This is the "Workshop Materials" page of the "LaTeX" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LaTeX  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uakron.edu/latex Print Guide RSS Updates

Workshop Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Workshops

Your Feedback Counts

Please take the brief survey. Your feedback is valued and the suggestion, at least in part, will be used improve these workshops.

 

Previous Attendee Feedback

See some of the student feedback used to improve these workshops so far.

  • More about what LaTeX is in wksp 1
  • Much unknown terminology in wksp 1 (Added Glossary and Typesetting Diagram)
  • More installation information
  • Cover more operating systems
  • Start with distributions differences, less on the editors
  • Make separate handouts describing the basics of each editor
  • Show code differences between class files in wksp 2
  • Provide extra practical examples for wksp 2
  • Give tables and figures their own workshops
  • Make a working example to describe LaTeX features (wksp 3)
  • Give tables and figures their own workshops
  • Give a sideways table example 
  • Give an example of a table and figure side-by-side
  • Provide more equations commented out in wksp 6
  • Cover .bib file before .tex file in wksp 7
  • Give a .tex file using major bib. styles for future use (wksp 7)
  • Make code available for workshop handouts
  • Make code available for the tex files used by the instructor in class

The Point of the Workshop Series

This workshop series was created to enable attendees to create a LaTeX article from start to finish. LaTeX is an extremely powerful typesetting system with superior equation support; however in many ways, there is more of a learning curve with LaTeX than with proprietary word processing software.

Expert coding skills are not required. However, the better that you are at writing code, then the faster you will understand LaTeX. Anyone can learn. You just need practice and experience! There are great resources available for beginners and a glossary to help with the new terminology.

Workshop 1, Finding, Installing and Using LaTeX Software

Want to get started with LaTeX, but are unsure of how to get the software? Attend this workshop – sign-up form. After successfully completing this workshop, you will be able to

  • Choose the appropriate software for your operating system
  • Install the software and packages
  • Use the software to generate a LaTeX document given a .tex file
  • Locate documentation and tutorials

Workshop 2, Using Document Classes and Packages for your Journal - Preamble and Document Structure

Want to learn more about publisher provided document classes and packages? Attend this workshop – sign-up form. After successfully completing this workshop, you will be able to

  • Create a simple LaTeX document using different class files
  • Modify a LaTeX document to use different packages
  • Change margins, linespacing, and paragraphy spacing for article.cls

  • Workshop 2 Handout (PDF)
    Learn how to include and use a journal class and packages when writing an article for your selected journal.
  • Workshop 2 - Class Files - Windows/Mac
    LaTeX documents for Workshop 2. Base2.tex is to be used during the workshop and finished2.tex is the file that I use during class. The other .tex documents are supplement material for further study. Any files needed to generate the these documents are included.
  • Workshop 2 - Class Files - Other OS
    Contains the same files in Workshop2.zip except in .tar format.
  • Publisher Packages Comparison
    See the differences in syntax and order of entering commands when using different packages. Note: this might not be the most recent version of the publisher packages. Always refer to package documentation.
  • elsarticle.cls Documentation
    Publisher supplied information on how to download and use the class and bibliographic style files.
  • LaTeX Margins & Spacing
    See a few examples of setting margins and line spacing.

Workshop 3, Writing a LaTeX Article - The Basics

Ready to write the body of your Article using LaTeX? Attend this workshop – sign-up form. After successfully completing this workshop, you will be able to

  • Use common commands and environments to create a document

  • Workshop 3 Handout
    Learn common commands, environments, and declarations used in document creation.
  • Workshop 3 - Class Files - Window/Mac
    LaTeX documents for Workshop 3. Base3.tex is to be used during the workshop and finished3.tex is the file that I use during class. The other .tex documents are supplement material for further study. Any files needed to generate the these documents are included.
  • Workshop 3 - Class Files - Other OS
    Contains the same files in Workshop3.zip except in .tar format.

Workshop 4, Writing a LaTeX Article - Using Tables

Do you have tables in your LaTeX article? Attend this workshop – sign-up form. After successfully completing this workshop, you will be able to

  • Create a table in your LaTeX document
  • Use various packages to gain more control over formatting tables

  • Workshop 4 Handout
    Learn how to include tables in your document using standard LaTeX commands and packages.
  • Workshop 4 - Class Files - Windows/Mac
    LaTeX documents for Workshop 4. Base4.tex is to be used during the workshop and finished4.tex is the file that I use during class. The other .tex documents are supplement material for further study. Any files needed to generate the these documents are included.
  • Workshop 4 - Class Files - Other OS
    Contains the same files in Workshop4.zip except in .tar format.

Workshop 5, Writing a LaTeX Article - Embedding Figures

Do you have images in your LaTeX article? Attend this workshop – sign-up form. After successfully completing this workshop, you will be able to

  • Produce previously created/images figures in your LaTeX document
  • Name image file types supported by LaTeX
  • Use optional arguments, commands, and some tricks to gain more control over image placement.

Workshop 6, Writing Formulas for a LaTeX Article

Do you have equations in your LaTeX article? Attend this workshop – sign-up form. After successfully completing this workshop, you will be able to

  • Create equations with and without use of the amsmath package
  • Locate documentation containing various mathematical commands and symbols

  • Workshop 6 Handout
    Learn how to include equations in your document using standard LaTeX commands and some packages provided by AMS.
  • Workshop 6 - Class Files - Windows/Mac
    LaTeX documents for Workshop 6. Base6.tex is to be used during the workshop and finished6.tex is the file that I use during class. The other .tex documents are supplement material for further study. Any files needed to generate the these documents are included.
  • Workshop 6 - Class Files - Other OS
    Contains the same files in Workshop6.zip except in .tar format.
  • IEEE Xplore Digital Library  
      
    Use IEEE Xplore? HTML versions of the article have quick conversion of equations in the article to the TeX format. Note: The equation might be coded a bit different than you would by hand.

Workshop 7, Using BibTeX

Do you want to include references in your LaTeX article? Attend this workshop – sign-up form. After successfully completing this workshop, you will be able to

  • Create a BibTeX database by downloading bibliographic references or creating entries manually
  • Use LaTeX and BibTeX in conjunction to automatically generate a reference section and in-text citations
  • Use packages to attain different bibliographic styles
  • Recognize other packages that provide bibliographical management
 

Ask Me a Question

Email (tstitz@uakron.edu) or
Text (330-368-6192) me!

QR Code
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip