around the web.

         "Patents" - where to search for and obtain patent literature.


      If this is confusing, or you aren't finding what you want, please contact me (contact info on the right). I'm willing to teach chemical information to just about any person or group anywhere.

      Thanks for stopping by.

         

          

        Chemistry - Essential Databases

        If you are looking for an article, try these databases first -

        • SciFinder Scholar  
            
          You will need to register if you do not have an account. Contains references to patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, and articles, as well as chemical data (structures and properties) and reaction information.
        • Web of Science
          The best curated scientific citation service – you can tell easily who cited an article in question within the Web of Science database. Also has good search capabilities for finding and analyzing an author's publications.
        • PubMed  
            
          Good source for biochemistry, medicinal chemistry, drug discovery, and pharmacology. Government website of medical literature citations and links to full text journals from participating publishers. The Medline portion of PubMed is indexed by SciFinder.
        • Reaxys  
            
          Has reaction, synthesis, and chemical data. Contains experimentally validated substance information from the chemical literature and patents. Especially strong for finding reactions and property data of organic, inorganic, and organometallic substances. Data comes mostly from the Gmelin Handbook (inorganic chemistry), the Beilstein Handbook (organic chemistry), and select patent classes.

        Subject Librarian

        Profile Image
        Ian McCullough
        Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
        Contact Info
        330-972-6264
        Science & Technology Library, 138
        Send Email
         
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip