This is the "FAQ" page of the "Manufacturing Engineering Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Manufacturing Engineering Technology  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uakron.edu/manufacturing_engtech Print Guide RSS Updates

FAQ Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FAQ

 

Rate this Guide!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


News for Faculty

IdeaExchange@UAkron is our new institutional repository. Preserve your work and make it easier to find via Google. Create a SelectedWorks page to promote your most important works.

When posting work, always follow the publisher's guidelines.

Want to Access Electronic Resources Off-Campus?

Use the proxy server by accessing resources using the UA Libraries Catalog or Web site. You will be prompted for your UANet ID and password from The University of Akron Login screen. Most of the time you will be prompted one time per browser session. NOTE: If you go to the URL of the resource directly, you will bypass the proxy server.

Some resources like Refworks will require another user id and password, but most don't. Often when you are prompted by ANYTHING besides The University of Akron Login screen, either

  • You did not go through or were somehow dropped by the proxy server or
  • we do not have access to the particular item (an article from a year of a journal that is not part of our subscription). Check the E-Journal Portal to verify dates that we have access.

Where do I start?

Subject or Course Guides are a great place to go to find out about a subject (If this is the subject you seek, you are already here!).

Search-A-Roo is a good place to start [more information]. It searches several of our databases and catalogs simultaneously. This is not to be used for in-depth research.

thumbs upGood use – Find one article to review for a class project.
thumbs downPoor use – Perform a background search for your thesis.
*Images provided by Microsoft Clip Art

Use the databases directly for in-depth research on a topic. If you know exactly what book (or DVD, etc.) that you want, use the catalog directly.

  • Subject Guides
    Guides to research and resources created by UL librarians.
  • Search-A-Roo
    Search the UA Libraries catalog, OhioLINK catalog, and several databases in most disciplines all at once. Search-A-Roo is the best place to start many research projects. If it does work for your research project, select a database by subject.

How do I Find a Specific Article?

Do you know WHERE the Article is (what journal, conference, volume, pages, etc)? Use the UA Libraries Catalog.

  • For journals, use a title search (EXACT title).
  • For conferences, use a keyword search.
  • Pay attention to the volumes/years that we have. For more assistance, please contact me.

Need a SPECIFIC Article that Can't be Accessed Electronically and is Not in Our Library? Try

  • InterLibrary Loan
    Need a reference and you cannot access it through UA Libraries, OhioLINK, or SearchOhio? Try Interlibrary Loan.

How do I Find Articles on a Topic?

Did not get the results that you sought from Search-A-Roo or want to perform a more thorough search? Use databases on the Manufacturing Engineering Technology Databases Tab. Use the descriptions to find the databases closest related to your topic and that contain articles.

Where should I start? Try the following:

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Multi-disciplinary source for scholarly, popular, professional, and news publications. This is a good place to start many searches or to gather material from various disciplines at once.
  • IEEE Xplore Digital Library  
      
    Index to all of the journals, transactions, magazines, standards, and conference and colloquia proceedings published by IEEE.
  • EI Engineering Village  
      
    A cross searchable database with citations from resources in the applied sciences and engineering, includes Compendex.

Is There Help when Formatting and Keeping Track of References?

  • RefWorks
    This tool helps organize and format citations and references for your bibliographies and research papers.
 

Ask Me a Question

Email (tstitz@uakron.edu) or
Text (330-368-6192) me!

QR Code
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip